Sue79 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 post the tiles u selected and also the carpentry lamination! So u gonna extend your kitchen!? Alamak!! Tiles selected liao but they in the husband's car, the samples I mean...Nuthing so interesting leh...I see all oso like very common liao...so nuthing very fantastic... Kitchen yeah lor..have to...dat's the most headache I have since we signed the OTP...But wat to do...since no COV is needed then and unit is sold at below valuation, we juz go ahead lor with the purchase. Money for COV can be used for reno instead..thats what we thought at least ah...the only consolation for us...coz the unit is really bare lor and really needs alot to be done.. I will post pics soon... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sue79 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 Pics of the vacant unit before reno commences.... Living Entrance. On the left is the kitchen. Juz a tiny square if you notice. Living Entrance with bomb shelter on the right... Living & Balcony... Pathetic state of the Kitchen...Got what I mean?... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sue79 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 More Pics... Passageway in MBR... Internal MBR... MBR Bathroom... Room 1 (For dining)... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sue79 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 (edited) Last Batch... Room 2... Passageway in Room 3... Room 3 (Study room converted to bedroom for single person)... Edited December 17, 2009 by Sue79 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 Hi sue! Welcome to rt! Finally set up yr blog. Have been waiting... Wat a coincidence! I bump into yeak today at book fest. Also told me not accepting jobs till after cny. Hope to see yr sui sui home! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
macbart 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 Pics of the vacant unit before reno commences.... Hi Sue, welcome to RT. I've gotta say the pre-reno state of your place seems a whole lot better than many of the others I've seen here, including mine. Here's to a smooth transformation of your new home from what it is now to what you want it to be. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
annjoy 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 Welcome Sue!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sue79 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 Hi sue! Welcome to rt! Finally set up yr blog. Have been waiting... Wat a coincidence! I bump into yeak today at book fest. Also told me not accepting jobs till after cny. Hope to see yr sui sui home! HeLLooooo...Yeah lah...I procastinated long enuff in setting up this blog...But since yesterday start reno liao...think mite as well start it together..else, I will miss to rekindle the 'great & fun moments' of running around during the pre-reno stage. At least with this blog...5 years down the road, I'll be able to scroll down this thread & rekindle the fun & joy instances of renovating my own nest. Besides, I also hope to learn from you guys....SIFUs...so pro in reno liao... Oh you met Yeak today??...Yeah lor he so busy lately. I think mine is the last few or probably the last he's taking for this year....Any idea who is the owner of a unit in Yishun, Blk 20X whose unit is currently done by Yeak also??...Well, dunno if he's a RTalker anot ah in the 1st place... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sue79 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 Hi Sue, welcome to RT. I've gotta say the pre-reno state of your place seems a whole lot better than many of the others I've seen here, including mine. Here's to a smooth transformation of your new home from what it is now to what you want it to be. Thanks macbart!!Actually the unit is a D&B one...so the previous owner has lived with whatever has been provided by HDB for the past 6 years or so. In short nothing much has been done to the unit except for the low cabinets in the kitchen & the platform with laminates in the MBR and everything else looked pretty worn out though it looked clean.. Actually we were contemplating to do a major overhaul or maybe just some minor renovations...but after some thoughts, we decided to go for a major overhaul. To cater exactly to our needs and since there is no intention to move out after this, so mite as well do everything at one go now before we move in. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sue79 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 Scene on Day 1 of Reno...Pics taken yesterday... Living Entrance Aftermath... Unsure why its halved liked this...but find it pretty neat though... Kitchen Aftermath... Common Bathroom... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sue79 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 There goes the laminates in MBR...Only the platform remains... Walk-in wardrobe gone = More spacious MBR For once I'm happy with destructions... Thats all for Day 1...Guess hacking shall continue till tomorrow & debris removal on Saturday...so no more updates till probably next week... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 could it be tulips?!I am not sure her block number,but she will be holiding a gathering on 27th dec,for all RT forumer who are interested to go Your kitchen looks good lei,if i were u,i wont reno the kitchen le. Also the window looks good,don need to change too. And u have a platform in the bedroom!so nice! The flooring condition looks 8/10! So sad u gonna tear all of them down! tulips' house already finished la....don't think its her.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
macbart 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 Thanks macbart!!Actually the unit is a D&B one...so the previous owner has lived with whatever has been provided by HDB for the past 6 years or so. In short nothing much has been done to the unit except for the low cabinets in the kitchen & the platform with laminates in the MBR and everything else looked pretty worn out though it looked clean.. Actually we were contemplating to do a major overhaul or maybe just some minor renovations...but after some thoughts, we decided to go for a major overhaul. To cater exactly to our needs and since there is no intention to move out after this, so mite as well do everything at one go now before we move in. My wife's comment when I showed her the pix you posted was, "Design & build? Why did HDB use such horrible tiles and fixtures in the bathroom?" It's good that you get exactly what you want, especially since you're planning on staying there long term. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2009 wow!your sig can really keep track of Yeak customer!hahaha... So according to the sequence,next one to be completed should be felixp ah? should be....takesion's done...upnorth think also should be done lei....hehehe....so funny yesterday when i bump into Yeak...ask him a couple of things about my house, ...he kept telling me try his method, if doesn't work, call him, he'll rectify for me..... mention about my sis, he also told me sure help me...now i pai sei...they not very confirm want him to do....but i really want them to at least let Yeak do the wet works, electricals...still thinks Yeak tiling is the best.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sue79 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2009 could it be tulips?!I am not sure her block number,but she will be holiding a gathering on 27th dec,for all RT forumer who are interested to go Your kitchen looks good lei,if i were u,i wont reno the kitchen le. Also the window looks good,don need to change too. And u have a platform in the bedroom!so nice! The flooring condition looks 8/10! So sad u gonna tear all of them down! 27th Dec??...I got so many invitations liao...its X'mas season bah & my cousin is having her wedding on dat day...dun think can go oso... Oii....where got good the kitchen??..So small & then only got low cabinets. Not enuff for me ar... The windows are good. I won't be changing them mah...only need to install grilles coz I got 2 trojans bah!!...Need grilles...Only the balcony need to install windows & grilles. The rest juz grilles only. Flooring quite bad hor. U deceived by the photos liao... ..Alignment all crooked and uneven...then the grouts some fat some thin...ugly leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites