froggy 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2010 You need to choose a centralized location to be your network hub in order to setup LAN network at home. For my case, I choose my study room to be the network hub, where my router will be. I asked my electrician to wire up CAT 6 network cable in all 3 of my bed rooms and living area, which will link up with 4 network points in the study room. So as long as I connected all 4 network points in study room with router, I can access to internet through wired connection from 3 bed rooms and living area. However, wired connection DOES NOT mean lag free internet access. Again, it has to depend on the condition of your internet connection (i.e. your ISP). Wired connection will only minimize network slowdown due to wireless connection, which is usually affected by the wireless signal receiption. As for opennet, it is just another way to connect to internet. Starhub broadband is connected via SCV point, while Singnet is connected via telephone line. Opennet only setups the optical network and it is not an ISP. it will be up to Singnet and Starhub to decide whether and when to use the optical network to provide internet connection. Hope my explanation will not confuse you wow still a bit chim for me to understand. But will show this to hubby - hope it makes better sense to him. Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darth vader 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2010 darth, the place is not belonging to lifestorey. it belongs to jacksons carpet. lifestorey rent the place for the sale and jacksons are tagging along the sale with their carpets. sale is on till national day but while stocks last. some designs are out or running out of stock. if u like something, do get it fast. that explains. thanx for the clarifications sam jie! will chop chop grab one this weekend....if my 3m bronze colour carpet is still available.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ne0mesis 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2010 (edited) Another busy day to shop for our new house: Bought the below WMF stuff for my wife... so that she has no excuse for not cooking at home regularly excellent choice on WMF cause I bought WMF too. ha your 30 pcs set look exceptionally nice. sure dont seem cheap to me. madcat, go jacksons design hub. i bought my 1.6 x 2.3m rug at $100, some bought a higher series at $220. Address is 29 tai seng street. from now till national day, fri, sat and sun is open from 11 am - 7pm. quality better than ikea, for sure! hope u get wat u wan. bro madcat, ur reno is shaping up nicely. who is ur id ar? btw, i saw some carpets from life storey @ tai seng warehouse, not too bad leh. was eyeing a 3m carpet to complement my sofa. not sure if the sale is over though. Thanks, Bro Darth Vader. I do not want to reveal my ID in public before reno completes. Please check your PM Life storey @ taiseng warehouse? are they selling rugs at lower price compared with its outlet @ Great World City? The price at its Great World City outlet is . . . . erm... everyone is referring to the same place ya, just to make sure no one is confused. and indeed, the rugs are way much cheaper and incredibly feel good quality. imagine I bought my 2.2 x 1.6m rug at only $220 Edited July 25, 2010 by ne0mesis Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
madcat 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2010 excellent choice on WMF cause I bought WMF too. ha your 30 pcs set look exceptionally nice. sure dont seem cheap to me. erm... everyone is referring to the same place ya, just to make sure no one is confused. and indeed, the rugs are way much cheaper and incredibly feel good quality. imagine I bought my 2.2 x 1.6m rug at only $220 The 30 pcs set is dirty cheap imo, 99 bucks only I'm confused by your post ... becoz you mentioned in livestorey.. then i go google it.. endup I went to great world city today I was thinking how come ne0mesis can get rug at 200++ only Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ne0mesis 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2010 I will try the super layman term to help you better understand the concept. madcat, correct me if i'm wrong ya... You need to choose a centralized location to be your network hub in order to setup LAN network at home. For my case, I choose my study room to be the network hub, where my router will be. I asked my electrician to wire up CAT 6 network cable in all 3 of my bed rooms and living area, which will link up with 4 network points in the study room. So as long as I connected all 4 network points in study room with router, I can access to internet through wired connection from 3 bed rooms and living area. i.e 1 centralised location with the router acts as the distribution centre, supplying internet access to the rest of the rooms via cable and not wirelessly However, wired connection DOES NOT mean lag free internet access. Again, it has to depend on the condition of your internet connection (i.e. your ISP). Wired connection will only minimize network slowdown due to wireless connection, which is usually affected by the wireless signal receiption. wired or not wired has its pros and cons. most importantly, is what are the nature of activities with your network ya As for opennet, it is just another way to connect to internet. Starhub broadband is connected via SCV point, while Singnet is connected via telephone line. Opennet only setups the optical network and it is not an ISP. it will be up to Singnet and Starhub to decide whether and when to use the optical network to provide internet connection. optical network is the next frontier after what singnet and starhub has done so far with boardband. and by comparison, fibre optics and be much much faster! opennet is just to prepare the optical fibre cabling to prepare for the eventuality when Singnet and Starhub roll out is optical fibre service plans Hope my explanation will not confuse you Hope my explanation will not confuse you wow still a bit chim for me to understand. But will show this to hubby - hope it makes better sense to him. Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ne0mesis 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2010 The 30 pcs set is dirty cheap imo, 99 bucks only I'm confused by your post ... becoz you mentioned in livestorey.. then i go google it.. endup I went to great world city today I was thinking how come ne0mesis can get rug at 200++ only eh, yr set looks nicer lei. i got mine for 100 bucks at robinsons too. but i did mention tai seng right? haha.. ok ok, try to go tai seng asap ya. in case it's all sold out Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bakchang 0 Report post Posted July 26, 2010 (edited) eh, yr set looks nicer lei. i got mine for 100 bucks at robinsons too. but i did mention tai seng right? haha.. ok ok, try to go tai seng asap ya. in case it's all sold out dear bro madcat. we got exactly the same layout ! but mine is at jurong west st 81. third floor. kitchen and both toilet a bit smaller than yours as i got a service balcony. so happy to chance upon yr blog. my prev owner oso knock down the study room wall so i gonna rebuild it again. the pillars in the kids room really a headache, planning to box up so i can better accomodate the furnitures. and yes, i am the 3rd fellow to say i got same same hansgrohe fixture as yours !!! heehee... TOTO and 4D oso not so "zhun" lor i will be getting the keys 17th aug and have to hand over old house in sept so boh bian have to do reno in 7th month. must check good date to "dong tu" and pray pray. i nt the pang dang type but i got baby at home so better play safe. it is so stressfull.... i like yr reno. very clean and bright. esp yr living room and mbr the wall colour. dun mind to share share ? forget to ask you, how is the water pressure when you are using the overhead shower ? Edited July 26, 2010 by bakchang Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
madcat 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2010 dear bro madcat. we got exactly the same layout ! but mine is at jurong west st 81. third floor. kitchen and both toilet a bit smaller than yours as i got a service balcony. so happy to chance upon yr blog. my prev owner oso knock down the study room wall so i gonna rebuild it again. the pillars in the kids room really a headache, planning to box up so i can better accomodate the furnitures. and yes, i am the 3rd fellow to say i got same same hansgrohe fixture as yours !!! heehee... TOTO and 4D oso not so "zhun" lor i will be getting the keys 17th aug and have to hand over old house in sept so boh bian have to do reno in 7th month. must check good date to "dong tu" and pray pray. i nt the pang dang type but i got baby at home so better play safe. it is so stressfull.... i like yr reno. very clean and bright. esp yr living room and mbr the wall colour. dun mind to share share ? forget to ask you, how is the water pressure when you are using the overhead shower ? Pasieh.. I was busy packing stuff, so did not check renotalk forum as often as before. For the paint color, I need to check with my ID, who picks the color for us. My wife and I were just lazy to note down the color code. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
madcat 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2010 Day 32 Most of the electrical items and carpentry works are up, and aircon is also installed. According to my ID, toilet stuff will be installed on next Monday, curtain will also be installed after final wash on next Friday. so 5 more days before moving in! Photos for the latest reno progress: Living Room: View from main gate View from balcony Study Room: View from Dining area Display cabinet (finally ): Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bakchang 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2010 Pasieh.. I was busy packing stuff, so did not check renotalk forum as often as before. For the paint color, I need to check with my ID, who picks the color for us. My wife and I were just lazy to note down the color code. thank you in advance ! sorry to trouble you, oso understand now is busy period for you ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
madcat 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2010 Day 32 Continued Study Room: Aircon and glass door Dinning Area: Kitchen Kitchen Cabinet is up, but Kitchen glass door and Hood has not been installed yet. Box up for the stupid pipe divided my table top No choice though. My Brandt built-in oven is also up Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
madcat 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2010 Day 32 Continued Kitchen: My dish-drainer with BLUM system Set of Drawers with BLUM System, The rest of drawers and doors are with self-closing hinges Bed Room Passageway Besglass bifold door for common toilet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
madcat 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2010 Day 32 Continued Bed Room 2 (Daughter's room): Touchup for wall paint is done. LAN point and power sockets are up also. Newly installed Aircon blower Bed Room 2 (Daughter's room): Touchup for wall paint is done. Most of the items left are for toilets. Newly installed Aircon blower Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
madcat 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2010 Day 32 Continued MBR: Our wardrobe: View from MBR door: MBR Toilet: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ne0mesis 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2010 WA... and suddenly reno is almost completed already? hahahaha... must been really a smooth sailing one for you. really happy for you! hahah.. eyes a bit auto cue now to air con pipings and trunkings cause seemingly tough to hide it at my new place. all are concrete beams above my doors can you imagine! so jus wanna ask, where is the aircon piping? the kitchen turned out alright indeed! pipings are already a thing in the past now! haha can i ask also, if the blum drawers and runners are under your ID package or you buy seperately? what's the damage? all in all, everything is all spanky clean and neat! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites