El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2010 wow read jaskel's renotalk.com thread on countertops...wow tyty for great info ! hi, is it the link he left up there? coz i tried the link and it brought me to this thread again leh..haha the kitchen part im still deciding on! granite or Corian/LG solid surface?? black or white?? for the record, i might put up stainless steel backing at the cooking zone and glass at the washing zone... sooo... does it make sense to use granite at cooking zone and solid surface at washing zone?? anybody done dual materials within their kitchen.. im tempted on their individual practicality...but worried if come out like rojak sia...Lol YNWA, El Nino Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wolflet 1 Report post Posted January 29, 2010 hi, is it the link he left up there? coz i tried the link and it brought me to this thread again leh..haha the kitchen part im still deciding on! granite or Corian/LG solid surface?? black or white?? for the record, i might put up stainless steel backing at the cooking zone and glass at the washing zone... sooo... does it make sense to use granite at cooking zone and solid surface at washing zone?? anybody done dual materials within their kitchen.. im tempted on their individual practicality...but worried if come out like rojak sia...Lol YNWA, El Nino depending on the ID u go to. some IDs quoted me same price for granite and LG solid top. unless u go for other brands of solid top, makes more sense to go granite if its the same price as LG Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2010 depending on the ID u go to. some IDs quoted me same price for granite and LG solid top. unless u go for other brands of solid top, makes more sense to go granite if its the same price as LG Ohh...the pricing was $98 pfr for LG, $115 pfr for corian, granite not quoted but shd be thereabouts right? anyway, my main concern is aesthetic and practicality of having both tops in the kitchen... YNWA, El Nino Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wolflet 1 Report post Posted January 29, 2010 Ohh...the pricing was $98 pfr for LG, $115 pfr for corian, granite not quoted but shd be thereabouts right? anyway, my main concern is aesthetic and practicality of having both tops in the kitchen... YNWA, El Nino If your SS and granite top are of different colour, it may be harder to find a neutral colour in between for your cabinets. but i'm not a designer.. so i may be wrong. otherwise, i dun see any problem with having both. If your washing area cabinet is just for storage purposes (I'm assuming service yard area) u can even consider laminate top which is very much cheaper Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2010 If your SS and granite top are of different colour, it may be harder to find a neutral colour in between for your cabinets. but i'm not a designer.. so i may be wrong. otherwise, i dun see any problem with having both. If your washing area cabinet is just for storage purposes (I'm assuming service yard area) u can even consider laminate top which is very much cheaper from the colours i played ard with, dark glossy tones are good complement for the cooking zone if i combine with ss and granite top... thanks for the heads up on using laminate top at washing zone...only concern would be warping of laminates over time due to constant contact with water...? anyway, i dun have a service yard..doing up a galley kitchen instead.. YNWA, El Nino Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
graceakaclouds 1 Report post Posted January 29, 2010 not sure if i'm going OT but need to check with u guys.... do ppl do silicone sealant these days? my concern is, do ppl do silicone sealant where the s/s sink and the laminate/granite/solid countertop join?? if not, would there be gaps n hence, water can seep through? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wolflet 1 Report post Posted January 29, 2010 from the colours i played ard with, dark glossy tones are good complement for the cooking zone if i combine with ss and granite top... thanks for the heads up on using laminate top at washing zone...only concern would be warping of laminates over time due to constant contact with water...? anyway, i dun have a service yard..doing up a galley kitchen instead.. YNWA, El Nino if the cabinet is intended to come into constant contact with water, then laminate is definitely a nono. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wolflet 1 Report post Posted January 29, 2010 not sure if i'm going OT but need to check with u guys.... do ppl do silicone sealant these days? my concern is, do ppl do silicone sealant where the s/s sink and the laminate/granite/solid countertop join?? if not, would there be gaps n hence, water can seep through? my undermount S/S sink has silicon sealant with my granite top. no leakage so far. no sealant then leaking is definitely a problem Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
graceakaclouds 1 Report post Posted February 2, 2010 my undermount S/S sink has silicon sealant with my granite top. no leakage so far. no sealant then leaking is definitely a problem kewl! got the point! will do it for my kitchen too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jstar_closet 0 Report post Posted March 2, 2010 Hi, anyone can share what is the current range of price for India granite? I was told by contractor there is limited range of color should be true? Thanks much! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
discoburg 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2010 My black solid surface dining table now have whitish patch near the edges of the dining top. Anyone knows how to get rid of it? My ID EDGELINE PLANNERS sent the sub-con's sales person to my house and he keep insisting he see nothing. I think he is BLIND!!! Hi, anyone can share what is the current range of price for India granite? I was told by contractor there is limited range of color should be true? Thanks much! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2010 http://interiordec.about.com/od/kitchencou...countertops.htm hope this help for ppl reading this thread thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dbkungfu 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 Granite come in many origin...made in China granite and made in India, Italy, Finland, Norway...etc cost differently, so is their thickness. I've wrote a thread regard about kitchen top material..... u all may check it out to learn more on it. http://www (dot) myhometown (dot) sg/Forum/tabid/84/aff/22/aft/152822/afv/topic/afpg/1/Default.aspx Hi Jaskel & all thnx for providing this valuable info. Could anyone provide me the latest granite pricing (per foot) nowaday ? Saw someone mentioned $110 (but that was 4-5months) ago. Understand my ID (to be) is going to earn some extra but just wanna to make sure I dun kena chop big time. any supplier website ? thnx Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 Hi Jaskel & all thnx for providing this valuable info. Could anyone provide me the latest granite pricing (per foot) nowaday ? Saw someone mentioned $110 (but that was 4-5months) ago. Understand my ID (to be) is going to earn some extra but just wanna to make sure I dun kena chop big time. any supplier website ? thnx $110-$140pfr. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dbkungfu 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2010 $110-$140pfr. thnx. Kind of attracted to quartz (from silestone) recently after reading more forum threads. Will visit builders design centre soon at changi south to compare. Someone mentioned the price between granite and quartz is almost the same. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites