El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 Get well soon Samy jie! I also had bouts of sickness during my reno process. Almost blacked out one day earlier this month. Think everyone will come down with some sort of sickness during reno phase. Shd term this 'Renogitis'. And dun worry to much abt ur reno 1st bah. Since u chose that fella liao, must be u have lots of confidence in him so worry only when needed to yah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coldflamez 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 was mia for a couple of days due to going to A&E for suspected apendicitis. sianz...now at home resting. Discussed with Edmund on some of the tiles and laminates for the house and confirmed with seller they wun be giving us the keys earlier liao. sianz.... Edmund estimate the house would need 8 weeks to reno and reno can only start 4 june if we apply permit on 31 May. sianz.... Estimated reno handover is 4 August.....sianz to max. I think the 8 weeks period should have include buffer from Edmund. He should be able to finish it up in 6 weeks. For my 4 room, my contractor estimated around 8 weeks too but in the end completed in around 5 weeks+. If minus away CNY, it would be 4 weeks + only. It really depends on the contractor's ability to schedule work to proceed smoothly or concurrently. But agree 6 weeks should be a reasonable timing, barring any unexpected incidents. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 Thanks all for the concern. Already back in the office working.....2 days MC only. Fencer: yup, was resting and watching movies the 1.5 days I was home. Edmund so far is great in helping to expedite on the case and so far i can say I have confidence in him. He goes thru every little details with us and has requested for me to give him a list on the items (e.g. paints , laminates etc choosen) that we have confirmed. That I'm willing to do up so as to protect the interest of both sides and minimize disputes. El: yeah, i not even start reno already contracted that.... :bleh: So far full trust in Edmund though I make sure I follow thru items with him as well. Coldflamez: I'm also sure what he said includes buffer. but what worries me is sometimes unforseen circumstances do occur which will delay the reno and I dread that cos things are tight and I still hv to arrange delivery of my electrical appliances and furniture. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
paintedblack 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 Hello there, I was also considering Ikea kitchen systems as opposed to carpentry works from the contractors. Simply because I love some of the design elements. Any thoughts on this? Many have advised me against it because of the sub-par materials they use. But from my understanding, they use different materials from their other ranges! I would appreciate any advice from anyone!!! Thank you!!! proposed kitchen plan that IT idiot me did using Ikea planner...not the exact design I'm looking at but somewhat similar. Will try to upload some pics from the valuation report, some pics of designs which I like and pic of my proposed idea for reno. pretty busy in office these few days so bear with me Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 Hello there, I was also considering Ikea kitchen systems as opposed to carpentry works from the contractors. Simply because I love some of the design elements. Any thoughts on this? Many have advised me against it because of the sub-par materials they use. But from my understanding, they use different materials from their other ranges! I would appreciate any advice from anyone!!! Thank you!!! u shd check with ossify. He uses ikea kitchen cabinet. in fact his whole house basically ikea. u can find his T-blog and I think he is a better person to advise u. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 Thanks all for the concern. Already back in the office working.....2 days MC only. Fencer: yup, was resting and watching movies the 1.5 days I was home. Edmund so far is great in helping to expedite on the case and so far i can say I have confidence in him. He goes thru every little details with us and has requested for me to give him a list on the items (e.g. paints , laminates etc choosen) that we have confirmed. That I'm willing to do up so as to protect the interest of both sides and minimize disputes. El: yeah, i not even start reno already contracted that.... :bleh: So far full trust in Edmund though I make sure I follow thru items with him as well. Coldflamez: I'm also sure what he said includes buffer. but what worries me is sometimes unforseen circumstances do occur which will delay the reno and I dread that cos things are tight and I still hv to arrange delivery of my electrical appliances and furniture. Hi samgalz, Best is set a date further so u got more time for your big item deliveries.. sofa, fridge etc.. those that u can't move yourself or cannot kana water from mop etc.. It is easier to move them forward once your home is ready to recv them. But I know some places only can hold for 1 month.. courts can hold for 3 months.. Haa.. lucky i pushed back to end May for delivery, barely make it though.. You may need to wash your hse a few times, clean windows etc.. all these would make the moisture level very high, esp u lock up the pl when leaving (even though u aired the pl).. And items too big to move yourself, you can't clean the pl underneath it anymore.. Ha.. good la.. shld do up a checklist while u are at it.. can ask Edmund also.. for experience sake bah.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joleena 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 Hi samgalz does your vono mattress $1280 comes with bedframe? i bought the same queen size Vono mattress with bedframe for my in laws.. total $1400++ including a single mattress and single bedframe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 Hi samgalz does your vono mattress $1280 comes with bedframe? i bought the same queen size Vono mattress with bedframe for my in laws.. total $1400++ including a single mattress and single bedframe nope it does not. we do not need the bedframe since we have exisiting ones. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
insane 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 Yo, so u gave the irobot a miss? I'm also thinking of getting it. But the price tag abit high. Wife not so happy.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 Yo, so u gave the irobot a miss? I'm also thinking of getting it. But the price tag abit high. Wife not so happy.. Yeah, Finance Minister@Home rejected application and all the Cabinet Minister support him...LOL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
insane 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 Yeah, Finance Minister@Home rejected application and all the Cabinet Minister support him...LOL :D trying to convince her.... but it all depends after the reno, still got how much budget left... then i'll go get one.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 :D trying to convince her.... but it all depends after the reno, still got how much budget left... then i'll go get one.. good luck in ur quest then. i can only drool... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 Yeah, Finance Minister@Home rejected application and all the Cabinet Minister support him...LOL then ask Finance Minister to vaccuum! haha logically the person who is "sub-contracted" to do the job should decide. For us, we would still get irobot later so that we can have more time for each other, think june got some IT show. me also insisted on front load washer (they say less crumpled clothes) as i had volunteered for the ironing sub-contract. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 then ask Finance Minister to vaccuum! haha logically the person who is "sub-contracted" to do the job should decide. For us, we would still get irobot later so that we can have more time for each other, think june got some IT show. me also insisted on front load washer (they say less crumpled clothes) as i had volunteered for the ironing sub-contract. Well, give some take some lor. cos finance minister do really help with the chores at times. he agree for me to buy front load and decided on his own to install a pulley system for clothes hanger. he agreed on industrial tap but i decided myself in the end to forgo cos we r going to get single bowl, makes no sense to buy that since cleaning is easy will a normal tap unlike double bowl. finance minister also install tempered glass backing for my easy cleaning without me asking. so ok lor, irobot can give up since he agreed to some of my wants. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 Does the front-load washing machine takes longer time to wash then the top load? We used to have the Thomson drum type (top load but turn vertically) and it take ages to wash. So now MY Finance Minister refuses to consider front load. I think it is front load used less water for the same wash-load..yes?..no?... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites