fftw

The Pinnacle @ Duxton - S2

somehow the frame doesn't look compatible to the tiles.

The bathroom window frame is provided by HDB so unfortunately I have no choice in this matter :(

Our KDK Fans are Up :)

The colour of the fans will match the colour of our laminates in the Living/Dining rooms & Kitchen (I hope!)

KDK Fan Box

IMG_0271.jpg

Some KDK Fan Remotes - I have a total of 5

IMG_0269.jpg

The FINAL Product

IMG_0268.jpg

how much did you get the fans?

The bathroom window frame is provided by HDB so unfortunately I have no choice in this matter :(

can always spray paint :D

Thanks for making me feel better :) She is quite spoiled by my hubby. She has a television in her own room (hubby gave it to her for her birthday) and goes to bed by 10pm because she tells me & hubby she has to wake up by 6 am to get my daughter up at 6.15am. Think between sleeping with my daughter or bomb shelter, she rather sleeps in a bomb shelter

wa...ur domestic helper beri yayapapaya le...think nowadays domestic helpers are very much enjoying their life here :D

singapore is a big chalet :D

Exhaust Fans in the Bathrooms

Remember we wanted the exhaust fans in the bathrooms to ensure that we don't start having fungus in our fake ceiling in the bathroom? Dennis took the glass out so that he may cut out the "hole" for the exhaust fan.

IMG_0242-1.jpg

This is how the installed KDK fan looks like in the bathrooms, before all the power connections are fixed.

IMG_0266.jpg

However hubby does not like the look of it so we are thinking of changing it. What do you think?

hihi...how much u pay for the exhaust fan?

how much did you get the fans?

Dennis bought it for me at $165. It is a contractor's price. So get your ID/contractor to buy it for you. Otherwise, it will be more pricey. In fact, Capital Distributors (official distributors of KDK fans) quoted me $220! Crazy!

can always spray paint :D

I am fine with it actually :) If I paint the bathroom frame white it will not be the same as the rest of the house. And I can't paint the rest of the frames white as its against HDB policy. Its not so crucial for me :)

Yah! She can be very daring! We can be very relax with her so at times she tends to try her luck but we set very clear boundaries with her & tells her straight in her face if she gets out of hand. So far, she tries with sleeping times, acts blur when she spoilt something,yaks on the phone non stop . But otherwise, she is good. She has a good heart (so far) that even the cat bullies her at times.

hihi...how much u pay for the exhaust fan?

I am not sure as Dennis bought it for us. Its around $60 or $70. Why? You wanna buy it off me :)

Edited by fftw

Thats quite an update :)

Love the fans! :) But the piping really spoils everything...

Which piping? The aircon? All the aircon trucking & piping are hidden by capentry or by blending into the wall & painted over. Only the hot water & gas pipes in the kitchen are exposed. Dennis will box it up in white to match with the kitchen tiles. I have seen my neighbours place, who did the same thing, quite good cos you don't see a thing! So I am pretty happy with the end results :) So am ok with the pipes for now.

Its the pipes at the yard that I am peeved about. So no choice but to paint it white.

Apologies for not having much updates. I am pretty hands off with my reno as I trust Dennis completely (so far, at least). He has not disappointed us with his meticulous nature, his honesty & his willingness to put extra brain matter to work out solutions for us when we are unhappy/uncomfortable about something. So far, its mostly pretty minor, like the colour of my bomb shelter (cos I choose the colour Cotton White instead of "normal" white) or the drainage piping in the master bedroom.

As such I do not have any photos to show at this moment. But I know that Dennis is getting the all the lights up by today as I ask the electrician to go home on Saturday since his son has an accident. Dennis is also sourcing another type of exhaust fan as requested by my hubby today. Carpentry should be done by this week or latest Feb 08. I just hope that the laminates we chose for the Living/Dining & Kitchen matches with the walls in our house & the laminates we chose for our wardrobes matches with our doors. Wish me luck!

I will try my best to go to our new home this weekend to take some photos but we are having a garage sale this Saturday to try to sell off our teak table & teak chairs among other things, so a million apologies if there are no photos downloaded this weekend!

Contacts & Considerations - Updated Version 2

In my research prior to getting keys to my place, I complied a list of contacts that the people in this forum and elsewhere uses and also what my contractor cum ID shares with me. So here is the list:-

1. Mirror

Sen Glass Specialist - Good workmanship and reasonable pricing

2. Chengal Wood Decking

Liang Hoe Huat - Look for Joseph Ang

3. Blum

Kiang Sing Hong Hardware Supplies

828 Upper Bukit Timah Road

Tel: 67600365 - Look for Mr Ang. He is very helpful with the various configurations with the best pricing.

4. Digital Lock

Desmond - 98307788. He offers the most competitive pricing.

5. Light Switches - All along Veerasamy Road

Feng Sheng Electrical - Blk 633 #01-108 along Veerasamy Road. Sells ABB Brand for HDB type. Reasonable price.

Choo Chiang - www.ccm.sg Sells Clipsal & Legrand at good pricing

DK Lighting - Good pricing

6. Undermount Sinks

Bellari - Cheap and good. They "copy" the designs of Franke, Teka, etc.

7. Powerpoint Consideration

7.1 Kitchen should have avg of 10 switches. E.g Hot Pot + Rice Cooker/Toaster + Oven + Fridge + Dishwasher + Steam oven + Cooker Hood & Hod + Mixer/Baby Monitor.

7.2 Utility should have avg 3 switches. E.g Washing Machine + Dryer + Iron.

7.3 Bathrooms should have 1 for Hair Dryer or shaver.

7.4 Bedrooms should have avg of 6 switches. E.g Hair Dryer + Television + DVD/VCD + Table Lamp + Mossie + Extra

8. Wall paper

Apart from Goodrich you can try Europa Wall coverings - www.europawalls.com

48 Toh Guan Road East #01-103

Though not as much selection as Goodrich, the prices are more pocket friendly. Labor cost is $300 and per roll of wall paper is avg $120.

9. Extra Information there don't tell you.

9.1 ABS trimming is usually 2mm but you can ask for 1mm. It makes your carpentry more refine and classy.

9.2 Height of lower cabinets should be 850mm for Asians.

9.3 Make sure you ask your contractor to install your sink -ve reveal if you are not buying an undermount sink but wish to get an undermount look.

9.4 Stain steel backing thickness should be 0.9mm not more or less.

9.5 Depth of countertop should be 600mm so you may use 500mm runners if you are purchasing Blum drawers.

9.6 Ask your contractor to position your sink and hob as front as possible.

10. White Glossy Laminates - achieve smooth flat finish

To prevent as much as possible the occurance of a "wavy" look aka to achieve a smooth flat finish, ensure that the laminates are 1.8mm thick.

11. Cleaning agents

White Glossy Laminates + White Grout - Use Melamine Sponge from Daiso

White Countertop - 3M Stainless Steel Spray Cleaner for Regular Cleaning. For maintanence, use Pledge fortnightly. The "wax" provides an extra protection to the countertops.

If you kena scratches on your white countertop, use Autosol. For Chrome items use Brasso.

12. Chairs - All types

Comfort Design Building at 110 Eunos Ave 7 Tel: 67474809

They "copy" heaps of designer chairs but sells them at a quarter of the price. If you don't believe, go shop till you drop but don't buy anything till you check out this store :)

13. Carpets

Jackson Carpet

29 Tai Seng Street Tel: 6756 6666

Reasonable price. E.g. 2.3m x 1.6m @$80