SGBuzz

New Hive

Yeah i hear you guys so very tempted to hack now and give my ID a surprise when he turns up :P

Just pushing so close to CMY for HO so better not tempt fate.

Tiling work has been going on, the 2 common toilets is almost done, starting on MBR toilet.

Was very surprise to see that the wall tiles were up at the Kitchen but then had to be taken down again :P

I use a different carpenter and so when my carpenter and my ID met today... wah sparks fly. They were arguing over how to position the tiles and how hight to tile the wall etc. In the end my carpenter won and the already tiled kitchen wall had to be redo. :rolleyes:

Actually i am using 2 carpenters. 1 to do the kitchen cabinets, study table, settee and another for my book shelf, balcony timber overlay and store room door. Hope all will jive in nicely.

Also settled Air Con. Decided on a LG inverter system 4 which is $500 more than the Daikin system 4 which is non inverter. Decided with Pure Air as the sale manager took the time to explain all the trunking routing even before we decided to go with him.

Yeah i hear you guys so very tempted to hack now and give my ID a surprise when he turns up :P

Just pushing so close to CMY for HO so better not tempt fate.

Tiling work has been going on, the 2 common toilets is almost done, starting on MBR toilet.

Was very surprise to see that the wall tiles were up at the Kitchen but then had to be taken down again :P

I use a different carpenter and so when my carpenter and my ID met today... wah sparks fly. They were arguing over how to position the tiles and how hight to tile the wall etc. In the end my carpenter won and the already tiled kitchen wall had to be redo. :rolleyes:

Actually i am using 2 carpenters. 1 to do the kitchen cabinets, study table, settee and another for my book shelf, balcony timber overlay and store room door. Hope all will jive in nicely.

Also settled Air Con. Decided on a LG inverter system 4 which is $500 more than the Daikin system 4 which is non inverter. Decided with Pure Air as the sale manager took the time to explain all the trunking routing even before we decided to go with him.

Hey Buzz....

Let the ID & capenter do the shows.....sometimes they purposely urgu in front of you knowing/hoping that you may change your mind/give-in,......dun get caught/involve in their stunts...... :rolleyes: ...stay on firm on what u wan lor.....uhmm.......so hv u decided to hack the kitchen wall for space & brightness.. :notti: ...????

I remembered i call hdb office to chase for modification approval... My contractor/ID told me that if the owner of the flat do the call, HDB will reply fast... and I find that its true... haha. They will also send u approval letter...

Hey Buzz....

Let the ID & capenter do the shows.....sometimes they purposely urgu in front of you knowing/hoping that you may change your mind/give-in,......dun get caught/involve in their stunts...... :rolleyes: ...stay on firm on what u wan lor.....uhmm.......so hv u decided to hack the kitchen wall for space & brightness.. :notti: ...????

Yup i let them slug in out and also throw in a few words to fan the flames :notti:

Nope decided just to remove the windows and the door :(

I remembered i call hdb office to chase for modification approval... My contractor/ID told me that if the owner of the flat do the call, HDB will reply fast... and I find that its true... haha. They will also send u approval letter...

I am not the owner yet, 2nd appointment only in Feb 11, else i would be badgering the HDB officer personally :P

cjRedDevil Bro . . . Finished unpacking already, is it? Keep tempting us to hack wall . . . :unsure:

SgBuzz mentioned that my carpenter and ID were talking rather agitatedly during a discussion earlier this afternoon. My kitchen cabinet carpenter is an acquittance of mine. So i think she is on my side la. :rolleyes: Her arguments with the ID made sense though. She wanted only 2 tiles to be in between the top and bottom cabinets so that only one line is visible. However, the tilers have already tiled 3 tiles, making 2 lines visible. Aesthetically not so pleasing to see 2 lines. Single-line won the battle! :P Would have loved for her to do ALL my carpentry work. But we couldn't really afford her prices.

Taking a break now. . . I am so pleased with myself :D Looking at moving only in early Feb, but i have already packed 57 boxes worth of . . . stuff. So far, SgBuzz was only responsible for 'keep', 'throw', 'i dunno'. :bleah:

I am taking a break first :sport-smiley-018:

Edited by ricanne

cjRedDevil Bro . . . Finished unpacking already, is it? Keep tempting us to hack wall . . . :unsure:

SgBuzz mentioned that my carpenter and ID were talking rather agitatedly during a discussion earlier this afternoon. My kitchen cabinet carpenter is an acquittance of mine. So i think she is on my side la. :rolleyes: Her arguments with the ID made sense though. She wanted only 2 tiles to be in between the top and bottom cabinets so that only one line is visible. However, the tilers have already tiled 3 tiles, making 2 lines visible. Aesthetically not so pleasing to see 2 lines. Single-line won the battle! :P Would have loved for her to do ALL my carpentry work. But we couldn't really afford her prices.

Taking a break now. . . I am so pleased with myself :D Looking at moving only in early Feb, but i have already packed 57 boxes worth of . . . stuff. So far, SgBuzz was only responsible for 'keep', 'throw', 'i dunno'. :bleah:

Wahahaha very typical of guys, remind me of myself when we're packing also :P

QUOTE (born_again @ Jan 2 2010, 09:39 PM)

wow, your 4A must be very beautifully renovated. Got pic to share?

was still telling my hubby that cant believe St 51 can command so high val for 5A.

Hey Born_Again

I managed to find these pix of my current 4A, which we managed to sell for $40K cov. :D

IMG_2802.jpg

IMG_2804.jpg

we need to eat back some words. . .

went for so much shopping that i thought it was $490 for the KDK V60WK.

I was wrong. . .

it was $400!!!

aiya . . . wasted . . . :(

I was quoted $580 for the KDK V60WK fan by my contractor. That's a $180 difference man *heartpain* We should have gotten it ourselves.

Hi!

Went to your blog and saw your EA. Huge!

You have not started reno, right? Can tell your contractor you buy your own fan or not? And ask if he could have it installed for you? I suppose no harm asking.

Hi ricanne....

Mine is almost 90% done unpacking..........uhmmmm.......... :( .......I am not tempting you must hack wall lah........ :bangwall: .....just wanna share my views since you ask about it mah ..... :bow: ....sorry if i seems so dictating........ :dribble:

......yes.....me too was the one whom only responsible for "throw" decision..... 8| .....dun wan wifey to keep too juch junks !......

Enjoy your packings......more to come when the uppacking starts........ :D

Looking at your balcony and living room views, I think I know roughly where your unit is...:D

Don't worry about the private estate in front of your dining room. Its very quiet and peaceful one...:D I used to walk through that everyday to get to the bus stop outside to go to and back from work...:D

You have 2 nice parks to choose from in the private estate in front of the block behind yours...

Think your unit is pretty good! Far enough from main road not to hear the noise yet close enough for you to walk to take public transport.

Want to ask you something.... in your reno list, you mentioned "non-fire rated main door"...

I thought that its a HDB requirement that ALL main doors be fire rated??? Or have they changed that already?

Looking at your balcony and living room views, I think I know roughly where your unit is...:D

Don't worry about the private estate in front of your dining room. Its very quiet and peaceful one...:D I used to walk through that everyday to get to the bus stop outside to go to and back from work...:D

You have 2 nice parks to choose from in the private estate in front of the block behind yours...

Think your unit is pretty good! Far enough from main road not to hear the noise yet close enough for you to walk to take public transport.

Want to ask you something.... in your reno list, you mentioned "non-fire rated main door"...

I thought that its a HDB requirement that ALL main doors be fire rated??? Or have they changed that already?

Waha your power of observations very good. :good:

Fire rated doors are only required for doors opening to fire escape routes such as stair wells or lifts.

i actually called up hdb regarding the fire-rated main door thingy cos mine is a corner unit, the guy said if main door is 2m from lifts or stairways then need to be fire-rated.

but told him mine is like next to stairways cos corner unit mah.. he still said mine no need after i gave him my unit no, but he say hdb RECOMMENDS that houseowners use fire-rated main doors, then proceeded to tell me the advantages.. :P

Thanks for the info regarding the fire rated doors....:D

Oh SGBuzz... your place gets the afternoon sun right..... How are you planning to deal with that?? Looking for some innovative suggestions to deal with the full onslaught of the afternoon sun.

Edited by Kalidor

Thanks for the info regarding the fire rated doors....:D

Oh SGBuzz... your place gets the afternoon sun right..... How are you planning to deal with that?? Looking for some innovative suggestions to deal with the full onslaught of the afternoon sun.

Yup full blast of the afternoon sun, only way is to ensure good ventilation aka wind flow from front door to windows and have heavy curtains. when all else fails turn on air con lor :P

Wow you really know the place well, don't tell me you are the one also renovating on the lower floor? :unsure:

Edited by SGBuzz