fftw

The Pinnacle @ Duxton - S2

Aircon - How to Hide the &%$#* Pipes

As most of you know, The Pinnacle@Duxton folks are very lucky, we manage to get Bulk Purchases prices from Gain City for several big ticket items. If you have read my blog, you will also know that DESPITE the so-called Bulk Purchase prices offered by Gain City, I still bought almost all of my electronics from Harvey Norman BECAUSE, HV price is comparable than Gain City (i.e. Gain City so-called Bulk Purchase price is really Bulk Purchase price lor!), the sales guy was extremely nice and friendly but the most important thing was that I can pay by INTEREST FREE INSTALMENT PLAN. Very important for us folks who are on a budget :)

Unfortunately, HV does not have the aircon I will like to buy :( SO Gain City, it is... And in any case, Gain City is the place to go to find out more about aircons as the salespeople there are EXTREMELY knowledgeable about aircons. Hubby is in charge of this area as he is very particular about the trucking, piping, the external appearance, etc... So off to Gain City we went to seek some knowledge :)

After spending more than an hour there, discussing nothing but aircon looks, BTUs, Armflex, copper pipes, too damm many technical things, zz , we finally decided the best value for money is Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Inverter System 3. Now many wonder what is the difference between Mitsubishi Heavy Industries and Mitsubishi Electric. My answer to them is same difference. Let me explain.

I used to live in Japan for a year studying and travel there on a weekly basis in my 2nd job, in Japan where Mitsubishi hails, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries and Mitsubishi Electric is the same company. The parts are the same, the R&D are the same but the factory where the aircon is made is different. Mitsubishi Heavy Industries just entered the market for less than 2 years, their prices are lower than Mitsubishi Electric as they do not spent much on advertsing and R&D. Mitsubishi Electric was the name used by Mitsubish as their foray into the external markets aka markets outside of Japan. Its just recently that Mitsubishi Electric has stock, why? Cos the factory was facing problems with the parts and quality so the plant was "closed" to investigate the problem. Now the factory is back in operation. But I digress... Anyway, hubby & I decided to purchase Mitsubishi Heavy Industries cost the price is competitive. Next to our contractor we went to inform him the good news.

When Dennis heard Gain City, he went "Orh..." Gain City is good cos its cheap prices but they also got problem with their trucking. They don't do nice, nice for you. Just anyhow drill hole. As long as easy, can already. But nevermind, if you are there (pointing to my 6 foot big sixed Aussie husband), they won't anyhow do. You must tell them how you want to do it.' Hubby got a little sian already cos he must coordinate this and that. So we ask Dennis how, got other solutions that will require us to be less involved. Maybe Dennis can instructe the guy for us?!? He is not comfortable cos he feels that he is just a contractor, so the Gain City guys may see him no up. Dennis then proceed to give us an aircon company that he deals with and ask us to call him for prices. Dennis does alot of work with them and knows their style so its easier to coordinate and discuss.

So off I went to make the call. Dennis's contact prices are slightly more expensive, I tried to bargain. Gain City price to me was $2486 so I told the aircon guy that if he gives me $2500 9no GST), I will give him the job. He called me only about 30 mins later and say ok. Yippee!!!!

Will blog tomorrow about my stress free and wonderful experiences with this aircon dude and also some photos to show his handiwork. The photos will show you what a great work they did for us that almost all of my pipes and trucking are hidden behind carpentry. Only a thin pipe is visible in the bathroom for drainage :)

yep...nice things are always hard to maintain..oh, i've engaged a contractor, but cannot start work :(

OIC, is it because you are starting only after CNY? Better, no rush :) That means your renovation will be stress free like mine :)

Edited by fftw

you should hide the drainage pipe too (i did it :D)

Yah, I agree. We told Dennis already about it. He says will think about how to do it nicely and get back to us :)

Aerogaz Hood + Hod

I decided to go for a 600mm size Hood + Hod instead of the usual 800mm to 900mm size. Our kitchen is not the biggest and if I got for such a large size hood + hod, it will just look really weird. Moreover, my hood + hod is next to my dining table, so nice and petite is the look. I also bght a steam oven, so the preference is to cook using the steam oven rather than stir frying or deep frying :)

Let me know what you think...

Hood

AerogazHood.gif

Hob

AerogazHod.jpg

Where to Put the Bidet Spray

I am Peranakan, so definitely need a bidet spray in the bathrooms. But got headach already cos my toilet is those wall hung type and the *&^% HDB conceal everything. Here's the pic

PD15.jpg

Ask Dennis, how? What should I do? Plumber said that its too difficult to do the soldering from within the canister. If I insist on a bidet spray, he will have to cut a hold in my bathroom tile and get it down. Huh? Cut a hold in my toilet tiles?!? Dennis says "Don't worry." He will ensure the plumber does a properly job. The worst case situation is that he replace the bathroom tile for me. He will make sure its "Swee, Swee" for us. Mmm... we see how ok... I am a little worried.

OIC, is it because you are starting only after CNY? Better, no rush :) That means your renovation will be stress free like mine :)

yep, reno will start after cny...hopefully everything will go smoothly :)

Aircon - How to Hide the &%$#* Pipes

As most of you know, The Pinnacle@Duxton folks are very lucky, we manage to get Bulk Purchases prices from Gain City for several big ticket items. If you have read my blog, you will also know that DESPITE the so-called Bulk Purchase prices offered by Gain City, I still bought almost all of my electronics from Harvey Norman BECAUSE, HV price is comparable than Gain City (i.e. Gain City so-called Bulk Purchase price is really Bulk Purchase price lor!), the sales guy was extremely nice and friendly but the most important thing was that I can pay by INTEREST FREE INSTALMENT PLAN. Very important for us folks who are on a budget :)

ooo...alot of P@D residents bot aircon from GC...is it really a gd offer??? i think i might get from natural cool, seems that there's no complains abt them in renotalk :)

Sinks - What a Big Headache

No matter how much you do your research, how many magazines you look through, everyone will have at least one thorn in their side during renovations. In our previous home, it was lights. My hubby is very particular about the look of the lights and how it bounces off the wall, yet he does not want a false ceiling even though we bought a private condo then. Oh what great misery it was for us! We when to so many places to look at lights that I almost cried out in pain everything I go near a light shop. We got so desperate that we went to back alleys, Lorgans the Retro shop, expensive high end shops, but still naught. Sigh, in the end, we back to Australia (mu husband is Aussie) and found the lights we aka he like. We lug it back from Australia to Singapore with great drama and $$. Luckily we are in Business Class, so we have extra baggage allowance and they also treated us real nice with our precious glass lights.

With this new home, I made my husband swear that we will either go for a light box or cove lighting (no false ceiling since the ceiling is so low already). Thank goodness for this decision. Lights discussion was settled in 2 hours (cove lighting throughout the house also must talk for 2 hours, so you now know how particular my hubby is toward all things eesthetics) and within 1 shop. Yippee!!!

Unfortunately... now its those bloody sinks! We took 5 days to agreed on a kitchen sink! Since we are placing a dish washer under the kitchen sink, it can't be too deep or large as space is limited under the window. My hubby also wants a drainage area to dry dishes, I hate that look! I want an undermount sink with no drainage area at all. Bellari has really nice ones :rolleyes: But hubby refuse cos no drainage. My argument is that we have a dish washer, why do you need a rack for draining dishes?!? But then, he is the President, I am only the VP...

Eventually, after 5 full days of searching the internet, we found a Rubine kitchen that is large and deep enough for me YET has a drainage space for my hubby wishes. The good thing about this drainage space is that its half the width of a usual sink drainage space :) So 1 down, 2 to go.

All the residents of P@D will certify that the bathrooms are not the most spacious. We need a sink that is not too wide in length to fit the common bathroom and not too deep in width to fit the main bathroom AND they MUST look alike! Again hubby's idea. He want symmetry! We have gone to Poh Joo, San Sei, Sim Siang Choo, Ikea, Royal Franco,Universal Union,Bellari,Lookz, Heritage, Taps, Hansgrohe, Grohe, Hemsley to name a few.

If anyone can offer any other places, PLEASE advise me! I am getting really desperate :bangwall: that I am thinking of buying the $300 sink from Ikea and asking Dennis to cut it to our size!

Edited by fftw

When Dennis heard Gain City, he went "Orh..." Gain City is good cos its cheap prices but they also got problem with their trucking. They don't do nice, nice for you. Just anyhow drill hole. As long as easy, can already. But nevermind, if you are there (pointing to my 6 foot big sixed Aussie husband), they won't anyhow do. You must tell them how you want to do it.' Hubby got a little sian already cos he must coordinate this and that. So we ask Dennis how, got other solutions that will require us to be less involved. Maybe Dennis can instructe the guy for us?!? He is not comfortable cos he feels that he is just a contractor, so the Gain City guys may see him no up. Dennis then proceed to give us an aircon company that he deals with and ask us to call him for prices. Dennis does alot of work with them and knows their style so its easier to coordinate and discuss.

I got my aircon from Gain City. The thing about them is that they dont normally do site survey first. So, they just come down on the day of installation to install. Any discussion is done on the spot.

What I did was to insist that they send someone to do site survey with my contractor and discuss trunking options. In that way, my contractor will conceal as much trunking as possible. Unfortunately for me, there are still trunking that are exposed. Will live with it by using curtains, false ceilings and painting over.

As for the holes, I was onsite on the day of installation to ensure no one screws up. My contractor was there too. After they punch a hole and put in the trunking, they sealed up any holes that can be seen. My contractor's guys also level up the wall around the holes using cement. After painting, it should be fine.

i got my hansgrohe rain air shower at about $125 :D look out for their sales promotion, usually 25-30% discount off listed price.

lg-raindance-e-100-air-1-jet-porter-d-sh

Hi hi

You might want to try out this shop @ 566 Balestier Road (Home & Bathroom). They are authorized dealer for Hansgrohe and they give pretty decent discount too :)

Sinks - What a Big Headache

No matter how much you do your research, how many magazines you look through, everyone will have at least one thorn in their side during renovations. In our previous home, it was lights. My hubby is very particular about the look of the lights and how it bounces off the wall, yet he does not want a false ceiling even though we bought a private condo then. Oh what great misery it was for us! We when to so many places to look at lights that I almost cried out in pain everything I go near a light shop. We got so desperate that we went to back alleys, Lorgans the Retro shop, expensive high end shops, but still naught. Sigh, in the end, we back to Australia (mu husband is Aussie) and found the lights we aka he like. We lug it back from Australia to Singapore with great drama and $$. Luckily we are in Business Class, so we have extra baggage allowance and they also treated us real nice with our precious glass lights.

With this new home, I made my husband swear that we will either go for a light box or cove lighting (no false ceiling since the ceiling is so low already). Thank goodness for this decision. Lights discussion was settled in 2 hours (cove lighting throughout the house also must talk for 2 hours, so you now know how particular my hubby is toward all things eesthetics) and within 1 shop. Yippee!!!

Unfortunately... now its those bloody sinks! We took 5 days to agreed on a kitchen sink! Since we are placing a dish washer under the kitchen sink, it can't be too deep or large as space is limited under the window. My hubby also wants a drainage area to dry dishes, I hate that look! I want an undermount sink with no drainage area at all. Bellari has really nice ones :rolleyes: But hubby refuse cos no drainage. My argument is that we have a dish washer, why do you need a rack for draining dishes?!? But then, he is the President, I am only the VP...

Eventually, after 5 full days of searching the internet, we found a Rubine kitchen that is large and deep enough for me YET has a drainage space for my hubby wishes. The good thing about this drainage space is that its half the width of a usual sink drainage space :) So 1 down, 2 to go.

All the residents of P@D will certify that the bathrooms are not the most spacious. We need a sink that is not too wide in length to fit the common bathroom and not too deep in width to fit the main bathroom AND they MUST look alike! Again hubby's idea. He want symmetry! We have gone to Poh Joo, San Sei, Sim Siang Choo, Ikea, Royal Franco,Universal Union,Bellari,Lookz, Heritage, Taps, Hansgrohe, Grohe, Hemsley to name a few.

If anyone can offer any other places, PLEASE advise me! I am getting really desperate :bangwall: that I am thinking of buying the $300 sink from Ikea and asking Dennis to cut it to our size!

wow you're a more diehard ikea fan than me :D

Laminates from Lamitak

I will be using White Glossy Laminates for my Living/Dining & Kitchen. As for the the Bedrooms & Bathrooms, I will select a laminate to match the doors. The colour of the doors are similar to Dark Brown - Wenga.

The problem with white glossy laminates is that it tends to produce a wavy effect when you shine a direct light source on it. When I spoke to Dennis about it, he informed me that no matter how you do it, it will have a slight wavy effect. The important thing is that the laminate must be thick to reduce the effect.

Finally when the carpenter came to my place to discuss the design of all the capentry in our new home, I ask him about it the wavy effect of the white glossy cabinets. The carpenter says no matter how & what you do, there will be a wavy effect, so better not choose glossy. Then there was a discussion among the three of us about what Dennis said, Dennis experiences, the carpenter experiences, etc. After much discussion, both the carpenter & Dennis agreed that a thick laminate will reduce the chances that the cabinets will create a wavy effect. So Dennis ask the carpenter to use laminates that are 1.8mm in thickness instead of the usual 1mm in thickness. Carpenter ask about the cost and Dennis says the increase is minimum. So its settled! :) I am getting a thicker laminate :D

Btw, all laminates are the same. The difference is the thickness of the laminate. Majority of the laminates in the market is 1mm. The samples in the book are also 1mm. 1mm is more than sufficient for majority of the laminates except when it comes to glossy laminates. Most of the time, contractors will not advise you on such things as it means more cost for them. However, if you hired a decent contractor cum ID like I did, he will "fight" for you and ask the capenter to give 1.8mm glossy with no change in prices.

Hi fftw,

my ID has replied me that all his laminate suppliers do not have 1.8 mm laminates and even the 1mm types are available only in certain colours. So I will be using 0.8mm laminate. By the way he also says that 1.8mm laminates will have more obvious joint lines which may affect the overall apperance of the cabinets.