Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Go go go merydith ..... we all support behind u ..... gogogo haha.. thanks simon... later it's 2 men vs 1 lady leh... i don't know if i can win or not lor...... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 haha.. thanks simon... later it's 2 men vs 1 lady leh... i don't know if i can win or not lor...... Yr hubby ? he not going to meet them together with u ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 El Nino, I just used the prices you gave and calculated my electrical based on the no. of points they quoted. TOTAL ONLY $3.47k NIA!!! You don't have price for installation of ceiling fans so i don't have that, but it's only 4 nos of ceiling fans also won't cost me another 3.4k right?? KAOZ! pardon me, but I cannot tolerate being bullied like that leh........ oh, ceiling fan installation i was quoted $140 each by one of the contractors. the rest all recommend me get shop where i buy to do installation...and their cost is only $35 per ceiling fan yah... i also got 4 fans so adds up to $140 also which i would have been chopped if go with that contractor...haha. no problem, we understand how u feel. later it's 2 men vs 1 lady leh... i don't know if i can win or not lor...... We can be ur cavalry! maybe u bring ur laptop and put a big big webcam? then tell them whole of RT is watching their next move and ur dialogue so dun play play and chop chop u with the quotations hor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 We can be ur cavalry! maybe u bring ur laptop and put a big big webcam? then tell them whole of RT is watching their next move and ur dialogue so dun play play and chop chop u with the quotations hor... phahhaha ... I like this .... show them Jaden photo. Tell them even kids are watching at them too ... phahahha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coldflamez 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 obviously they were out to chop you guys seriously, don't need to give them face already. Even if they offer a good price now, they have proven that they are not trustworthy. But do be careful if you are meeting 2 guys alone.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 phahhaha ... I like this .... show them Jaden photo. Tell them even kids are watching at them too ... phahahha yah...tell them with kids watching, they must be good role models and show trustworthiness to these aspiring contractor/ID wannabe kids... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Simon - my hubby overseas leh, tight travelling schedule for the next 1 - 2 weeks, so it's me alone facing these people. haha.... i think i bring my own kid also can right? El Nino - haiz... i really imagine my head is a carrot leh.. VERY BIG ONE somemore. oh, it's such a good idea... then conf webcam all of you, then i put it in front of the contractor, let him see many pairs of eyes looking at him, tell him don't play play lor.... coldflamez - ya. i told my hubby the same. i said you know them, but they treat you like that, how can i even trust them!! i already making arrangement with 3 other ID/contractor to go up my place and do full site measurement plus discuss further on the actual things i wana do. haiz... gotta waste more time le, waiting for final quotes and stuff... sianz... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 If I were you, I won't be bothered to talk to them. They are obviously aiming to chop you. The price quoted is at least 2x - 3x higher than normal ones !! 200% more !! If it's only 20-30%, it's still understandable. Why don't you go to another contractor and ID, get some quotations and give to your hubby. let him think in dollar and cents. If your contractor/id can give any pictures about their result, it would be better. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 If I were you, I won't be bothered to talk to them. They are obviously aiming to chop you. The price quoted is at least 2x - 3x higher than normal ones !! 200% more !! If it's only 20-30%, it's still understandable. Why don't you go to another contractor and ID, get some quotations and give to your hubby. let him think in dollar and cents. If your contractor/id can give any pictures about their result, it would be better. hey ngunadi, still have to give face to my hubby, that's why meeting them tonight, and if it's a bad meeting, then probably the last time already. I did ask for other quotes concurrently but then as you know, everyone quoted differently so it's really hard to tell which is cheaper, so i told hubby if he wants to go with this contractor, it's okay. anyway, hubby is also very pissed and called them up to scold them le.. and when my hubby scold, he really don't care his tone lor. tonight i'm meeting the boss too, all the while dealing with his staff.. so let's see how it goes. actually i'm just **** glad i didn't sign on anything yet. it's really 2x more lor... sickening leh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 hey ngunadi, still have to give face to my hubby, that's why meeting them tonight, and if it's a bad meeting, then probably the last time already. I did ask for other quotes concurrently but then as you know, everyone quoted differently so it's really hard to tell which is cheaper, so i told hubby if he wants to go with this contractor, it's okay. anyway, hubby is also very pissed and called them up to scold them le.. and when my hubby scold, he really don't care his tone lor. tonight i'm meeting the boss too, all the while dealing with his staff.. so let's see how it goes. actually i'm just **** glad i didn't sign on anything yet. it's really 2x more lor... sickening leh. Actually, even if tonight is a good meeting, is it worth it? The discontentment is already there. Even if they manage to lower down the price comparable to the rest, you need to remember whether they will do the job properly or not: in terms of workmanship, timing and also material used. So, it's already very tricky. If I were you, I'd rather start a fresh from new contractor/id, since I have not signed anything yet ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 yes, you are right. the trust is not there also. but i will still meet them, just to see what the boss say. in a way, i need to answer to my hubby if i'm not using them. hubby will back my decision, but i have to give these people a last chance, just for my hubby's sake. i'm now waiting for the other ID/contractors to confirm meet up for final quotes discussion. actually, is it ok for the ID/contractors to do a full site measurement even though i haven't confirm them yet? i thought it's better that they do that, so that i know the quotes will be more accurate. i do have a couple which i have shortlisted before i decided to go with this leech. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted April 27, 2010 yes, you are right. the trust is not there also. but i will still meet them, just to see what the boss say. in a way, i need to answer to my hubby if i'm not using them. hubby will back my decision, but i have to give these people a last chance, just for my hubby's sake. i'm now waiting for the other ID/contractors to confirm meet up for final quotes discussion. actually, is it ok for the ID/contractors to do a full site measurement even though i haven't confirm them yet? i thought it's better that they do that, so that i know the quotes will be more accurate. i do have a couple which i have shortlisted before i decided to go with this leech. how's everything ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted April 27, 2010 yes, you are right. the trust is not there also. but i will still meet them, just to see what the boss say. in a way, i need to answer to my hubby if i'm not using them. hubby will back my decision, but i have to give these people a last chance, just for my hubby's sake. i'm now waiting for the other ID/contractors to confirm meet up for final quotes discussion. actually, is it ok for the ID/contractors to do a full site measurement even though i haven't confirm them yet? i thought it's better that they do that, so that i know the quotes will be more accurate. i do have a couple which i have shortlisted before i decided to go with this leech. Correct, if you ID/contractors never do measurement, how will they give you quotation? 20ft and 18 ft carpentry work could be different by $100-200 and all this cost would add up. ID/Contractors would not bear this cost and would ask you to cover this cost in the end. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted April 27, 2010 last night's meeting was really... erm... how to say.... quite speechless la. the boss was in the meeting, and he's really very straight to the point lor. it wasn't 2 against 1 hor, it's 4 against 1! The boss, the in-charge, and 2 ops. Half the time I was sitting there listening to their discussion on how to bring the costs lower. I told them to take out the bamboo flooring, cos they quote at 19/sqft while hubby can get at 11/sqft and even I can get it at 13/sqft. Then they cut down the prices for some of the items. The final quote was $40k, of purely wet works, electrical, doors and glass for my kitchen/dining area. I said 40k for all these super ridiculous, cos my house just a normal 5rm HDB size. 40k can do a lot of things! Then boss ask me what is my budget, I said 60k, which I realised almost immediately, I should have said lower, but well.. Then boss ask ops people, 20k can do carpentary and ops said depends on what I want to do. I told them I didn't want fanciful stuff in my house, meaning i don't need to do a chio chio feature wall with design extending all the way to ceiling and down the other side of the wall. I want basic carpentary for my house only. I don't need built in study desk either. I just want shoe cabinets, kitchen cabinets, vanity tops for all 3 toilets, TV console with simple feature wall and wardrobes. After working out with ops people, they said my carpentary wasn't much, 20k can do nice stuff. Then I said, no, 60k is for EVERYTHING for the reno! Including my tiles which I'm buying my own, the bamboo flooring. Shower screen haven't even quoted in lor! 20k not just for carpentary. Then ops people admitted that 40k for wet works is indeed high. And while I'm waiting for them to drop the price further, the boss cut in and gave me a 3k discount. 37k in total for wet works. If i keep strictly to my budget, that means I'm left with 23k for tiles, bamboo flooring, shower screen, and all the carpentary. Boss told ops people that hubby is his good friend, so they must make sure that quality must be there, and done within the stipulated time. They even mobilized the team to start work next week, just waiting for me to nod my head nia. Talked to hubby. He kinda felt I should just proceed. But I told him fear is there le. Then he assured me they will do a good job too..... Dilemma. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted April 27, 2010 So what is their scope for 37k ? I think for wetworks, should able to settle less than 20 or max 30k? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites