Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted April 28, 2010 Hang on, brother. Thought storage tank is more cost effective than instant heater as in you turn on for 5 to 10 mins before use and that's it. Okay, piping wise is more expensive than just running on instant heater but that's a one-off. After that, cost saving starts to kick in for a storage vs a instant, no? Cheers. yes. but u need to like plan 5-10min in advance mah . Shower maybe ok . But if just want to wash a face , u might not turn on the storage heater and wait 5-10min b4 u wash yr face. End up u only use it for shower . Then like defeat the purpose liao . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2010 yes. but u need to like plan 5-10min in advance mah . Shower maybe ok . But if just want to wash a face , u might not turn on the storage heater and wait 5-10min b4 u wash yr face. End up u only use it for shower . Then like defeat the purpose liao . Eh..bro...I think in hot country like singapore, very few will use hot water to wash face or rather use hot water for basin bah. And usually u will have left over hot water from your prev wash, and probably still warm enough? keke Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2010 Yeah, 707 n alpha n champs all pretty hot already. Max temp is 30 - 45 degree. Dun tell me u nd all the 60 degree that storage heater offers? That will be scalding hot! erm actually hor.... i really use v hot water to bathe... sometimes i even find my storage heater water not hot enough... #'_'# esp towards the end of my shower or during cooler days~ after years of instant heater during school hostel days, now i make sure i have storage heater and get to enjoy my hot hot bath hahahaha Question: i remember hearing about a rule that HDB cannot have 2 storage heaters in the same flat or something like that... anyone heard about this? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 (edited) erm actually hor.... i really use v hot water to bathe... sometimes i even find my storage heater water not hot enough... #'_'# esp towards the end of my shower or during cooler days~ after years of instant heater during school hostel days, now i make sure i have storage heater and get to enjoy my hot hot bath hahahaha Question: i remember hearing about a rule that HDB cannot have 2 storage heaters in the same flat or something like that... anyone heard about this? bro marshmallow, if u like really hot hot water, got one other method, u can boil the water, that one 100 degrees...sure hot... joking ah.... like i say, instant or storage is dependable on personal preference. for us we prefer the instant. In terms of cost, instant is still more cost effective. yes, no 2 storage heater in the same flat, anyway, u dun need 2 in one flat. That only applies to landed houses with a couple of storeys high and many toilets. Edited April 29, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 went mega discount at Kallang Leisurepark after work with hubby with the intention to look look see see only. Left the place $3540 poorer. Things bought are listed in my signature.... Reno are really **** exp.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 like i say, instant or storage is dependable on personal preference. for us we prefer the instant. In terms of cost, instant is still more cost effective. yes, no 2 storage heater in the same flat, anyway, u dun need 2 in one flat. That only applies to landed houses with a couple of storeys high and many toilets. yup yup it's a matter of personal preference but if your preference is cooler water then it's good cos can save some $$$ hahaha for some HDBs (esp the newer ones?), the 2 toilets are side-by-side so they can share the same storage heater. But for mine the toilets are at 2 different ends of the flat so a bit hard to share.... i may just go for instant heater @ common toilet to save some cost... you mentioned multi-point instant heater... so can just run a hot water pipe from instant heater to kitchen, is it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 yup yup it's a matter of personal preference but if your preference is cooler water then it's good cos can save some $$$ hahaha for some HDBs (esp the newer ones?), the 2 toilets are side-by-side so they can share the same storage heater. But for mine the toilets are at 2 different ends of the flat so a bit hard to share.... i may just go for instant heater @ common toilet to save some cost... you mentioned multi-point instant heater... so can just run a hot water pipe from instant heater to kitchen, is it? should be able to still share, just piping more troublesome. u can check with you plumber. multi-point heater i think only within the same area leh ie within the common toilet. but u can check it out cos when i left the industry, this was not out yet the brand is bennington. alpha or 707 has it too, i think. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 (edited) post deleted. Edited April 29, 2010 by joseeng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 should be able to still share, just piping more troublesome. u can check with you plumber. multi-point heater i think only within the same area leh ie within the common toilet. but u can check it out cos when i left the industry, this was not out yet the brand is bennington. alpha or 707 has it too, i think. Haha thanks... shall check out these brands when i do my shopping now at my current place, the two toilets are also at 2 ends of the flat and we're sharing the storage heater @ common toilet. by the time water reaches the MBR toilet, it's already cooled and the flow is pathetic not sure if it's our water pressure no good or wad... but a separate instant heater would have done a better job i guess Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 post deleted. u wanted to say something, bro joseeng? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 Haha thanks... shall check out these brands when i do my shopping now at my current place, the two toilets are also at 2 ends of the flat and we're sharing the storage heater @ common toilet. by the time water reaches the MBR toilet, it's already cooled and the flow is pathetic not sure if it's our water pressure no good or wad... but a separate instant heater would have done a better job i guess yeah, that is one of the problem with storage....heat is lost if travel a longer distance but it's not to great a diff lah...makes a difference to u cos u love urs real hot. Maybe u can do it the other way....install in mbr and connect to common so that the heat lost prob is to common toilet not mbr? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 u wanted to say something, bro joseeng? ya, wanted to ask how come your 2 heaters cost $1500. but after posting, then i realise tat the price was including the rest of your sanitary wares...hahaha...pai seh ar, din read properly your signature... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 yeah, that is one of the problem with storage....heat is lost if travel a longer distance but it's not to great a diff lah...makes a difference to u cos u love urs real hot. Maybe u can do it the other way....install in mbr and connect to common so that the heat lost prob is to common toilet not mbr? cham...this kind of thing can happen meh? i put mine at common toilet coz dowan to disrupt the MBR toilet look... come to think of it, my MBR having 3 hot water points...common toilet only 1...am using Joven 35L..the new energy saving version.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 yeah, that is one of the problem with storage....heat is lost if travel a longer distance but it's not to great a diff lah...makes a difference to u cos u love urs real hot. Maybe u can do it the other way....install in mbr and connect to common so that the heat lost prob is to common toilet not mbr? Yup yup that's what i plan to do for my new home~! current home heater is installed by previous owner... got it FOC liao cannot complain cham...this kind of thing can happen meh? i put mine at common toilet coz dowan to disrupt the MBR toilet look... come to think of it, my MBR having 3 hot water points...common toilet only 1...am using Joven 35L..the new energy saving version.. Sorry forgot how your floor plan is like... if the 2 toilets are next to each other then sure okie de. Again if you're not particular about water temperature, it shouldn't be a problem ba Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 ya, wanted to ask how come your 2 heaters cost $1500. but after posting, then i realise tat the price was including the rest of your sanitary wares...hahaha...pai seh ar, din read properly your signature... haha no prob. if 2 heater $1500 i will tear down the shop liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites