Amy Choon

My New Abode In Bt Batok

Hi samgalz,

thanks for asking. i didn't see your post until i tried to find my thread to update my reno progress! hehe.

well, only 40% done.. will update in a while ya?

Hi samgalz,

thanks for asking. i didn't see your post until i tried to find my thread to update my reno progress! hehe.

ok, looking forward to seeing ur progress!

Hi samgalz,

a while ? waited whole afternoon , still no pic :P

the house is into the end of it's 3rd week of reno, still have 5 more weeks to go! Aww, why so nong!!

Currently progress of the house, all wall tiles are up! Heard from hubby the workers started tiling the floor yesterday. As far as I understand, electrical should be done. I think I'm just plain lazy la, cos I only check on the house once a week! Hubby more mobile, so he was up there almost every other day.

We decided to use maple wood for our bedroom floors, because I just love light wood colours. Probably inspired by the scandinavian designs? We were dissuaded from our initial choice of bamboo. Contractor friend (not involved in our reno) told us that bamboo will have ridges in between pieces of wood so might be harder to clean? At least parquet or maple wood can be sand down so the whole floor will be flat flat, no ridges. Good too la, since I love maple wood colour.

Okay, some pictures of the house, taken just last weekend:

IMG_0092.jpg

The view from doorway. On the right is the half wall for kitchen, there's gonna be a full glass door to the kitchen.

IMG_0093.jpg

View of my half wall kitchen. Top half will be glass. Didn't thought of doing it this way, then Simon suggested I knock down the wall to bring in the light to the dark kitchen, and bingo! I did half of what he suggested la, cos i need cabinet space at the bottom.

IMG_0080.jpg

Daughter's room. Will be building a shoe cabinet on the left side of this big opening. So it will be a normal door size left of this big initial 3 panel folding door.

IMG_0100.jpg

Cables for my L box lights!

IMG_0078.jpg

Toilet in daughter's room. She wants pink in her room so I gave her a full white palette (with white floors) to work on so she can add any amount of pink without over dosing in the colour. Imagine if I went ahead with her whims and give her pink WC, sink and tiles? It will really be pink overdose!

IMG_0094.jpg

The kitchen, the one row of tiles used to be where the yard toilet is, but i don't think very fun to wash 4 toilets in one house, reckon we don't need it, so we hacked it away to merge the yard and kitchen so it looks a tad bigger lor. In order to save $$, got the contractors to tile only walls that exposed, so we saved 50% on wall tiles cost, which is a staggering 1 plus k!

IMG_0085.jpg

Common bathroom. Only room in the house that is not in the white/silver/black theme. I just love the brown/white combo shiny tiles that I just had to get it. More often used by my PILs so I guess the colour will be ok for them?

IMG_0086.jpg

This will be my scrapbook room cum storeroom. We don't have a storeroom so I have to share my scrapbook room with a full wall of shelves. I won't be having a lot of space for my scrapbooking but at least better than my previous place, where I scrap on my dining table. At least I get a room. Room too small to install ceiling fan, so I can only rely on a/c.

wahhh.. scrapbook room!! don't forget to cater space for cabinets to store all those small little embellishments and scrapbook paper. silly me only realised today i nv cater any space for it, now my turn to do on the dining table. how bout considering those portable tower fans? i'm getting that for my dining area, which can also shift into kitchen.

IMG_0081.jpg

My PILs room. They stay over most of the time so I intend to get 2 single beds for them (cos they prefer sleeping on diff beds la). My FIL reads a lot too, so I hope to give him a reading corner with a cosy chair. hope can squeeze all that in!

IMG_0083.jpg

My MBR. With my Crizto tub resting there, waiting to be installed. I can't wait for the painters to come in and paint away that hideous coloured wall.

IMG_0090.jpg

The wall sealed up, used to be connected to bedroom 2 (my PIL's room)

IMG_0087.jpg

The MBR. Going for spa theme bathrooms but then didn't want brown, so we tried textured tiles in white and dark grey. Hope it turns out well too. *pray pray*

i love the view from your hall!! omg, what floor are you on? and the height of your ceiling... :dribble:

we're on 28th floor wor.. high but scary leh.. especially when it's raining.. I can't see nothing but a patch of grey. i can't imagine those staying higher lor.. scary!

This pix taken from my MBR window, facing same scenery as the hall.

IMG_0091.jpg

wahhh.. scrapbook room!! don't forget to cater space for cabinets to store all those small little embellishments and scrapbook paper. silly me only realised today i nv cater any space for it, now my turn to do on the dining table. how bout considering those portable tower fans? i'm getting that for my dining area, which can also shift into kitchen.

you scrapbook too! Hey buddy! kekeke...

Haiz.. the room really very small leh.. I need to cater for big table cos i'm a messy scrapper and small tables just won't do for me. so i'm not sure if i have space for more cabinets.... i will see how it goes lor, after i put the shelvings in for the store stuff. i used to have this small trolley which i bought from ikea. the trolley holds all the essentials i use, like trimmer, inks, and papers etc. then i will push it out when i need to scrapbook lor. you can try doing that. i really don't mind scrapping on dining table, just don't like it when i have to clear the table for meals. sometimes in the middle of something, then i hate to be disrupted! keke...

you attend classes? how long have you been scrapping?

we're on 28th floor wor.. high but scary leh.. especially when it's raining.. I can't see nothing but a patch of grey. i can't imagine those staying higher lor.. scary!

This pix taken from my MBR window, facing same scenery as the hall.

wow...talk about being on top of the world eh..would love to be at those heights. but you have a point, kinda scary....

you scrapbook too! Hey buddy! kekeke...

Haiz.. the room really very small leh.. I need to cater for big table cos i'm a messy scrapper and small tables just won't do for me. so i'm not sure if i have space for more cabinets.... i will see how it goes lor, after i put the shelvings in for the store stuff. i used to have this small trolley which i bought from ikea. the trolley holds all the essentials i use, like trimmer, inks, and papers etc. then i will push it out when i need to scrapbook lor. you can try doing that. i really don't mind scrapping on dining table, just don't like it when i have to clear the table for meals. sometimes in the middle of something, then i hate to be disrupted! keke...

you attend classes? how long have you been scrapping?

51DXcC+KenL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

haha, i don't attend classes leh, i started off buying the encyclopedia for scrapbooking, design books and just went at it. i also like to have big spaces, so i can spread out the stuff while working on it. the trolley sounds like a good idea, i'll consider it. hehe. now i just wait for the house to be all ready then see which space i can chope. have u tried those die-cut machines before? wanted to get one, but can't bring myself to spend tt much. every scrapbooking shopping trip creates a huge hole in the wallet.

wow...talk about being on top of the world eh..would love to be at those heights. but you have a point, kinda scary....

well, those in the highest floor of pinnacle will truly be on the top of the world, in residential terms la. kekeke. later i try to post a pix of the view on a rainy day. wa, really scary lor. i was alone at that time, waiting for contractors to come up to do full site measurement when it started to rain. i lean out to close my windows and i really freaked out man!

51DXcC%20KenL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

haha, i don't attend classes leh, i started off buying the encyclopedia for scrapbooking, design books and just went at it. i also like to have big spaces, so i can spread out the stuff while working on it. the trolley sounds like a good idea, i'll consider it. hehe. now i just wait for the house to be all ready then see which space i can chope. have u tried those die-cut machines before? wanted to get one, but can't bring myself to spend tt much. every scrapbooking shopping trip creates a huge hole in the wallet.

wow.. good for you! hehe.. i attended a few but then decided classes are not for me la. basically just do according to their samples, which is sometimes not my own style leh. so now i just do what i want. i didn't get die-cut wor, cos i don't need it leh. the only machine that i splurge on was the zutter, and i share that with my sis lor. now i don't do much layouts, mostly it's gifts for friends and the yearly diary and calendars lor. but i kinda freelance jobs once a while to do demo at scrapbook shops, and i really need to get myself updated on the new techniques! Probably might still attend one or two classes to catch up on the trend wor.

oh ya, really can kill the wallet lor. SB is an ex hobby!