Angteko 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 Me a electrical sotong ah, the T5 lights we can diy install our own? My kitchen is new but may not have enough light due to top cabinet blockage. Where is chan huat anyway? Installing of lights are all electrician work. So get them to do for u, at a cost of coz. But u can choose to ask them to get for u the T5 or u get it yourself. But u need to know exactly the measurement and how many to get. My T5 are installed in such a way that it is overlapping, so that when lights are out, u wont see any shadow gaps in between. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 Me a electrical sotong ah, the T5 lights we can diy install our own? My kitchen is new but may not have enough light due to top cabinet blockage. Where is chan huat anyway? since u engaging the electrician get them to install for u...it's the changing of bulb in future which then u can do it urself. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 since u engaging the electrician get them to install for u...it's the changing of bulb in future which then u can do it urself. Yeah, looks like I need to set aside more money for them to do this installation since i got 2 sides with top hung cabinets.. They like to charge every single little things. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 Wrt to the T5 lighting, are u guys talking abt something like this? A look at how its done below the cabinet as seen in dmay's t-blog (dmay! hope u dun i use ur post as an example! hehe ) http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=...st&p=506702 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 Yeah, looks like I need to set aside more money for them to do this installation since i got 2 sides with top hung cabinets.. They like to charge every single little things. it will be charged per lighting point..common lah. i rather they charge per item than one lump sum....that one has a higher chance of chopping carrot. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 Yours come with interested measurement, 502 ~ 1.5ft and 902 ~ 3ft. I think he should charge u less for 1.5ft wor, if not bo hua. I thought warm white would be a better fit and more cozy feel. U got pic of your T5 on with kitchen? I'll try to get my T5 pic one of these day. Warm white will give you a cozy feel but warm white is actually a bit yellowish. So when you cook, you can not see the food color correctly because of this yellow light. That's why in kitchen, we don't have any warm white lighting. Even the ceiling light is cool daylight. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 Wrt to the T5 lighting, are u guys talking abt something like this? A look at how its done below the cabinet as seen in dmay's t-blog (dmay! hope u dun i use ur post as an example! hehe ) http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=...st&p=506702 yeah, that's the one! though the one i saw with edmund was more in front.. depends on the cabinet structure and electrician positioning of the T5 bah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 (edited) Warm white will give you a cozy feel but warm white is actually a bit yellowish. So when you cook, you can not see the food color correctly because of this yellow light. That's why in kitchen, we don't have any warm white lighting. Even the ceiling light is cool daylight. I like cool daylight, my current place yellow light is making it hard for me to see if my cooking is color A or color B. . I wonder if the lights fixing in the center rather at the end or the front will look funny? t will be charged per lighting point..common lah. i rather they charge per item than one lump sum....that one has a higher chance of chopping carrot. True also. I will just add this as the item for them to do. This shouldn't be too ex right? Wrt to the T5 lighting, are u guys talking abt something like this? If my memory dun fail me, that is the exact color of my top hung cabinets! Edited April 13, 2010 by Zelly Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reuben82 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 Hi SamGalz, if you are trying to look for cheap lightings, I did some research. hehehe... For those T5 lights, it is super cheap back in JB, Malaysia. it's only RM18 for 3ft or 5ft (sorry..forgot) inclusive of the tube and the casing. Downlights is very cheap as well. If I'm not mistaken, is RM22 with GE bulb inside. For switches, I plan to use Legrand which I manage to find an industrial supplier with cheap price. SGD3.80 for 1 switch. Let me know if you want his contact. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 Hi SamGalz, if you are trying to look for cheap lightings, I did some research. hehehe... For those T5 lights, it is super cheap back in JB, Malaysia. it's only RM18 for 3ft or 5ft (sorry..forgot) inclusive of the tube and the casing. Downlights is very cheap as well. If I'm not mistaken, is RM22 with GE bulb inside. For switches, I plan to use Legrand which I manage to find an industrial supplier with cheap price. SGD3.80 for 1 switch. Let me know if you want his contact. YES!!!!!!!!! I would like to hv the contact...thanks! I intend to change all my switches cos it's all 8 yrs old now...better change or else one by one going to say good bye then so troublesome to keep asking electrician to come up. ur $3.80 i presume is the 1 gang type? I would hv to go count and talk to the electrician before buying so that I buy the correct qty and type. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 Hi SamGalz, if you are trying to look for cheap lightings, I did some research. hehehe... For those T5 lights, it is super cheap back in JB, Malaysia. it's only RM18 for 3ft or 5ft (sorry..forgot) inclusive of the tube and the casing. Downlights is very cheap as well. If I'm not mistaken, is RM22 with GE bulb inside. For switches, I plan to use Legrand which I manage to find an industrial supplier with cheap price. SGD3.80 for 1 switch. Let me know if you want his contact. Hi reuben2 Take a look at this thread http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...amp;hl=legrands There is a indicative price list from Choo Chiang...........not sure they are the same modl but it is $3 for 1-gang. U did not mention how many gang?... If u got better kang-tou...Great!!.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reuben82 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 wah, that choo jiang is cheaper! yes! thank you for the information sharing!!!!! what I mentioned is for 1 gang. But just beware of Legrand switches especially those color (such as black, silver or gold) types. It's tear and wear. They only having a coat of color on top of white base frame. After sometimes, the color will gone and you can see the whitish base frame. So, best is use white color switches. Another thing on legrand switches. They are using non-standard casing. In future, when you are going to change the switches, you die die must buy back Legrand as the enclosure (which embedded inside wall) and their mounting is different with others. One last thing on legrand power point. Their design is good. slim and compact. But just beware that if you are having adapter or those special charger which go sideway. It will blocked the other power point at the side (those 2 power point together types). Having this problem on my current house. So many bad things on Legrand. Hopefully they wont ban me!! lol.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 I agree bout the legrand switches, can't plug in say blackberry and iphone together side by side.. wonder if we put them up and down instead? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 wah, that choo jiang is cheaper! yes! thank you for the information sharing!!!!! what I mentioned is for 1 gang. But just beware of Legrand switches especially those color (such as black, silver or gold) types. It's tear and wear. They only having a coat of color on top of white base frame. After sometimes, the color will gone and you can see the whitish base frame. So, best is use white color switches. Another thing on legrand switches. They are using non-standard casing. In future, when you are going to change the switches, you die die must buy back Legrand as the enclosure (which embedded inside wall) and their mounting is different with others. One last thing on legrand power point. Their design is good. slim and compact. But just beware that if you are having adapter or those special charger which go sideway. It will blocked the other power point at the side (those 2 power point together types). Having this problem on my current house. So many bad things on Legrand. Hopefully they wont ban me!! lol.... Wei wei wei...i put on my silver legrand for whole house liao then u mention abt the colors. haha Anyway it looks great lah, so I'm closing 1 eye for the moment. The scv and tel point also look quite pro. As for the power point, dont go for double point one loh, go for 2 single putting side by side can le. haha I think I got more single point than double point. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2010 Hi SamGalz, if you are trying to look for cheap lightings, I did some research. hehehe... For those T5 lights, it is super cheap back in JB, Malaysia. it's only RM18 for 3ft or 5ft (sorry..forgot) inclusive of the tube and the casing. Downlights is very cheap as well. If I'm not mistaken, is RM22 with GE bulb inside. For switches, I plan to use Legrand which I manage to find an industrial supplier with cheap price. SGD3.80 for 1 switch. Let me know if you want his contact. Eh..are u referring to my purchase? keke I bought at RM21 with GE bulb. That GE bulb is selling like RM17 alone, so practically the casing only cost RM4. I didnt buy T5 from there, coz I scare buy wrongly. But its around the price range u mention. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites