fftw 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Oooo...ur FS master oso master Tan?? No, my FS is a lady. We have been going to her for a long time. She now also write for Simply Her or Women's Weekly (not sure wick women's magazine) in their Feng Shui column. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
graceakaclouds 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 hi fftw!! i'm gracelourdes from myhometown forum....glad to see u here you r very detailed as well as your contractor too....hehehe... just wondering if u r going to do anything to hide your bomb shelter. I guess S2 owners will not have tat much of an issue compared to S1 owners who r having bomb shelters right smack in their living room. Seriously, wonder how practical their building designers are really....geez Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fftw 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Wah.. ur hubby believes in fengshui too?? My hubby believes in Feng Shui more than I do. In fact, he is the one who knows of her prior to knowing me. My hubby also has a Bronze Guang Ying Statue prior to meeting me! He has been in Asia for the last 10 or so years. Below is the picture of our Guang Ying in Daylight and during Christmas. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fftw 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Bathrooms The Pinnacle @ Duxton bathrooms are really nice. They even box up all the plumbing with ceramic tiles. HDB also provides 2 nice sets of bathroom shower mixer. Here are the photos: - Main Bathroom - Shower Mixer Main Bathroom - Shower Mixer - Close-up Common Bathroom - Shower Mixer Common Bathroom - Shower Mixer - Close-up Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fftw 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Bathrooms Delimma The problem is "I WANT A RAIN SHOWER". Hubby refuse to pay more than $300 to change the entire shower mixer just for a "bloody rainshower". He believes its a waste of good tax payers money. I on the other hand insist on one. PROBLEM. So we turn to out ever realiable contractor cum ID Dennis. As usual, he came to our rescue He gave us an awesome solution. He also advise us what to do and who to look for at Poh Joo. So I get my rain shower afterall at half the price (about $150 for each bathroom instead of &350 to $400 for each bathroom) without having to change the shower mixer. I am a happy person We also bought the kitchen sinks and accessories for the kitchen sink from Poh Joo. Since we are recommended fby Dennis, they gave us a discount off the retail price. They will also coordinate with Dennis for the delivery so less stress for us Yippee!!! We wanted to purchase the bathroom sinks from Poh Joo too but unfortunatley, the dimensions of their sinks does not suit our height and design wants. Initially we wanted a countertop sink. However, I am not very tall, only 5 feet whereas hubby is 6 feet. If we were to install a countertop sink, our mirror cabinet will be higher to make allowance for the tap. Which means the bottom of mirror will start from my neck up! How to see?!? So Dennis recommend get a flush sink. We are still looking... more of that story to come... Cabinets for the Bathroom Hubby and I insist on drawers to maximise the space. Remember, the objective of the renovation is to open up the space and create as much storage as possible. However in Dennis initial quote, its just shelves. So we ask Dennis's carpenter to design the following drawers with cut out at the back for the bottle trap. His answer, "Can." "Any addition cost." we ask. Before the carpenter says anything, Dennis said "Nevermind, I settle." My hubby and I both smile. Dennis response is that since he has done so many of our friends homes, he will try his best to give us what want without changing the quote. I am really grateful to him. This is the picture of the drawers with the hole at the back. Through my reno research and speaking to friends who have hired Dennis, I have come to realised one must be realistic with what you want in your home in terms of materials and design, if you have a limited budget. Going for the cheapest contractor is not necessary good. I know that I have a limited budget to work with so I don't ask for high end materials. For example, my countertop is Cresto and my laminates are from Lamitak (he is giing me a better quality, more of that story later). The most important thing is that you have a contractor with an eye for details and is meticulous. Also its important to know that your contractor needs to earn a living too. Though I have not ask for discount on everything just some of the items, over the course of this renovation, the FOC items Dennis throws in, the ease of my discussion with him, his honesty and the easy of my renovation and most importantly my knowing that the workmanship will be top notch is worth the slightly higher reno quotation. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tlenggeok 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 I am in Blk 1B and Maxxum is in Blk 1A Oooo...hi neighbours Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tlenggeok 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 No, my FS is a lady. We have been going to her for a long time. She now also write for Simply Her or Women's Weekly (not sure wick women's magazine) in their Feng Shui column. me also waiting for my keys & waiting to see FS...haiz...everyone is waiting for spore to snow...kept sitting on my loan... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tlenggeok 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Bathrooms Delimma The problem is "I WANT A RAIN SHOWER". Hubby refuse to pay more than $300 to change the entire shower mixer just for a "bloody rainshower". He believes its a waste of good tax payers money. I on the other hand insist on one. PROBLEM. So we turn to out ever realiable contractor cum ID Dennis. As usual, he came to our rescue He gave us an awesome solution. He also advise us what to do and who to look for at Poh Joo. So I get my rain shower afterall at half the price (about $150 for each bathroom instead of &350 to $400 for each bathroom) without having to change the shower mixer. I am a happy person We also bought the kitchen sinks and accessories for the kitchen sink from Poh Joo. Since we are recommended fby Dennis, they gave us a discount off the retail price. They will also coordinate with Dennis for the delivery so less stress for us Yippee!!! We wanted to purchase the bathroom sinks from Poh Joo too but unfortunatley, the dimensions of their sinks does not suit our height and design wants. Initially we wanted a countertop sink. However, I am not very tall, only 5 feet whereas hubby is 6 feet. If we were to install a countertop sink, our mirror cabinet will be higher to make allowance for the tap. Which means the bottom of mirror will start from my neck up! How to see?!? So Dennis recommend get a flush sink. We are still looking... more of that story to come... Cabinets for the Bathroom Hubby and I insist on drawers to maximise the space. Remember, the objective of the renovation is to open up the space and create as much storage as possible. However in Dennis initial quote, its just shelves. So we ask Dennis's carpenter to design the following drawers with cut out at the back for the bottle trap. His answer, "Can." "Any addition cost." we ask. Before the carpenter says anything, Dennis said "Nevermind, I settle." My hubby and I both smile. Dennis response is that since he has done so many of our friends homes, he will try his best to give us what want without changing the quote. I am really grateful to him. This is the picture of the drawers with the hole at the back. Through my reno research and speaking to friends who have hired Dennis, I have come to realised one must be realistic with what you want in your home in terms of materials and design, if you have a limited budget. Going for the cheapest contractor is not necessary good. I know that I have a limited budget to work with so I don't ask for high end materials. For example, my countertop is Cresto and my laminates are from Lamitak (he is giing me a better quality, more of that story later). The most important thing is that you have a contractor with an eye for details and is meticulous. Also its important to know that your contractor needs to earn a living too. Though I have not ask for discount on everything just some of the items, over the course of this renovation, the FOC items Dennis throws in, the ease of my discussion with him, his honesty and the easy of my renovation and most importantly my knowing that the workmanship will be top notch is worth the slightly higher reno quotation. nice sink! yep...truly agrees...renovation is all about heng suay...good dun comes cheap but sometimes expensive also not equals to good...my reno is also to keep it to minimal cause nowadays we can't relly trust the materials used! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fftw 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 hi fftw!! i'm gracelourdes from myhometown forum....glad to see u here you r very detailed as well as your contractor too....hehehe... just wondering if u r going to do anything to hide your bomb shelter. I guess S2 owners will not have tat much of an issue compared to S1 owners who r having bomb shelters right smack in their living room. Seriously, wonder how practical their building designers are really....geez Hi gracelourdes! Welcome to renotalk As mentioned, I have a budget so not doing anything expensive for my bomb shelter. But also like what you mentioned, my bomb shelter is facing the main door so not much of an issue. However, I painted three Plum Tree painting to go on the three "walls" of that make up my bomb shelter. One canvas on left wall of the bomb shelter door, one canvas on the bomb shelter door and the 3rd canvan on the right wall of the bomb shelter. Total cost About $180 Here is the photo Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SGK 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Bathrooms Delimma The problem is "I WANT A RAIN SHOWER". Hubby refuse to pay more than $300 to change the entire shower mixer just for a "bloody rainshower". He believes its a waste of good tax payers money. I on the other hand insist on one. PROBLEM. So we turn to out ever realiable contractor cum ID Dennis. As usual, he came to our rescue He gave us an awesome solution. He also advise us what to do and who to look for at Poh Joo. So I get my rain shower afterall at half the price (about $150 for each bathroom instead of &350 to $400 for each bathroom) without having to change the shower mixer. I am a happy person We also bought the kitchen sinks and accessories for the kitchen sink from Poh Joo. Since we are recommended fby Dennis, they gave us a discount off the retail price. They will also coordinate with Dennis for the delivery so less stress for us Yippee!!! We wanted to purchase the bathroom sinks from Poh Joo too but unfortunatley, the dimensions of their sinks does not suit our height and design wants. Initially we wanted a countertop sink. However, I am not very tall, only 5 feet whereas hubby is 6 feet. If we were to install a countertop sink, our mirror cabinet will be higher to make allowance for the tap. Which means the bottom of mirror will start from my neck up! How to see?!? So Dennis recommend get a flush sink. We are still looking... more of that story to come... Cabinets for the Bathroom Hubby and I insist on drawers to maximise the space. Remember, the objective of the renovation is to open up the space and create as much storage as possible. However in Dennis initial quote, its just shelves. So we ask Dennis's carpenter to design the following drawers with cut out at the back for the bottle trap. His answer, "Can." "Any addition cost." we ask. Before the carpenter says anything, Dennis said "Nevermind, I settle." My hubby and I both smile. Dennis response is that since he has done so many of our friends homes, he will try his best to give us what want without changing the quote. I am really grateful to him. This is the picture of the drawers with the hole at the back. Through my reno research and speaking to friends who have hired Dennis, I have come to realised one must be realistic with what you want in your home in terms of materials and design, if you have a limited budget. Going for the cheapest contractor is not necessary good. I know that I have a limited budget to work with so I don't ask for high end materials. For example, my countertop is Cresto and my laminates are from Lamitak (he is giing me a better quality, more of that story later). The most important thing is that you have a contractor with an eye for details and is meticulous. Also its important to know that your contractor needs to earn a living too. Though I have not ask for discount on everything just some of the items, over the course of this renovation, the FOC items Dennis throws in, the ease of my discussion with him, his honesty and the easy of my renovation and most importantly my knowing that the workmanship will be top notch is worth the slightly higher reno quotation. Ha ha, I think you have gotten a really good ID , and your reno process will certainly be smooth and enjoyable . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fftw 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 (edited) me also waiting for my keys & waiting to see FS...haiz...everyone is waiting for spore to snow...kept sitting on my loan... Take this opportunity to look for a good contractor or ID to do your place. As far as materials are concern, your contractor will be able to advise you on the type and the problems involved in each material. For example, Dennis my contractor cum ID, advise me not to take a certain type of Cresto solid top as the "bling" effect it gives will be gone over a period of time with cleaning . But I like the "bling" effect the solid top gives so he advise me to use 3M Stainless steel cleaner for regular cleaning and Pledge once a fortnight to maintain the effect. Edited January 19, 2010 by fftw Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fftw 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Thanks SGK! I am going to check out your t-blog too So far, am liking the design that your ID has done Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fftw 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 (edited) Why Did I Buy from Harvey Norman There is a bulk purchase order that was being circulated in the forums for P@D owners. The prices are really reasonable and cheaper than the rest of the electrical appliances stores. However, they do not accept instalment plan so I was a little sian already. If given a chance, I will rather pay in interest free instalments rather than cash up front. Since HV was near my office, I decided to pop in to have a look. First off, I was checking out the washing machines, in particular Samsung. Along came a sales guy who started asking me why I wanted to buy Samsung and recommended Bosch since its a better brand. I told him I am not interested in European washking machines and prefer either Korean or Jap. He was put off by this and walked away, refusing to serve me. Fine! My MIL (from Australia) has a petite dish washer that I am very interested in. When I checked with Bosch in Australia, they inform me that they have one in Singapore. So off I went to dish washer section. I was served by a lady. When I ask detailed questions about the dish washer, she ask another colleage to help. Lo and behold, its the irritating salesman who only wish to sell Bosch washing machine. No wonder he says Bosch is better, he gets commission from selling Bosch! When he saw me, he wasn't really interested in entertaining my questions and gave me stupid answers, like "Its all in the Catalog, go read yourself." Pissed, off I went to the escalators, but the Sharp Steam Oven stop me in my tracks. I wanted to purchase a Brandt Steam oven but it can't grill whereas this Sharp oven is a steam oven but it can grill too! The oven was switched on, so I fiddled with the nobs and buttons. Hmmm... not user friendly at all Then I lay my eyes on the Panasonic Steam oven. Same features but its not turn on so I can fiddle around with the buttons to check if its user friendly. Someone ask if I needed help, yes I said and proceed to ask if she can help me plug in the oven. She said "NO!" and walked away... Then I spotted a "jolly" man walking towards. I stop him and ask for his help. He said he is from the fridge department so not sure if he can help me. When he found out that I needed him to plug in the oven for me. He immediately "Sure" and promptly looked around and ask his collegue if they know of any plus he can use to plug the oven. I played with the buttons and nobs, ask questions, etc. Questions he can't answer, he refer to the instructional manual. Finally PRICE. I told him that I am interested to buy but price is crucial. He gave me a great price and I told him I will think about it and will come back with my hubby. He smile and said "No problem." The next time I went there, he saw me and was as friendly as ever. My hubby ask heaps of questions on Fridges, washing machines, etc. All the time this guy was super duper friendly never once stop smiling. We are very lucky to be served by one of the nicest sales man there. He answered all our queries and concerns and never once pushed us to buy. We then asked him if he can better on the prices and he said that if I can give him a list of all the items we wanted to buy, he will try him best to match or better. So we informed him of the fridge, washing machine, television, dishwasher, steam oven, etc we wanted to buy and ask him to give us the best price. Even after he gave us the prices, we continued to shop around quite a fare bit and went back to Havery Norman to see him a few times with different products that we wanted to buy. All the time he served us, he never once complain He was extremely helpful and always try him best to serve us. Finally after investigating all the prices around, including the Bulk purchase prices from Gain City, the some of the prices he gave us matched the Bulk purchase prices and others with an average of less than $20 difference. Overall we are happy, so we decided to buy from him. The price is comparable to Gain city/Best Denki promotions and we can still pay by interest free instalment plan, so I thought why not However, I bought all of my stuff from Harvey Norman already! The best price is that the price is comparable to the Bulk purchase price and yet I can pay by the 48 months inyerest free installment! I use the price from the Bulk purchase as a target and also shopped at Best Denki. Then I went to Harvey Norman and shop around. I was very lucky to be served by one of the nicest sales man there the 1st time I went there. He answered all my queries and concerns and never once pushed me to buy. I asked him if he can better on the prices and he said that if I can give him a list of all the items I wanted to buy, he will try him best to match or better. So I informed him of the fridge, washing machine, television, dishwasher, steam oven, etc I wanted to buy and ask him to give me the best price. I shopped around quite a fare bit and went back to Havery Norman to see him a few times with different products I wanted to buy and all the time he served me, he never once complain He was extremely helpful and always try him best to serve me. Finally after investigating all the prices around, including the Bulk purchase price, the some of the prices he gave me match the Bulk purchase price and others with an average of few dollars difference. Overall I am happy, so I decided to buy from him. The price is comparable to Gain city and I can still pay by interest free instalment plan, so I thought why not. If anyone of you are interested, you may PM me and I will give you the sales guy's name. Edited January 19, 2010 by fftw Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fftw 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 I don't have any photos of my home before the kitchen wall was hacked but I do have photos of my neighbour's place. The floor plan is the same except its reverse. This picture shows the entrance to the kitchen, I hacked the walls on the right of the Kitchen. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fftw 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Need all your advise. I am looking for this toilet holder. Does anyone know where I might buy it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites