ninja3101 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 ninja....here's my toilet one-gang switch and heater...they r Clipsal... my two-gang light switch: MK Hi feimei Thanks for the pics. Your hubby knows how to DIY that good can save $. My ID said heater and air-con switch are using 15A for HDB and 20A is for landed property , any idea is it true ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lord vader 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Hmmmm am i going crazy? how come the switches so cheap one? $160 for whole house? Does it include the base of the switch? I have like 25 switches... 6 are 2 gang... Then there is this air con + heater insulator switch which cost about $200+ cos need 1 for 3 air cons and 2 for each heater.... and the main switch box... scv points.... counting all of tat, i have 47 points in my house. ??? ann, mine look like the ones feimei showed in the pics. mine goes like this: - single power socket (x14) - dual power socket (x4) - 1 gang switch (x4) - 2 gang switch (x2) - 3 gang switch (x3) - LED switch (x4) - 2 heaters, oven, hob/hood - tel socket (x4) - SCV socket (x4) - door bell switch (x1) all faceplates....the backing all provided by electrician. aircon isolator is separately provided by contractor/electrician...cost less than $200 i think Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lord vader 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 (edited) Hi feimei Thanks for the pics. Your hubby knows how to DIY that good can save $. My ID said heater and air-con switch are using 15A for HDB and 20A is for landed property , any idea is it true ? HDB website says that appliance with electrical rating exceeding 15A is not allowed in HDB. 20A isolator is only allowed for air conditioner installation. I had to change my mind about my oven coz it was rated 16A. In the end I bought one with a 13A rating. Edited January 19, 2010 by lord vader Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Hi ossify What is the total no of switches & sockets u have bought? How much u spend ? mm i bought.. 10 switches (1 3g, 4 2g, 3 1g, 2 water heater), 1 scv, 2 sockets (1 single, 1 double), 2 connection unit (for connecting water heater), 1 aircon isolator for $165 in total Zencelo: 3gang $13.5, 2gang $9, 1gang $5.5, waterheater $20, doublesocket $12.8, singlesocket $8.5, scv $8.9 Clipsal WHD20 Isolator 20A for aircon $11.5 Hi feimei Thanks for the pics. Your hubby knows how to DIY that good can save $. My ID said heater and air-con switch are using 15A for HDB and 20A is for landed property , any idea is it true ? yes 15A is the max for HDB. however, they don't sell 15A switches or isolators. aircon isolator and water heater switch nowadays come at 20A. as long as your appliance is <20A, using 20A isolator/switch is not an issue. ann, mine look like the ones feimei showed in the pics. mine goes like this: - single power socket (x14) - dual power socket (x4) - 1 gang switch (x4) - 2 gang switch (x2) - 3 gang switch (x3) - LED switch (x4) - 2 heaters, oven, hob/hood - tel socket (x4) - SCV socket (x4) - door bell switch (x1) all faceplates....the backing all provided by electrician. aircon isolator is separately provided by contractor/electrician...cost less than $200 i think aircon isolator costs $11.50+GST. HDB website says that appliance with electrical rating exceeding 15A is not allowed in HDB. 20A isolator is only allowed for air conditioner installation. I had to change my mind about my oven coz it was rated 16A. In the end I bought one with a 13A rating. water heater switch nowadays can allow 20A, but your water heater itself should be 15A. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ninja3101 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 sorry for late reply, ninja!!! my total costing for whole hse is $160+.....for those power point face-plate, i got Clipsal....for those light switches face-plate, i got MK....Legrand abit ex (thou cheaper if compare to outside retail shop)....as for my heater, i got Clipsal which cost $7...if not wrong....need to check my invoice...let me take some photos when i m home tonight....and show u....hope still in time before u purchase ur switches.... Hi Feimei This is my quote from my ID for upgrade. This is the initial quote for electric works Re-Wiring for whole house 1)26 nos of Lighting points 2)8 nos of 13A single power points 3)12 nos of 13A double power points 4) 5 nos of scv points 5) 5 nos of tel points 6) 1 no of 15A air-con point 7) 1 no of 15A heater point 8) 1 no of mcb 9) Labour to install light Total = $2950 Top up quote Lighting points - 17 @ $476 Double Powerpoint - 13 @ $715 Additonal Heater point at MBR - $85 LAN Points (Cat6 cable provide by me) - $180 Upgraded to Clipsal C-Vivace - $280 (fixed price , no matter how many switches and power sockets) MCB Upgrade = $50 Labour to install additional lights = $120 Total to top up = $1946 Total to pay for electric works = $4896 Wow I told my ID don charge me too ex if not I buy from outside. Then he said u bought from outside the switches & sockets no warranty. But I don think the switches and sockets will spoilt easily? If I buy from outside the shop got said any warranty ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Hi feimei Thanks for the pics. Your hubby knows how to DIY that good can save $. My ID said heater and air-con switch are using 15A for HDB and 20A is for landed property , any idea is it true ? ehhhh~~this i not sure worr...maybe ossify can ans to ur qns or when u buy the switch from choo chiang or chee kong, just tell them u staying in hdb or private....they will noe which to recommand u.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 Hi Feimei This is my quote from my ID for upgrade. This is the initial quote for electric works Re-Wiring for whole house 1)26 nos of Lighting points 2)8 nos of 13A single power points 3)12 nos of 13A double power points 4) 5 nos of scv points 5) 5 nos of tel points 6) 1 no of 15A air-con point 7) 1 no of 15A heater point 8) 1 no of mcb 9) Labour to install light Total = $2950 Top up quote Lighting points - 17 @ $476 Double Powerpoint - 13 @ $715 Additonal Heater point at MBR - $85 LAN Points (Cat6 cable provide by me) - $180 Upgraded to Clipsal C-Vivace - $280 (fixed price , no matter how many switches and power sockets) MCB Upgrade = $50 Labour to install additional lights = $120 Total to top up = $1946 Total to pay for electric works = $4896 Wow I told my ID don charge me too ex if not I buy from outside. Then he said u bought from outside the switches & sockets no warranty. But I don think the switches and sockets will spoilt easily? If I buy from outside the shop got said any warranty ? i belief the portion u stated 'top up quote' is for the changing of plates? alamak....sooo ex ahhh.... wah lieww....ur ID trying to 'threaten' u ahh....if we cannot buy from outside just becos no warranty, then all those shope we bot from....close door liao lol....No!!!...such plates wun get spoilt easily one lah....can last till u move to next hse....anyway...how can u make it spoilt easily in the 1st place...??? if toking abt warrant....my whole hse switches...warranty-less lol...becos i bot the face-plates n hubby changed them....must asked ur ID....what kind of warranty he referring to leh....if really got warranty thingy...dan make sure u make it spoilt every 1mth....so that they will come n change for u....then every now n then u got brand new switch... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2010 ehhhh~~this i not sure worr...maybe ossify can ans to ur qns or when u buy the switch from choo chiang or chee kong, just tell them u staying in hdb or private....they will noe which to recommand u.... kekekekeke...pai seh...slow abit....saw LV n ossify already ans to ur qns.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted January 20, 2010 Hi Feimei This is my quote from my ID for upgrade. This is the initial quote for electric works Re-Wiring for whole house 1)26 nos of Lighting points 2)8 nos of 13A single power points 3)12 nos of 13A double power points 4) 5 nos of scv points 5) 5 nos of tel points 6) 1 no of 15A air-con point 7) 1 no of 15A heater point 8) 1 no of mcb 9) Labour to install light Total = $2950 Top up quote Lighting points - 17 @ $476 Double Powerpoint - 13 @ $715 Additonal Heater point at MBR - $85 LAN Points (Cat6 cable provide by me) - $180 Upgraded to Clipsal C-Vivace - $280 (fixed price , no matter how many switches and power sockets) MCB Upgrade = $50 Labour to install additional lights = $120 Total to top up = $1946 Total to pay for electric works = $4896 Wow I told my ID don charge me too ex if not I buy from outside. Then he said u bought from outside the switches & sockets no warranty. But I don think the switches and sockets will spoilt easily? If I buy from outside the shop got said any warranty ? please just get 3 other recommended (from friends/relatives/renotalk) electricians to quote you and choose the cheapest one. ID's electrician is usually overpriced. i spent 2.2k on all my electrical works and 2k on eubiq power tracks cheaper than yours. buy from shop no warranty? who told you that? from choo chiang (and i believe most major distributors), if the switch is faulty within a week of purchase, you can replace 1 for 1. (so buy it a day or two before the electrician installs your switches/sockets) i belief the portion u stated 'top up quote' is for the changing of plates? alamak....sooo ex ahhh.... wah lieww....ur ID trying to 'threaten' u ahh....if we cannot buy from outside just becos no warranty, then all those shope we bot from....close door liao lol....No!!!...such plates wun get spoilt easily one lah....can last till u move to next hse....anyway...how can u make it spoilt easily in the 1st place...??? if toking abt warrant....my whole hse switches...warranty-less lol...becos i bot the face-plates n hubby changed them....must asked ur ID....what kind of warranty he referring to leh....if really got warranty thingy...dan make sure u make it spoilt every 1mth....so that they will come n change for u....then every now n then u got brand new switch... some electricians anyhow install till the switch spoil, but if it's not obviously due to electrician fault, the distributor will replace 1 for 1 at no cost. your ID trying to smoke you so he can chop your carrot. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lord vader 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2010 aircon isolator costs $11.50+GST. typo...heheehe....i meant less than $20. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ninja3101 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2010 i belief the portion u stated 'top up quote' is for the changing of plates? alamak....sooo ex ahhh.... wah lieww....ur ID trying to 'threaten' u ahh....if we cannot buy from outside just becos no warranty, then all those shope we bot from....close door liao lol....No!!!...such plates wun get spoilt easily one lah....can last till u move to next hse....anyway...how can u make it spoilt easily in the 1st place...??? if toking abt warrant....my whole hse switches...warranty-less lol...becos i bot the face-plates n hubby changed them....must asked ur ID....what kind of warranty he referring to leh....if really got warranty thingy...dan make sure u make it spoilt every 1mth....so that they will come n change for u....then every now n then u got brand new switch... Thanks for your advice. I do agree with what u said. ID always think of business only. Your switches got no back case ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ninja3101 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2010 please just get 3 other recommended (from friends/relatives/renotalk) electricians to quote you and choose the cheapest one. ID's electrician is usually overpriced. i spent 2.2k on all my electrical works and 2k on eubiq power tracks cheaper than yours. buy from shop no warranty? who told you that? from choo chiang (and i believe most major distributors), if the switch is faulty within a week of purchase, you can replace 1 for 1. (so buy it a day or two before the electrician installs your switches/sockets) some electricians anyhow install till the switch spoil, but if it's not obviously due to electrician fault, the distributor will replace 1 for 1 at no cost. your ID trying to smoke you so he can chop your carrot. I like eubiq power tracks look elegant and class. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2010 Thanks for your advice. I do agree with what u said. ID always think of business only. Your switches got no back case ? what to do....that's ID job...if they dun earn...what they get in return??? free service???? more or less, they will find ways to 'eat' u... i only bot face-plates leh....as what i mentioned....the back case is already inside the wall...no need soo much hassel to dig it out n replace the whole thing....eventually, we just want the outlook to be swee swee, right??? unless those kitchen power point....u will need to get with back case becos we hv our tiles on...so the power points r pertruding out, right? not sure u get what i meant??? maybe i take foto n show u... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2010 I like eubiq power tracks look elegant and class. i luv that oso.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ricanne 0 Report post Posted January 21, 2010 hey Mr/Mrs SGBuzz........... ..reno looking well in progress plan and smooth smooth ya ! Great work ! .... ..looking towards the end-results....cheers! Since Monday, we only managed the following: - installation of electricals completed (touch -ups next week) - tiling completed (touch-ups next week) - parquet polish completed - acid-wash kitchen only - painting continuation (shld complete tmr) Still need to - change gas pipe outlet (tmr) - install sliding doors (month end) all carpentry installation (though ready) have to be postponed because the above not completed yet. dunno whether can install at least some first tmr or not. . . getting kind of tired Share this post Link to post Share on other sites