thirdrockdweller 0 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 .. and i think we share the same carpark.. next time might bump into each other! Haha, no need to leave it to chance, would love to have you and the missus over for coffee and my wife's cakes (the wife's a aspiring pastry chef ). The cost of carpentry nowadays is kinda high. A significant chunk of our reno fund is usually channeled to carpentry. That's partly the reason we decided to skimp on the woodworks. The others being taste and preference. Anyway, the wife and I are sorta closet IKEA fans (don't tell anyone). With a little bit of DIY ingenuity and "hacking", their stuffs are pretty sturdy. In fact, we just returned from the Tampines one and managed to pick up a couple of good bargains. Check out their "Christmas Advent Daily Offers". Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
amrasenelya 1 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 Haha, no need to leave it to chance, would love to have you and the missus over for coffee and my wife's cakes (the wife's a aspiring pastry chef ). The cost of carpentry nowadays is kinda high. A significant chunk of our reno fund is usually channeled to carpentry. That's partly the reason we decided to skimp on the woodworks. The others being taste and preference. Anyway, the wife and I are sorta closet IKEA fans (don't tell anyone). With a little bit of DIY ingenuity and "hacking", their stuffs are pretty sturdy. In fact, we just returned from the Tampines one and managed to pick up a couple of good bargains. Check out their "Christmas Advent Daily Offers". wahaha.. actually im the missus, the hubby has another nick in the forum but seldom post.. im ashamed to say i cant cook for nuts, but will love to try n my hubby's the guinea pig.. hehe, we're ikea fans too but will prob only get the little and smaller stuffs becus we've been warned by many the big things from them dun last, but hey, if u can diy to make it last den its worthwhile! hehe, there are actually many closet ikea fans in here.. worldangel being one of them i think.. which area is this Christmas Advent Daily offers at? we just went there last wed leh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thirdrockdweller 0 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 (edited) wahaha.. actually im the missus, ... Ooops.... my humblest apologies . ...hehe, we're ikea fans too but will prob only get the little and smaller stuffs becus we've been warned by many the big things from them dun last, but hey, if u can diy to make it last den its worthwhile! hehe, there are actually many closet ikea fans in here.. worldangel being one of them i think.. which area is this Christmas Advent Daily offers at? we just went there last wed leh.. For all the IKEA fanboys / fangirls, checkout IKEAFANS for useful / interesting tips & ideas for your IKEA stuff. Info on the Christmas Advent Daily Specials. HAPPY SHOPPING!!! Edited December 6, 2009 by thirdrockdweller Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thirdrockdweller 0 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 (edited) First serious chunk of money spent. Blew our budget by a factor of 4, but what can we say, we fell in love... Edited March 26, 2010 by thirdrockdweller Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CJREDDEVIL 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 (edited) Greetings fellow forumers! It’s great to be finally able to do this. This means after many fruitless hunts, my wife and I eventually found a place that agreed with our sensibilities and price point. OTP(ed) for a place in Punggol Central in October and we are now eagerly waiting for our first appointment in late January next year. Wow, don’t remember HDB ever taking that long but as we understand it, HDBs are selling like hot cakes nowadays (who buys “Hot” cakes anyway) and has created quite the backlog. Targeted handover date is late March 2010. Guess we’ll have plenty of time to learn from you good folks then. Couple of months to plan, re-plan, shop and pack do seem ideal and may prove helpful in retrospect. We are giddied with excitement and in awed of the sheer volume of effort required that lies ahead of us as we begin our journey to create our new home. So, let’s get cracking. Bon voyage? Hope so. Floor Plan Helloo thirdrockdweller, A warm welcome to you, As most of the forumers said, take your careful time to plan, do not rush into decisions, especially dealing with ID. Remember, trust yourself dun trust them 100%, they are on 100%business, yours are 100% for HomeSweetHome, theirs is just for opinion/advise, whlist your's is THE DECISION. Cheers! Edited December 7, 2009 by CJREDDEVIL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thirdrockdweller 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 Helloo thirdrockdweller, A warm welcome to you, As most of the forumers said, take your careful time to plan, do not rush into decisions, especially dealing with ID. Remember, trust yourself dun trust them 100%, they are on 100%business, yours are 100% for HomeSweetHome, theirs is just for opinion/advise, whlist your's is THE DECISION. Cheers! Hi CJREDDEVIL, That's very good advice. We'll definitely take our time to plan. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 Hi Thirdrock!! welcome *hope I'm not too late* I agree with Mickey! I like this layout! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thirdrockdweller 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 Hi Thirdrock!! welcome *hope I'm not too late* I agree with Mickey! I like this layout! Hi pinkpetter, thanks for the welcome Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 may i know where did you get your hansgrohe fittings?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ve_ve 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 Welcome to RT~! I got the washer and dryer too .... Got it during Tangs sale .. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thirdrockdweller 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 Welcome to RT~! I got the washer and dryer too .... Got it during Tangs sale .. Yah, got them during the recent Tangs sale. With the rebate for Citibank cards and discount for electrical appliances, WHAT A BARGAIN!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SGBuzz 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 Hi dannywmp, Thanks for the tips. Was given similar advise by a couple of folks. Unfortunately, my wife and I (I think mostly me) are easily distracted by shiny things and have parted ways with some cash for a few items. Our current place is beginning to resemble a mini warehouse. Anyway, we can only hope that the bargains we managed to eke out would eventually prove worthwhile. Welcome! Heh heh, i know what you mean. My reno has not started but i bought everything liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
macbart 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 Anyway, the wife and I are sorta closet IKEA fans (don't tell anyone). With a little bit of DIY ingenuity and "hacking", their stuffs are pretty sturdy. In fact, we just returned from the Tampines one and managed to pick up a couple of good bargains. Check out their "Christmas Advent Daily Offers". Hey, welcome to RT. It's good that you have an early start in planning for your place. You won't have to face the rush that we faced in getting quotes from different companies and choosing one within a month, so that the work could begin with enough time to meet our target of moving in to our new place before Christmas. BTW, don't be shy about being an ikea fan. I'm one too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thirdrockdweller 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 (edited) may i know where did you get your hansgrohe fittings?? Products bought / to be acquired; Hansgrohe / Kohler Mixers Hansgrohe Focus E2 Bath mixer (common bathroom)Hansgrohe Focus E2 Basin mixer (both bathrooms)Hansgrohe Allegra Variarc Kitchen mixerKohler Karbon Kitchen mixer (KIV until I can find a better potfiller) MBR Bathroom Hansgrohe Croma 100 Showerpipe with S150 AIR Raindance handshower Common Bathroom Hansgrohe Unica'Reno Lift Set with E150 AIR Raindance and finally, Hansgrohe bidet All items bought from Home & Bathroom Building Product Pte Ltd (Balestier Road). The pieces come in various packages. Go check out their package deals now. We managed to get further discount on our purchases Edited March 26, 2010 by thirdrockdweller Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thirdrockdweller 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 Hey, welcome to RT. It's good that you have an early start in planning for your place. You won't have to face the rush that we faced in getting quotes from different companies and choosing one within a month, so that the work could begin with enough time to meet our target of moving in to our new place before Christmas. BTW, don't be shy about being an ikea fan. I'm one too. Go Ikea fans, Go! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites