bepgof 20 Report post Posted February 19, 2010 Curryqueen, typed too fast, missed out the 1 infront of 80. Nothing to be afraid of loansharks, if you are not the one borrow $ fm them! Tell u a true story happened on me, some 20 yrs back when 4 of us (brothers) were staying together. We were not married then. 2nd bro borrowed $ from a few loansharks but not physically staying in the unit. Paints, locks, O$P$, unit # everywhere can be seen.....The unit is in 3rd bro's name. Has advised runners, 2nd bro not stay here. We did not care those wording or locks, until one day saw paint on main door/gate/floor. 3rd bro got real hot, later for a few nights, we remained gate/main door opened & slept in hall with choppers. At last, abt 2am, 3 runners came. We asked if the paint were their "masterpiece" -unluckily not. Invited them in and talk with choppers. After this, no more loansharks. If come across sure, paste a note on door "informing" them borrow has moved and put your name & contact number on note for contacting you for clarifications...Law is tight! Don't worry! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted February 19, 2010 I find it fishy why seller's agent chose to tell you now instead of earlier? Also, seller's agent should be keeping mum about loanshark issue so that he could close the deal and get his commission? Go double check with the seller's neighbours about the existence of loanshark before you give up on the deal. The seller's agent may be smoking you so that he can sell the unit at a higher price to another buyer. He told me because when I was collecting the OTP, I asked him specifically if this unit was sold because if it was a divorce case, loanshark case or upgrade case. So he told me that it was a divorce+loanshark case. But with the sale of the flat, the debts should clear. For a seller's agent, he has been surprisingly honest. He also told me honestly how much profit the owners would be making from the sale. I suspect that the owners are either his friends or relatives. I'm going tonight to neighbour's house to ask if loanshark activties really true.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted February 19, 2010 Curryqueen, typed too fast, missed out the 1 infront of 80. Nothing to be afraid of loansharks, if you are not the one borrow $ fm them! Tell u a true story happened on me, some 20 yrs back when 4 of us (brothers) were staying together. We were not married then. 2nd bro borrowed $ from a few loansharks but not physically staying in the unit. Paints, locks, O$P$, unit # everywhere can be seen.....The unit is in 3rd bro's name. Has advised runners, 2nd bro not stay here. We did not care those wording or locks, until one day saw paint on main door/gate/floor. 3rd bro got real hot, later for a few nights, we remained gate/main door opened & slept in hall with choppers. At last, abt 2am, 3 runners came. We asked if the paint were their "masterpiece" -unluckily not. Invited them in and talk with choppers. After this, no more loansharks. If come across sure, paste a note on door "informing" them borrow has moved and put your name & contact number on note for contacting you for clarifications...Law is tight! Don't worry! U all 4 big men.. I one girl, how to "parang" them? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted February 19, 2010 Give up? Ask yourself: is this yr dream unit???. Dream unit hard to come by chance, especially resale. Price, cov, location, floor, sunlight, NS, NE wind, view, tpt, neighbour, year, unit's condition, etc need to be considered.......If found, do not give up easily. "loanshark" not in my list of consideration at all, but yes for neighbours. You must know what you want. I'm now living in a 31-yr-old 5-rm. I got 1st hdb 5-rm in 1992, stayed there 12yr, rented out 1 year, sold 13 year later. Stayed in condo for 3 years. Now back to (just moved in end Jan 2010)pt-blk 5-rm, near mrt/mkt/school/#23 fl/morning sun/N,E windows, W main door. Opp PR indian couple with 2 children, another 2 units are father/mother/son. I put deposit and exercised OTP the same day I viewed this unit - why so decisive? I have done homework earlier! This is the #8 unit I viewed while searching for "dream home" within 2 months. Why I wrote so much, because I know WHAT I want and I knew that good unit is hard to come by. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2010 The new valuation came. It's only $5K more...<sigh> Better than nothing. Went to check with the unit's neighbour last night and confirmed that the unit kena painted. The poor neighbour also kena, but he told me no activities for 3-4 mths already. Apparently, got police sit downstairs at the block late at night to keep an eye on things (he has seen them around when he went to work at midnight). Thanks everyone for the advice. I now need to decide whether to proceed with the option or not. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted February 21, 2010 Wish u the best. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
davidbslee 1 Report post Posted February 21, 2010 He told me because when I was collecting the OTP, I asked him specifically if this unit was sold because if it was a divorce case, loanshark case or upgrade case. So he told me that it was a divorce+loanshark case. But with the sale of the flat, the debts should clear. For a seller's agent, he has been surprisingly honest. He also told me honestly how much profit the owners would be making from the sale. I suspect that the owners are either his friends or relatives. I'm going tonight to neighbour's house to ask if loanshark activties really true.. How can the agent be so sure that after sale of flat, the debts will clear up ?? After sale, the ex-owner I dun think you can find the ex-owner as well as the agent liao lor... You never know how many loanshark debts ex-owner has borrow before. I am not here to pour cold water on you, just an advice from me. I dun want you to start another loanshark thread here in few month time . Good luck to you... curryqueen. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted February 21, 2010 How can the agent be so sure that after sale of flat, the debts will clear up ?? After sale, the ex-owner I dun think you can find the ex-owner as well as the agent liao lor... You never know how many loanshark debts ex-owner has borrow before. I am not here to pour cold water on you, just an advice from me. I dun want you to start another loanshark thread here in few month time . Good luck to you... curryqueen. Yah, I know. The agent is in no position to know whether the seller paid the debts or not...the unit is rare, but I'm thinking if it's worth the hassle or not. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted February 24, 2010 loanshark flat very leh cheh one leh... i know of one case, happen to someone close. sold off the flat to someone she knows, then loanshark came to harrass during reno period. the owner said a few times that owner has shifted, but they still continue to splash paint. probably using this method to force the new owner to confront the ex-owner. either that, or the runners just have to do something so they can answer to boss? in the end, the new owner buay tahan, wrote a big note of the ex-owner's new address. if it's me, i will just run far far away....... not interested to deal with paint splashing on my new door/gate... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted February 27, 2010 loanshark flat very leh cheh one leh... i know of one case, happen to someone close. sold off the flat to someone she knows, then loanshark came to harrass during reno period. the owner said a few times that owner has shifted, but they still continue to splash paint. probably using this method to force the new owner to confront the ex-owner. either that, or the runners just have to do something so they can answer to boss? in the end, the new owner buay tahan, wrote a big note of the ex-owner's new address. if it's me, i will just run far far away....... not interested to deal with paint splashing on my new door/gate... Heh... I dun intend to change the door and gate. I'm rather fond of the old HDB door with the glass panel on top and the old HDB gate. M now thinking of what sort of patterns I can make with O$P$ so that I can make it to some sort of artwork if my door kena painted again... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites