fifteenmay

Fifteenmay's Love Nest

You can undermount that sink but it will not look very nice and sleek as other sink.

It's because of the four corners ...

The idea of undermount sink is that you won't see any border (or zero reveal)

but your sink in the four corners have a "ledge" and this ledge would still appear after you undermount it. Hence, it doesn't look as nice as other sink.

Example of my sink ...

4657534395_f1294d61f4_b.jpg

I was also told that (from one shop) that undermount sinks have edges that are flat, so when mounted cannot see much of the stainless steel "edge". Does this therefore mean that if undermount = tap must mount of solid top because got no edge left in sink to punch hole right?

But another shop, he sales lady said that all sinks can do undermount, so a matter of personal choice. Dunno bluffing me or not?

I was also told that (from one shop) that undermount sinks have edges that are flat, so when mounted cannot see much of the stainless steel "edge". Does this therefore mean that if undermount = tap must mount of solid top because got no edge left in sink to punch hole right?

But another shop, he sales lady said that all sinks can do undermount, so a matter of personal choice. Dunno bluffing me or not?

Yes all sink can do undermount. Is the method and skill on how to do it only.

Edited by jaskel

Yes all sink can do undermount. Is the metod and skill on how to do it only.

then why is there a difference in top and undermount sink?

my id say can undermount my sink. looks like i will go ahead to undermount.

Confused. suddenly my master bedroom design corked up! i bought a bed too long! now the space in between the bed and cupboard is only 30cm!!! too little to walk.. sigh... :o cork up

Nope... using the standard mechanism given by my carpenter.

So far work fine, if needed can always upgrade to blum in future :D

Ngunadi, sorry..Sidetrack a bit. Do you use blum mechanism for your dish drainer cabinet?

then why is there a difference in top and undermount sink?

Must draw out then everyone can understand better.

my id say can undermount my sink. looks like i will go ahead to undermount.

Confused. suddenly my master bedroom design corked up! i bought a bed too long! now the space in between the bed and cupboard is only 30cm!!! too little to walk.. sigh... :o cork up

oh dear! Can you not ask cellini to change to a thinner head board? may help a bit bc that's what i did.

are you planing a tv console in front of bed also?

Yes all sink can do undermount. Is the method and skill on how to do it only.
c

wah, that sounds "dangerous", like asking for trouble to use a top for under mount. bc if we insist to use a top for under, contractor oblige but later leak, alot or problems

so what is the method to do anyway? I always thought that the salespeople are trying to force a sale when they say all sinks can undermount.

Must draw out then everyone can understand better.

Hi jaskel

will be awaiting your pictures leh :D

thanks! I also looking for a sink now, but want to be sure otherwise will regret.

Only purchase 2 items for my new place, and already regretted them both already! So sian .. now so scared to make another commitment

c

wah, that sounds "dangerous", like asking for trouble to use a top for under mount. bc if we insist to use a top for under, contractor oblige but later leak, alot or problems

so what is the method to do anyway? I always thought that the salespeople are trying to force a sale when they say all sinks can undermount.

if u email those reputable sink manufacturer such as elkay etc, they will tell u topmount and undermount sink are different. Both are mounted differently. However, seems like in SG, ppl use topmount as undermount too.

Therefore I think we need familiar folks like Jaskel to advise.

Hi jaskel

will be awaiting your pictures leh :D

thanks! I also looking for a sink now, but want to be sure otherwise will regret.

Only purchase 2 items for my new place, and already regretted them both already! So sian .. now so scared to make another commitment

Saw that u've purchased MHI air-con which I also won't recommend to others at all....too noisy.

Hi there, I would like to buy kdk fan from jb too.. Where is this yes electrical distributor u are getting from?

I may need to go jb as well..

I'm not too sure where is it as well haha have to rely ongps.I'm going this weekend and will update u on the location.

oh dear! Can you not ask cellini to change to a thinner head board? may help a bit bc that's what i did.

are you planing a tv console in front of bed also?

I'm not too sure if possible.also I dun think Cellini got any thinner bed frame though.sigh.one advice dun buy stuff before yr design is confirmed. Sigh..

The tv console is in built into the wardrobe.