oinkoink1999 0 Report post Posted January 26, 2010 Let me find out your preference. You said "I seldom play DVDs or Audio CDs". Then why would you want to get a soundbar for? MaybeI could suggest you could get a simple 2.1 or 3.1 system (Front L&R + center + sub) or (Front L&R + sub) 8 bit, 16bit & 24bit is only u have a good CD player & yes, the sound is quite distinct. How about Elac speakers? Or Monitor Audio? Very good 2.1/3.1. Really, for that money you intend to spend on soundbar, I rather advice you to get my suggested set up. And yes, if there's no need for rear speakers, one can do without. Cheers erm..seldom doesn't mean never...i mean occasionally I may still watch DVDs.. Main intention is to have a neat TV console as I intend to hang the LCD TV and soundbar on the wall. BTW, how much is the elac speakers and monitor audio you mentioned? Any reference site that you can show me? I'm not into audiophile so not very familiar with audio stuffs... Thanks vicenzo Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vicenzo70 0 Report post Posted January 26, 2010 erm..seldom doesn't mean never...i mean occasionally I may still watch DVDs.. Main intention is to have a neat TV console as I intend to hang the LCD TV and soundbar on the wall. BTW, how much is the elac speakers and monitor audio you mentioned? Any reference site that you can show me? I'm not into audiophile so not very familiar with audio stuffs... Thanks vicenzo Monitor Audio http://www.monitoraudio.co.uk/products/gold-gs Elac I wont recommend unless you have $4-$5K to burn for a pair of speakers. Btw, do u have a budget? I could advice better with a given budget. Kindly dont use the phrase "as low as possible" hor Thks & cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
oinkoink1999 0 Report post Posted January 26, 2010 Monitor Audio http://www.monitoraudio.co.uk/products/gold-gs Elac I wont recommend unless you have $4-$5K to burn for a pair of speakers. Btw, do u have a budget? I could advice better with a given budget. Kindly dont use the phrase "as low as possible" hor Thks & cheers alamak...u mentioned soundbar not cheap but recommend me $4k elac and monitor audio from UK huh? My budget is only 1.6k to 2k (Philips HTS8160 ) though may consider yamaha YSP-4100 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reuters 0 Report post Posted January 26, 2010 i am also looking at getting 2 soundbars for my bedroom and study room.. seems like philips and yamaha are the 2 most popular brands around.. but since i'm spending on a HT system in the living room, might have limited budget for the soundbars.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
oinkoink1999 0 Report post Posted January 27, 2010 i am also looking at getting 2 soundbars for my bedroom and study room.. seems like philips and yamaha are the 2 most popular brands around.. but since i'm spending on a HT system in the living room, might have limited budget for the soundbars.. Which HT system are you considering and what is your budget? The price range for HT systems is very wide I suppose...the latst Yamaha YSP-4100 is very chio but super expensive and it does not come with DVD player Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reuters 0 Report post Posted January 30, 2010 Which HT system are you considering and what is your budget? The price range for HT systems is very wide I suppose...the latst Yamaha YSP-4100 is very chio but super expensive and it does not come with DVD player i guess my budget will be small after getting the better HT system for the living room.. i was looking at getting the budget philips one for the my bedroom and study room.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
speedygonz 0 Report post Posted February 7, 2010 How about the LG HLB54S? It seems to be feature packed for a soundbar - Bluray, wireless subwoofer, DLNA, YouTube, dual HDMI input, etc. Only problem I see is that it's too fat to be wall mounted. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reuters 0 Report post Posted February 8, 2010 How about the LG HLB54S? It seems to be feature packed for a soundbar - Bluray, wireless subwoofer, DLNA, YouTube, dual HDMI input, etc. Only problem I see is that it's too fat to be wall mounted. thanks for the recommendation.. i was looking at soundbars which does not have DVD/blu-ray player as i have PS3.. but the dual HDMI input will be very good.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tower 0 Report post Posted February 18, 2010 I am using the Philips HTS-6100 and has no problems. Switched to Dolby surround mode and played a Kenny G music CD. The sound effect seems like being played from a concert hall. It's also good for watching action movies with the surround sound moving from left to right. Bought from Courts Megastore at $849. Cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vicenzo70 0 Report post Posted February 19, 2010 I am using the Philips HTS-6100 and has no problems. Switched to Dolby surround mode and played a Kenny G music CD. The sound effect seems like being played from a concert hall. It's also good for watching action movies with the surround sound moving from left to right. Bought from Courts Megastore at $849. Cheers! Individual preferences but for optimum CD music listening, its better to be on stereo. (2 speakers) What about back surround sound? Sorry, im still confused until today as to how a soundbar can replicate a proper back speaker sound output. Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
siron 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 How about the LG HLB54S? It seems to be feature packed for a soundbar - Bluray, wireless subwoofer, DLNA, YouTube, dual HDMI input, etc. Only problem I see is that it's too fat to be wall mounted. This is the one I bought.... Hope its all good Yet to fix it up!! Anyone else? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
arsenal 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 yamaha 1 yr local warrenty n philips 2 yrs international warrenty Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reuters 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2010 i was looking at either Philips HTS3388 or HSB2313/12 which has 2 HDMI inputs.. at least i can connect my media player/ps3 and set-top box to it.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
benlauhh 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2010 I was looking to get a Polk Audio 50 soundbar but figured too much risk involved on getting it online even though its cheap. Am now betting my hopes on the YSP50 for my living room. Many audiophiles will say that this is a waste of money but i guess it depends on indivdual preference. It is true that the soundbar can never replicate a real 5.1 setup but i wanted an all-in-one because of its simplicity and lack of wiring. It is also wife-friendly. Now am just waiting for sale to get it. Currently priced around $3K+. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
haneymum 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2010 This is the one I bought.... Hope its all good Yet to fix it up!! Anyone else? hi there... wats the price of the soundbar.. and where did u get it from?? thks... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites