Angel81 1 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Thanks!!! yeah its a ground floor EM. initially we are looking for top floor corner unit but dun have... so hubby say since cant get top floor den get first floor... **like fake ang mo chu** The window and grills are in good condition just dat hubby dun like the color and design. We might change to those horizontal aluminum grills.. We got ppl intro marble floor with parquet skirting.. but i find marble skirting nicer but hb likes it another way.. -.-" Haha icic, no wonder u guys wana change the grills. Same like born_again, I also feel that u should consider wrough iron grills, since u're at the first floor. It's safer. Haha, so in the end, which skirting will u be getting? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkydot 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Hi Blues-Bleu, Congrats! We r stay around the same around, Yishun & we hv the same layout! So r u gonna do an overhaul for ur unit? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wennykoh 2 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Hi blues_bleu Welcome. I got the same EM layout as yours. My EM also needed a major over haul and most IDs quoted $70k but we sort of got trick into engaging this current ID that overall quotation came out to be $40k but many hidden cost started to show up after we signed on the dotted line and paid the deposit. Have a smooth reno journey. P/S: If you need contractor to do false ceiling, partion wall and electrical work, I'm happy to recommend my contractor to you. The price quoted are 30% below ID quotation. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blues_bleu 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Haha icic, no wonder u guys wana change the grills. Same like born_again, I also feel that u should consider wrough iron grills, since u're at the first floor. It's safer. Haha, so in the end, which skirting will u be getting? Hello!!! As for the grills we have not decide yet. Still looking ard..... Any recommendation? As for the skirting I think we are going for the marble n marble.. Classic type..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blues_bleu 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Hi Blues-Bleu, Congrats! We r stay around the same around, Yishun & we hv the same layout! So r u gonna do an overhaul for ur unit? hoho... Yeah we did an overhual for the whole unit... Only the stairs parquet remain.... Which part u of yishun u at? Mine is ring rd..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Hello!!! As for the grills we have not decide yet. Still looking ard..... Any recommendation? As for the skirting I think we are going for the marble n marble.. Classic type..... Hee~ I think those modern looking wrough iron grills should look great. If u like those horizontal alum grills, maybe can get the same design in wrough iron? By the way, any themes for ur reno? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 welcome welcome another EM owner actually i like the kitchen flooring leh kinda unique hahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
westsider1982 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 actually me and Rachel like this floor sia . If we will u , most likely I will keep it . Ha i hate the chest floorings. the black and white makes me feel so sick. but i think overlay should be able. cause i heard from some ids hacking will bring up nthe cost very high. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 i hate the chest floorings. the black and white makes me feel so sick. but i think overlay should be able. cause i heard from some ids hacking will bring up nthe cost very high. Such black and white tiles layout not for everyone. I think I saw it in a new renovated apartment in one of the recent home and decor if i am not wrong. It is a character thingy also. Just like when we go for tile selections, most of us will choose the normal or standard designs. Some designs are too strong to be accepted by many. . Hacking will bring up the cost for sure but there are pros and cons to each way of doing. For overlay, it will shorten the height between ceiling and flooring. Old tiles tend to 'pop' out after some times. So, if the old tile 'pop' out in the future, the new tiles will be affected. But of cos, it is cheaper to overlay. And u don't have to worry for waterproofing issue since u didn't hack away the old tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Haha, can imagine the black and white floor tiles with red vinyl chairs and shiny tables. Rock & roll songs playing in the background. Very retro. But agree that it's a unique taste. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blues_bleu 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Hee~ I think those modern looking wrough iron grills should look great. If u like those horizontal alum grills, maybe can get the same design in wrough iron? By the way, any themes for ur reno? angel our themes is minimalist ... hb says less is more... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blues_bleu 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Hi blues_bleu Welcome. I got the same EM layout as yours. My EM also needed a major over haul and most IDs quoted $70k but we sort of got trick into engaging this current ID that overall quotation came out to be $40k but many hidden cost started to show up after we signed on the dotted line and paid the deposit. Have a smooth reno journey. P/S: If you need contractor to do false ceiling, partion wall and electrical work, I'm happy to recommend my contractor to you. The price quoted are 30% below ID quotation. Hey wendy. 20% of 70K is 14K u mean do all the tiling? got include the tiles or u supply urself? my first ID asked for 10% so its 7K my hacking is 5K remaining 2K they help us get the alumix so no loss... have to fully utilize the money and oso make sure they dun anyhow do cause they knoe after this no more $$ to earn from you liao... as for electric... today the men come remove all the wires.. the re-run of all the wire dat my hb requested he charge total 4K but the socket switch we will have to buy ourself.. Hope u have a smooth reno too!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blues_bleu 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 seems like alot ppl here likes the black and white thingie... but maybe not for me la..... i think my blog consider quite boring la.. not much pic yet, unless u all wanna see those cement and sand..... tml they will be doing the plastering and the flooring. so i guess it will take another 1weeks den the carpentry?? i oso dunno... this contractor sometime oso last minute de... but so long i can shift in by new year can liao.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted December 29, 2009 (edited) angel our themes is minimalist ... hb says less is more... haha! true true, and the lesser u have, the lesser stuff u need to clean in future. Hee, if minimalist, can consider simple horizontal wrough iron bars for the windows loh. Simple, nice and most impt, safe. Edited December 29, 2009 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CJREDDEVIL 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2009 Hello welcome Blues... Going for a major reno huh ! Congrates & all the best! Cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites