El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Today, i received their revised quote with just the wet works, no carpentary quoted yet because they said they will quote after i confirm the design. i'm supplying the tiles, not breaking down walls, and it's already costing me $51k.... am i being ripped off??? so frustrating! wait...51k for just wet works, no carpentry quoted, no tearing down walls and you supplying tiles??? we could aid you better if you give us more in depth info on the quotation. did they break it down to you? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Yes, there's a breakdown, but quite many to type down leh. basically, they quoted me hacking and laying of wall and floor tiles for kitchen and 3 bathrooms, hacking and laying bamboo flooring for 3 bedrooms & 1 study, construct half wall with glass for kitchen/dining area, construct hollow block for 2 walls, install all the necessary wares like sanitary and kitchen stuff, electrical, copper pipes, 7 solid nyatoh doors, L box for all rooms and hall.. and it already cost me $51k. $6.9k for electrical works, switches i gotta supply. $9.8k for all 7 doors plus main door. this one i did tell them i want semi solid for the room and bathroom doors, so that might change. $3.45k for copper pipes and install sanitary wares and kitchen sink. $8.67k for bamboo flooring. $1.1k for tempered swing door with floor spring (for kitchen) $1.72k for labour to install wall and floor tiles for kitchen (include screeding) $5.06k for labour to install wall and floor tiles for 3 bathrooms. $4k to hack and remove flooring for all rooms including hall and dining (supposed to be rooms only, living only to polish, and this might change) and some others small small items lor. is it very ex? my current place is only 112m2, teeny bit more than a normal 5 room HDB. 51k for all these wet works is it even normal?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Yes, there's a breakdown, but quite many to type down leh. basically, they quoted me hacking and laying of wall and floor tiles for kitchen and 3 bathrooms, hacking and laying bamboo flooring for 3 bedrooms & 1 study, construct half wall with glass for kitchen/dining area, construct hollow block for 2 walls, install all the necessary wares like sanitary and kitchen stuff, electrical, copper pipes, 7 solid nyatoh doors, L box for all rooms and hall.. and it already cost me $51k. $6.9k for electrical works, switches i gotta supply. $9.8k for all 7 doors plus main door. this one i did tell them i want semi solid for the room and bathroom doors, so that might change. $3.45k for copper pipes and install sanitary wares and kitchen sink. $8.67k for bamboo flooring. $1.1k for tempered swing door with floor spring (for kitchen) $1.72k for labour to install wall and floor tiles for kitchen (include screeding) $5.06k for labour to install wall and floor tiles for 3 bathrooms. $4k to hack and remove flooring for all rooms including hall and dining (supposed to be rooms only, living only to polish, and this might change) and some others small small items lor. is it very ex? my current place is only 112m2, teeny bit more than a normal 5 room HDB. 51k for all these wet works is it even normal?? very very very expensive sia . 7k for electrical ??? I tot norm is like 2-3k ???? 9.8k for 8 door ? Wah ... 1 door 1K+ ar ? labour for laying of tile also seem to be more expensive .... exp exp exp Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Yes, there's a breakdown, but quite many to type down leh. basically, they quoted me hacking and laying of wall and floor tiles for kitchen and 3 bathrooms, hacking and laying bamboo flooring for 3 bedrooms & 1 study, construct half wall with glass for kitchen/dining area, construct hollow block for 2 walls, install all the necessary wares like sanitary and kitchen stuff, electrical, copper pipes, 7 solid nyatoh doors, L box for all rooms and hall.. and it already cost me $51k. $6.9k for electrical works, switches i gotta supply. $9.8k for all 7 doors plus main door. this one i did tell them i want semi solid for the room and bathroom doors, so that might change. $3.45k for copper pipes and install sanitary wares and kitchen sink. $8.67k for bamboo flooring. $1.1k for tempered swing door with floor spring (for kitchen) $1.72k for labour to install wall and floor tiles for kitchen (include screeding) $5.06k for labour to install wall and floor tiles for 3 bathrooms. $4k to hack and remove flooring for all rooms including hall and dining (supposed to be rooms only, living only to polish, and this might change) and some others small small items lor. is it very ex? my current place is only 112m2, teeny bit more than a normal 5 room HDB. 51k for all these wet works is it even normal?? wow, that is expensive. U might want to get more quotations? $6.9k of electrical works is crazy for sure..exclude switch some more?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
summerflowers 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 I find your quote, everything very ex. Hold your horses and get another quote or two if possible. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Yes, there's a breakdown, but quite many to type down leh. basically, they quoted me hacking and laying of wall and floor tiles for kitchen and 3 bathrooms, hacking and laying bamboo flooring for 3 bedrooms & 1 study, construct half wall with glass for kitchen/dining area, construct hollow block for 2 walls, install all the necessary wares like sanitary and kitchen stuff, electrical, copper pipes, 7 solid nyatoh doors, L box for all rooms and hall.. and it already cost me $51k. $6.9k for electrical works, switches i gotta supply. $9.8k for all 7 doors plus main door. this one i did tell them i want semi solid for the room and bathroom doors, so that might change. $3.45k for copper pipes and install sanitary wares and kitchen sink. $8.67k for bamboo flooring. $1.1k for tempered swing door with floor spring (for kitchen) $1.72k for labour to install wall and floor tiles for kitchen (include screeding) $5.06k for labour to install wall and floor tiles for 3 bathrooms. $4k to hack and remove flooring for all rooms including hall and dining (supposed to be rooms only, living only to polish, and this might change) and some others small small items lor. is it very ex? my current place is only 112m2, teeny bit more than a normal 5 room HDB. 51k for all these wet works is it even normal?? i concur with SuperSimon & gimz.... 6.9k for electrical with switches you supplying...3.45k for copper pipes...9.8k doors...?!? for a moment i thot it must be the size of your unit...but er..u said its slightly bigger then a 5 room HDB leh...u definitely can get a quote below 35k for these...do source for more Merydith. almost all of the above are double what you can get elsewhere.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rasfene 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Please look for other contractors/IDs. Judging from what you have told us, I think even $40k is way too high! somemore you supplying tiles, switches and so on.... You really need to get more quotes before signing. Somemore not ID rite? any designing on their part? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 ya.. i've been in this forum for 8 months already and i've seen what other people can do with a 5 room and how much it cost.. i told hubby maybe less than 50k can settle. but i didn't know the 50k only wet works!! we already tell them the price is so much higher than outside, and they are just contractor and not ID! i got so pissed when i saw the quote this morning. hubby was so angry he called up the guy and literally "wash" him upside down. we wanted to go with them becos my hubby said can full trust them and they won't charge sky high, but apparently we are wrong.... tonight i'm gonna meet them again. see what they say. simon - electrical only 3k? arrgggghhh.... super rip off liao like that. gimz - ya, switches we will supply lor. they only quoting the wiring etc and still short of some points leh. el nino - ya la... my old HDB 5 room is 110m2, this unit is only 112m2 lor... extra 2m2 nia!! rasfene - no leh, no design.... so angry!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 ya.. i've been in this forum for 8 months already and i've seen what other people can do with a 5 room and how much it cost.. i told hubby maybe less than 50k can settle. but i didn't know the 50k only wet works!! we already tell them the price is so much higher than outside, and they are just contractor and not ID! i got so pissed when i saw the quote this morning. hubby was so angry he called up the guy and literally "wash" him upside down. we wanted to go with them becos my hubby said can full trust them and they won't charge sky high, but apparently we are wrong.... tonight i'm gonna meet them again. see what they say. simon - electrical only 3k? arrgggghhh.... super rip off liao like that. gimz - ya, switches we will supply lor. they only quoting the wiring etc and still short of some points leh. el nino - ya la... my old HDB 5 room is 110m2, this unit is only 112m2 lor... extra 2m2 nia!! rasfene - no leh, no design.... so angry!! Maybe they tot you guys new to renovation and know nothing . So want to carrot chop you. But come on …. You are back by the entire Renotalker … ha …. Tell them don’t play play arh … Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 This is too exp. A customised gd quality solid door cost $700 the most. What wood are they using? This is a rip-off. I will just look for others. No point talking to them again in my opinion. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 simon - electrical only 3k? arrgggghhh.... super rip off liao like that. gimz - ya, switches we will supply lor. they only quoting the wiring etc and still short of some points leh. el nino - ya la... my old HDB 5 room is 110m2, this unit is only 112m2 lor... extra 2m2 nia!! rasfene - no leh, no design.... so angry!! extra 2m2 also consider upgrade la if u wna look at the positive side...Lol any idea whr this 2m2 goes to? summary of electrical points for u, seeing that its normally adhoc and we have tendency to keeping adding them on... 1) 13a single socket - avg $40 to $45 ea (plus switches!) 2) 13a double socket - avg $50 to $55 ea 3) lighting point - avg $25 to $28 ea 4) light installation - avg $6 to $8 ea 5) Lan point/heater/aircon point - avg $80 to $100 6) TV point - avg $100 7) MCB unit - avg $300 8) Tel point - avg $40 For doors, veneer or nyatoh are abt same pricing...range between $260 to $300.. main door more ex la...but definitely less then $600... Although these are pricing i seen for HDB, but cant be condo so special got so much diff right? Would love to hear their reasoning when u meet them tonite! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 simon - ya lor... if without you all, i probably be the carrot head and these leeches will be laughing their way to the bank le. 51k... what a joke.... mickey - haiz, i only decide to go with them based on my hubby words leh. just now told hubby i'm getting another 2 sets of people up to give me a full quote cos i don't trust the contractor already. if based on the full quote and they cheaper than these guys, why should i go with them? i keep the money in the bank lagi better... if not buy myself 4 branded bags also better than paying these leeches. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 (edited) El Nino - thanks for the electrical prices. They quote me in lump sum.. i gotta work it out.. Oh ya man, i will post tonight after meeting them... my blood boiling since morning leh..... GRRRRRRR!!! the extra 2m2 ah? haha.. don't know leh.... probably the extra toilet? i got total 4 toilets ma. Edited April 26, 2010 by merydith Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 El Nino - thanks for the electrical prices. They quote me in lump sum.. i gotta work it out.. Oh ya man, i will post tonight after meeting them... my blood boiling since morning leh..... GRRRRRRR!!! the extra 2m2 ah? haha.. don't know leh.... probably the extra toilet? i got total 4 toilets ma. Go go go merydith ..... we all support behind u ..... gogogo Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 El Nino, I just used the prices you gave and calculated my electrical based on the no. of points they quoted. TOTAL ONLY $3.47k NIA!!! You don't have price for installation of ceiling fans so i don't have that, but it's only 4 nos of ceiling fans also won't cost me another 3.4k right?? KAOZ! pardon me, but I cannot tolerate being bullied like that leh........ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites