thirdrockdweller

Project Home

All items bought from Home & Bathroom Building Product Pte Ltd (Balestier Road). Paid $1588 for everything. The pieces come in various packages. Go check out their package deals now. We managed to get further discount on our purchases :D

very nice fittings, same goes to the price... :)

Ohhh the raindance shower head!! I just used it at the hotel in HK! Very shiok. Unlike the one in my house. :P

Check out Grohe's new hand shower;

RainshowerIconColours.jpg

Its ridiculous....ly beautiful!!! :wub:

Edited by thirdrockdweller

50k COV? What?! I can only sigh :~

We are on a fairly low floor. An initial factor that was a deal breaker for us but after many viewings of low level units, we warmed up to the idea of being closer to the carpark which may prove convenient when we eventually (or soon, keeping our fingers crossed) have a child. We especially liked those blocks that have direct links to the carparks on the first 3-4 floors. Very convenient.

Our ID is I.D.+A at The Alexcier.

We have a pretty solid grasp on what we are going for thematic wise. Very minimalist approach (aka "save money" approach). Basically, structural renovation. Hacking of walls, re-flooring, re-wiring / LAN cabling / doors. No fabrication of cabinets except the kitchen as we prefer to buy "stand alone" furnitures. As our ID put it, give him a "shell" and he'll return a "shell" to us, albeit a nicer looking shell with prettier floor and paint job :D .

I'll elaborate more on this when the wife and I have worked out the major kinks. We'll leave the refinement to the professionals ;)

Hey 3rdRock, welcome to my block! yes 652... does your living room faces punggol central road?

Hey amrasenelya... I think I didn't answer your post previously, mine is at 652 and should be using the same carpark too!

Was busy with my reno and purchases... overwhelming...

3rdRock... stay cool... don't rush into things because there will be sales after sales... from my experience so far =)

My reno is underway and so far so good... all hacking done, electrical wiring up, switches all changed, kitchen tiles done... all done within 2 days! I am still looking forward to take my keys by X'mas! Crazy as it seems... possible with proper planning... I doesn't have ID I have a contractor... I and my WTB are the ID and we went from places to places to see, to buy, walking up and down balestier, geyland, jalan besar, imm, changi, ubi, sungei kaduk...

Till then...

Sanitary ware bought so far;

Hansgrohe Mixers

hansgrohemixers.jpg

Allegra Variarc (Kitchen) / 2x Focus E2 Basin / Focus E2 Shower / Focus E2 Bath

hey 3rdrock!

wah i loveee your purchases leh! :dribble:

was also looking at those way before we calculated reno budget... haha..

Hey 3rdRock, welcome to my block! yes 652... does your living room faces punggol central road?

Hey amrasenelya... I think I didn't answer your post previously, mine is at 652 and should be using the same carpark too!

hey nolit.. wah u 2 might be next door neighbours? will u be ard tis sat? can we go see see ? :) we'll be there ard noon.. who's ur contractor eh? finally u updated ur signature.. hehe.. we also walked many places like sungei kadut, balestier,jalan besar many many times to source.. and we're also our own designer.. heh..

3rdRock... stay cool... don't rush into things because there will be sales after sales... from my experience so far =)

My reno is underway and so far so good... all hacking done, electrical wiring up, switches all changed, kitchen tiles done... all done within 2 days! I am still looking forward to take my keys by X'mas! Crazy as it seems... possible with proper planning... I doesn't have ID I have a contractor... I and my WTB are the ID and we went from places to places to see, to buy, walking up and down balestier, geyland, jalan besar, imm, changi, ubi, sungei kaduk...

Till then...

Greetings! Wow, fantastic. Got to know my neighbours already :D .

Can't really remember where our living room faces. Only been to the place twice. Will be there this sunday though for an inspection/measurement taking.

Quite a few of us renovating around the same time eh? Hehe, i hope the other residents don't get too upset :rolleyes:

Yes, we're trying our very best to go slow with the purchases. Just excited I guess. New home. Can't wait to fill it up with creature comforts.

Looks like you have completed quite a bit of your renovation, would really love to see the process/progress. Start a t-blog :D .

Best of luck on getting your place ready by Christmas, neighbour.

hey 3rdrock!

wah i loveee your purchases leh! :dribble:

was also looking at those way before we calculated reno budget... haha..

Actually, we're also working with a strict budget. But we figured since this will be our home for a long time why not surround ourselves with things that make us happy. So we decided to really splurge on certain things and skimp on others. That's why we're keeping our woodworks to a minimum. I think its possible, with a little planning, to successfully blend expensive and inexpensive solutions. Would love to share the final tally later on if we meet our projected budget to prove that renovation need not cost several arms and legs. Keeping our fingers tightly crossed :unsure: .

hey nolit.. wah u 2 might be next door neighbours? will u be ard tis sat? can we go see see ? :) we'll be there ard noon.. who's ur contractor eh? finally u updated ur signature.. hehe.. we also walked many places like sungei kadut, balestier,jalan besar many many times to source.. and we're also our own designer.. heh..

Yes, do invite my wife and I too for a "tour". Hehe ;) . Kidding, really.

The MBR bathroom basin we've bought; (That's not our bathroom of course. Its from another blog.)

HOLLVIKENbasin2.jpg

Its IKEA's HOLLVIKEN. We were looking for something with generous dimensions and this fits the requirement perfectly. Aesthetically, we are very pleased. It looks like a farmhouse sink.

The basin measures 80cmx55cm. Hopes this remedies the effects of my careless splashing :D .

New addition to the kitchen collection;

Oven acquired! :D

brandtfp867xs1.png

Brandt FP-867XS1

Sheesh, deciding on an oven is tough. Thank goodness for Google ;)

Hi i was looking at the oven too. :D Mind sharing the price u got thanks.. :):)

Hi Ve_ve,

Bought the oven from Harvey Norman for $1670. Retailing at $1899. I've seen posts on other forums indicating neighbourhood stores may sell it for a couple of dollars less ;) .

Regardless, don't settle for the sticker price. Gotta haggle. That, I leave to my wife :D .

Hi Ve_ve,

Bought the oven from Harvey Norman for $1670. Retailing at $1899. I've seen posts on other forums indicating neighbourhood stores may sell it for a couple of dollars less ;) .

Regardless, don't settle for the sticker price. Gotta haggle. That, I leave to my wife :D .

Noted thanks. I've seen it at HN too. I went to the Center point one. I am quite bad in bargaining :( :( :(

Greetings fellow forumers! It’s great to be finally able to do this. This means after many fruitless hunts, my wife and I eventually found a place that agreed with our sensibilities and price point.

OTP(ed) for a place in Punggol Central in October and we are now eagerly waiting for our first appointment in late January next year. Wow, don’t remember HDB ever taking that long but as we understand it, HDBs are selling like hot cakes nowadays (who buys “Hot” cakes anyway) and has created quite the backlog. Targeted handover date is late March 2010. :o

Guess we’ll have plenty of time to learn from you good folks then. Couple of months to plan, re-plan, shop and pack do seem ideal and may prove helpful in retrospect.

We are giddied with excitement and in awed of the sheer volume of effort required that lies ahead of us as we begin our journey to create our new home. So, let’s get cracking. Bon voyage? Hope so.

Floor Plan

floorplanh.jpg

That's a good price that you pay for a big unit....good bargain!

I also recently bought a 4rm in Sengkang (not too far from you!) and will hv first appt on 19/4/2010...that's even longer! due to the HDB backlog and also cos the buyer of my unit needs to drag their first appt....

so likely i will start reno only somewhere in June :o but am very kiasu, started to gather data in RT :P

That's a good price that you pay for a big unit....good bargain!

I also recently bought a 4rm in Sengkang (not too far from you!) and will hv first appt on 19/4/2010...that's even longer! due to the HDB backlog and also cos the buyer of my unit needs to drag their first appt....

so likely i will start reno only somewhere in June :o but am very kiasu, started to gather data in RT :P

it's always good to do homework early :)