tnqhome

Independent Buyer 1% Commission To Seller Agent

Hi bepgof,

I shall address some of your points:

1. Sincererity - Serve all, whether got comm or no comm, poor or rich

- Serve all(Yes), poor or rich(Yes), got comm or no comm (No, would you work for your Company if they didn't pay you? I'm human need to eat, need to pay bills, need to support mother)

But having said that, there are many times where I worked and didn't get paid, whether it is open listing or serving buyer or tenant

Of course for the needy, we'll adjust our rate accordingly.

5. Book keeping - don't call client's name wrongly

- Never happen before, did your Agent address you wrongly? (I do hope you can forgive us though, because in our line we meet numerous people and receive up to hundreds of calls everyday, sometimes it is hard to keep track)

7. Willingness to walk extra mile - arrange SP service, mid-night answer call

- SP service we do arrange, my phone is on 24hrs if I hear it ring of course I will answer, if I dont hear it i'll reply missed call

9. Committment - what really drive u to become an real estate agent,

- I became an Agent partly because of friend encouragement and partly because I like running around SG learning about new places, checking out new properties and making new friends...being an Agent is a service, I try my best to provide the best service, probably not the "textbook" answer you're looking for, but it is my honest answer.

12. Backup - anyone can stand in for u when u are not available

- I work in a team, so I have people covering me when i'm not available, likewise I cover for them too..

13. Pleasant looking/groom - Clients, at first sight, have confidence/trust on u.

- I try to look neat, yes

What is most important to me is to have Integrity in whatever I do, whether in Real Estate or not.

Edited by Plastic3

I believed all agents deserve commission, regardless representing sellers or buyers, walk-in or enaged case. Regulatory need to be beef up, and many room for service quality improvement.

Recalled once, called to enquire for viewing, ended felt being "interrogated", agent asked Qs:

- What's yr budget

- What's yr monthly income

- How much cash/cpf OA you have

- How old are you

- Contra intention

- Where u stay/any outstanding financial liabilities and how much

- PR, SG, Chinese,........

I hang the phone.

I think need to pay 1....

I see.. will do on my own to avoid further cost alto if nothing at least I tried lah..

Mr Agent well, if you said so :) I believe u belongs to the good agent category.. If given a chance, I will consider u next time ,

Bepgoff ~~ yah i agree. for me its not that I dont wanna pay, charge fairly la... more work, charge more, less work charge less..

Haiyah now cracking my head to write the letter, in a nice way not so emoooooooooo haizz..

I believed all agents deserve commission, regardless representing sellers or buyers, walk-in or enaged case. Regulatory need to be beef up, and many room for service quality improvement.

Thanks bepgof, you're are very understanding, sometimes Agents may have been working for a long time(incurring expenses) without getting any commission, be it open listing or serving buyer/tenant, so they'll be firm on their commission rate maybe because they have earned nothing in the past months...and they really need the commission...

of course there are also Agents who have an insatiable appetite for commission, no matter earn how much also not enough...

Recalled once, called to enquire for viewing, ended felt being "interrogated", agent asked Qs:

- What's yr budget

- How old are you

- Contra intention

I hang the phone.

I'm sorry for your "ordeal", it is true that we need to find out these information, but we have to also do it politely....

There are Agents who called to cobroke my listings, some of them talk to me like I owed them money, some of them address me politely...I guess we can only hope to meet more polite people in the future :)

Edited by Plastic3

Mr Agent well, if you said so :) I believe u belongs to the good agent category.. If given a chance, I will consider u next time ,

Thanks aida81, I have been "preaching" to every buyer to engage their own Agent because no matter what, they're likely to have to pay the 1% commission, so why not get their own Agent to work for them than to give the 1% to Sellers Agent who did not do the sourcing for them?

- What's yr budget

- How old are you

- Contra intention

I hang the phone.

at least the agent ask so many question.

we encounter once

call an agent asking abt his advertise on newspaper.

1st Q: U had HLE

My husband don't know what is that, so answer: NO

2nd Q: call me when you have one.

before my husband going to say, we're not taking any loan.

phone hang

Hi Plastic, just for forumers here to understand your "beliefs" better, let me name here some attributes ,which I think a real agent should possess. Try arrange them, according to degree of importance, top-down, according to your "beliefs":

1. Sincererity - Serve all, whether got comm or no comm, poor or rich

2. Transparency - No hidden agenda but doesn't mean everything must tell

3. Honesty - Openly tell clients what he should know even not in his favor

4. Job-related knowledge - legislation, industry happening, Statistic, loan, standing by many forms/doc, etc

5. Book keeping - don't call client's name wrongly

6. Communication skills - can express clearly and listners understand and convinced.

7. Willingness to walk extra mile - arrange SP service, mid-night answer call

8. Money making - Money alway in consideration.

9. Committment - what really drive u to become an real estate agent,

10. Service specialization - Know certain geographical areas particularly well

11. Networking contact - join any "special interest group", mega church, association, etc

12. Backup - anyone can stand in for u when u are not available

13. Pleasant looking/groom - Clients, at first sight, have confidence/trust on u.

14. Quick witted - react fast & accurate in unexpected situation.

any others?

Next time, we should interview agents with this list before engaging them haha :dribble:

I think my current agent scores well in:

4. Job-related knowledge - legislation, industry happening, Statistic, loan,

at least the agent ask so many question.

we encounter once

call an agent asking abt his advertise on newspaper.

1st Q: U had HLE

My husband don't know what is that, so answer: NO

2nd Q: call me when you have one.

before my husband going to say, we're not taking any loan.

phone hang

That agent was rude to hang on your hubby.

The same thing happened to me before. The agent refused to let us view his Jurong unit unless we had an approved HLE.

Next time, we should interview agents with this list before engaging them haha :dribble:

I think my current agent scores well in:

4. Job-related knowledge - legislation, industry happening, Statistic, loan,

Precisely last yr while selling, I tested & observed the agents and chosen one to represent me and signed exclusively agreement.

That agent was rude to hang on your hubby.

The same thing happened to me before. The agent refused to let us view his Jurong unit unless we had an approved HLE.

This one still ok.

I had a lady agent tell him off by SMSing when my husband told her that her client is asking too high COV 60k for a 30yrs old 4rm HDB flat.

mention like

the COV is given by the client, I don't set the price.

I personally encounter 1 agent.

saw the newspaper advertisement, SMS him ask him what is the COV and val. When is the viewing.

agent reply" WHO ARE YOU"

I reply " a buyer"

agent reply "NO NAME"

I reply "xxx... <my name>"

then he reply sth.. I can't remember what is his reply

But all his reply is a CAPITALS.

It's so difficult to read the message all in CAPITALS. I SMS him don't use CAPITALS.

Agent reply me with message of spider and blu blu.. he like to reply in CAPITALS. Why... cannot .. etc etc.

Then scold me wasting his time.

Early sat morning mood all spoil by this agent.

:curse:

Why must reply all in CAPITALS

Don't he know, that is rude.

He should go for a Email etiquette class

This one still ok.

I had a lady agent tell him off by SMSing when my husband told her that her client is asking too high COV 60k for a 30yrs old 4rm HDB flat.

mention like

the COV is given by the client, I don't set the price.

I personally encounter 1 agent.

saw the newspaper advertisement, SMS him ask him what is the COV and val. When is the viewing.

agent reply" WHO ARE YOU"

I reply " a buyer"

agent reply "NO NAME"

I reply "xxx... <my name>"

then he reply sth.. I can't remember what is his reply

But all his reply is a CAPITALS.

It's so difficult to read the message all in CAPITALS. I SMS him don't use CAPITALS.

Agent reply me with message of spider and blu blu.. he like to reply in CAPITALS. Why... cannot .. etc etc.

Then scold me wasting his time.

Early sat morning mood all spoil by this agent.

:curse:

Why must reply all in CAPITALS

Don't he know, that is rude.

He should go for a Email etiquette class

Anyone on the street can become an agent. That explains the wide variety of agents we encounter.

When we engage an agent to sell our house next time, perhaps we should ask someone to call him up as a buyer to test his customer service hehe! We don't want our agent to chase away our potential buyers.

Anyone on the street can become an agent. That explains the wide variety of agents we encounter.

When we engage an agent to sell our house next time, perhaps we should ask someone to call him up as a buyer to test his customer service hehe! We don't want our agent to chase away our potential buyers.

I will sell the house myself..... to save all the trouble...

After all, seller will hope to get a buyer who appreciate their house also....

I will sell the house myself..... to save all the trouble...

After all, seller will hope to get a buyer who appreciate their house also....

Yah tng, imagine if everyone boycott agent service, thumbs up for agents.. I mean only to the means & greedy ones not like Mr Plastic hehee

anyway I will sign up for the resale seminar one day then sell and buy hse on my own ..then encourage ppl to go for it..

:paint::paint:

Since everyone is sharing, thought i'll share too :)

There was once I called an Agent to cobroke his listing for rental:

Me: Hi Good morning, I am "Plastic" from XXX company, may I ask if you cobroke XXX?

Agent: Can! you call me back in 2-years lor!! *hangup

I guess logically there is nothing wrong with his reply, but didn't need to be so sarcastic...

Edited by Plastic3

Since everyone is sharing, thought i'll share too :)

There was once I called an Agent to cobroke his listing for rental:

Me: Hi Good morning, I am "Plastic" from XXX company, may I ask if you cobroke XXX?

Agent: Can! you call me back in 2-years lor!! *hangup

I guess logically there is nothing wrong with his reply, but didn't need to be so sarcastic...

I think i know the reason, coz u intro urself as plastic, thats y hehehehe