mysweetlittlethings 0 Report post Posted February 3, 2010 Hi Ernest, Welcome to RT! Congrats on your new home!!!! cheers, Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ernieliew75 2 Report post Posted February 24, 2010 (edited) Major change of plan... ... My bro was suppose to purchase a unit within same area, and my parents will be staying with him. The initial plan was for my family to shift in to his place after his reno so that we can proceed with our reno. He now decides not to get the unit, and rent a room for himself instead... my parents has no choice and would be staying with us... all initial design and reno plan twarted cos they will be cooking every meal... no more open kitchen concept, no more simple and neat house cos will have lots of items as old people got 'karang goonie' habit... need to set prayer table as well... worst part is that I will have to find a house for rental for few months (extra cost) so that my reno can commence as I already sold my current place, and must shift out by 7 Jul 10. I will only be taking key on 30 Jun for new house... need some advises here on rental of entire unit for 2 to 3 months... Si Bae Sianz... ... Selling my current place to aim for a dream house... even set a budget of 100k aside for it... now dream house gone... Edited February 24, 2010 by ernieliew75 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted February 24, 2010 hello ernie, your house sold at such a good price! should be the nice reno la. new owner don't need to do much. wow, your plans changed again ah? Tell your bro not to keep changing his mind leh.. kekeke.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ernieliew75 2 Report post Posted February 24, 2010 Ah Bo Pian... I can't control this ma... Ya, the jacuzzi bathtub is a good idea if I extend my toilet to bedroom, provided I hacked 2 room to 1... now don't even have enough room... even my daughter have to share room with maid... What to do. See toto this fri lor. Whoahahahahaaaa... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
summerflowers 0 Report post Posted February 24, 2010 (edited) Ah Bo Pian... I can't control this ma... It's ok. Plans do change. Like us, we planned to get a new place at the beginning of last year, but did not find any to our satisfaction. Then we decide to renovate our own home instead. But the hassle of renovation and inability to come up with a satisfactory layout prompted us to look for another place again. So we bought one at the end of last year after looking at a few units. Now looking at some minor renovations to do. That's life. Make the most of what you can do. You can decorate as you go along. Edited February 24, 2010 by summerflowers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ernieliew75 2 Report post Posted March 2, 2010 (edited) My original floorplan: My finalised floorplan after the changes (with parents staying with me. Basically I will hack most walls, replace with cabinets and panel boards. All doors will change to full height sliding door between the erected 'fake' walls so that it can nicely flush in. The walkway to bedroom will be a giant picture where the doors are part of of it, so when it open or closes, it will create a different pic and feel. Working on the 3D Drawings. Cheers. Edited March 2, 2010 by ernieliew75 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
summerflowers 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2010 Basically I will hack most walls, replace with cabinets and panel boards. All doors will change to full height sliding door between the erected 'fake' walls so that it can nicely flush in. The walkway to bedroom will be a giant picture where the doors are part of of it, so when it open or closes, it will create a different pic and feel. Working on the 3D Drawings. Cheers. Great! Looking forward to your 3D drawings. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ernieliew75 2 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 Just bought this sofa set at Sierra Designer Furniture at Sungei Kadut: Damage: 3 + 2 Seater Sofa Set at $1500, Spare Cover Set at $600 (velvet finishing) Will be getting this Dining Table (1.8m x 0.85m) with 6 Chairs. The top will be black without the flowery design. $1497 from Nova. My finalised layout: Cheers. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mysweetlittlethings 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 Hi Hi, Welcome back! So fast buy sofa liao! Hee... I like your current set! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2010 So reno will commences 1st July? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ernieliew75 2 Report post Posted May 3, 2010 (edited) Reno will commence on 2 jul from 9am onwards. Checked with the FSM on the good date and time. Completion should be by early Sept, but shifting in will definitely be after 9 Sep 10 (after Chinese Hungry Ghost Festival) Gotten 11 quotes from different ID, ranging from 62k to 116k. We zoomed down to 2 ID which we think is the best, and worked out an empty quote ourselves (stating clearly on the material, dimension, description, etc, to make sure that nothing is missed out), and asked these 2 ID firms to provide a final quote for us to decide which to select. Now still waiting for reply. Overall estimated budget we are looking at: Reno: < 70k Purchase items < 30k By the way, I am looking for a home theatre system to fit into my living room (6m x 4m), which my original plan was to install just a Philip Souldbar, but the sales person told me no efffect cos the living room is too big... any good recommendation? Edited May 3, 2010 by ernieliew75 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2010 Reno will commence on 2 jul from 9am onwards. Checked with the FSM on the good date and time. Completion should be by early Sept, but shifting in will definitely be after 9 Sep 10 (after Chinese Hungry Ghost Festival) Gotten 11 quotes from different ID, ranging from 62k to 116k. We zoomed down to 2 ID which we think is the best, and worked out an empty quote ourselves (stating clearly on the material, dimension, description, etc, to make sure that nothing is missed out), and asked these 2 ID firms to provide a final quote for us to decide which to select. Now still waiting for reply. Overall estimated budget we are looking at: Reno: < 70k Purchase items < 30k By the way, I am looking for a home theatre system to fit into my living room (6m x 4m), which my original plan was to install just a Philip Souldbar, but the sales person told me no efffect cos the living room is too big... any good recommendation? HTS, depending on your budget, you may wanna visit adelphi to audition and let your ears decide...good luck! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ernieliew75 2 Report post Posted May 24, 2010 Finally managed to get the initial 3D drawing (still amending for some details though) From This Existing Layout To This: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ernieliew75 2 Report post Posted May 24, 2010 Living Room From This: To This: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ernieliew75 2 Report post Posted May 24, 2010 Outside Bomb Shelter: To Dining Area (Table will change to Stainless Steel Base, Glass Top, and Chairs to High Back Rest): Share this post Link to post Share on other sites