annjoy

♥ My Mcnair Rd 4-rm ♥

Hello Everybody,

Sorry for the lack of updates.

Last weekend I did meet my ID to go to Soon Bee Huat Tiles Shop. I chose, with much frustration, new tiles for my common bathroom cos the last set of tiles I chose seemed to be too drastically different from my master bedroom (not a bad thing except for the fact that one was super modern and one was more resort).

Johnny showed me the revised drawings by placing them in front of me and I didn't even notice the difference. Oh dear... :/

I went back and thought about it and realised that I am heading nowhere at all. I felt lost.

Looking back, I realised that I think I made 2 mistakes from the beginning. 1) I chose the tiles even before I had an idea what the house should look like. 2) I casually mentioned in passing that I like white cabinets.

The result? PURE WHITE and black house. Too modern. :(

So I decided to email him and tell him what I felt and asked him if we could go back a few steps. I told him to imagine I am a new client and I come to him telling him I want a cozy place. To ask him to propose something as a whole - from wall paints to cabinet laminates, to curtains and vases - everything the designer needs to create that feel.

I told him that although I know that the 3D drawing does not give accurate colour on wall and cabinet laminates, I needed something to imagine from. Wouldnt you rather have something slightly inaccurate than nothing to imagine from at all?

I wondered if he would be angry with me about it. Afterall I handle such clients in my everyday job in advertising.

But he didnt. He was very cool about it and he said ok and that he'll revert soon. I was very pleased with him and am now looking forward to seeing the next draft. :) Till then, I hope everyone else's renovation here is going smoothly! :)

Hi annjoy,

Nice to hear that u hv yourself such a cool ID...... :good: .....seems your every things going on fine & well smooth smooth ya!

Hello Everybody,

Last weekend I did meet my ID to go to Soon Bee Huat Tiles Shop. I chose, with much frustration, new tiles for my common bathroom cos the last set of tiles I chose seemed to be too drastically different from my master bedroom (not a bad thing except for the fact that one was super modern and one was more resort).

Johnny showed me the revised drawings by placing them in front of me and I didn't even notice the difference. Oh dear... :/

I went back and thought about it and realised that I am heading nowhere at all. I felt lost.

Looking back, I realised that I think I made 2 mistakes from the beginning. 1) I chose the tiles even before I had an idea what the house should look like. 2) I casually mentioned in passing that I like white cabinets.

So I decided to email him and tell him what I felt and asked him if we could go back a few steps. I told him to imagine I am a new client and I come to him telling him I want a cozy place. To ask him to propose something as a whole - from wall paints to cabinet laminates, to curtains and vases - everything the designer needs to create that feel.

I told him that although I know that the 3D drawing does not give accurate colour on wall and cabinet laminates, I needed something to imagine from. Wouldnt you rather have something slightly inaccurate than nothing to imagine from at all?

I wondered if he would be angry with me about it. Afterall I handle such clients in my everyday job in advertising.

But he didnt. He was very cool about it and he said ok and that he'll revert soon. I was very pleased with him and am now looking forward to seeing the next draft. :) Till then, I hope everyone else's renovation here is going smoothly! :)

Hi annjoy, It's good that you realised it early enough, and that you have an ID who's cool about it. I hope everything goes well with your reno and that you get the cosy home that you want. :)

Hello Everybody,

:good::good::good:

Alright ppl! Wish me many luck.

This week will define my renovation plans.

I am meeting the seller to inspect the house this Wed (1 day before I get the keys!!), and I will be bringing Johnny to see the place together in hope to decide on lighting plans.

Since I am hacking the utility room, the permit needs 10 wrking days to be approved. -.-.

I need to move in by 15 JAN.

And there's this other little naggy detail about the current tenant. I hope they can go away for 2 weeks so that the renovation can go on smoothly without them around. :/

I hope and hope everything will be smooth.

Alright ppl! Wish me many luck.

This week will define my renovation plans.

I am meeting the seller to inspect the house this Wed (1 day before I get the keys!!), and I will be bringing Johnny to see the place together in hope to decide on lighting plans.

Since I am hacking the utility room, the permit needs 10 wrking days to be approved. -.-.

I need to move in by 15 JAN.

And there's this other little naggy detail about the current tenant. I hope they can go away for 2 weeks so that the renovation can go on smoothly without them around. :/

I hope and hope everything will be smooth.

Wishing you GOOD GOOD MANY MANY LUCK....... :good: ....everything smooth smooth ....!

Edited by CJREDDEVIL

oops!i went oversea lah,just came back...

Well,if u need a longer table,then part of it is protrude out as a squarish breakfast table/island and u can pull it out to have a long table.

U are right,the hidden part of the table is the length of your cabinet lor.

So if u want a total Hidden table,then u can only ask for a Squarish table when u pull it out,understand? :)

Hehe! Hi Rondy, Welcome back then!

Oh i know what you mean already.... so yours wasn't fully hidden.. no wonder when pull out can be so long. but a bit stick out also like blocking traffic flow...

Thank you everybody for the good luck!

Tonight I am going for a home inspection before official 2nd appt on 10 dec (TMR!!).

I will be ironing out a lot of things with the ID, the current tenant, and the electrical guy.

Btw, I am **** lucky... my bf's friend is offering to do whole house rewiring for free.. my goodness I save so much money there!

Hihi! I am back with news!

My situation of house-handing over has to be one of the most ****ty ones around.

The ex-owner used to rent the whole house (2 rooms) to 2 families. 1 is a old couple who takes up the mbr. The other 2 comon rooms is taken up by this family of hooligans. Really Hooligans leh.

The son is ah beng pai one... rude and smokes in the house. The father is always walking around half naked, blood shot eyes and smokes in the house as well. This whole family also frequently has friends visiting and makes a lot of noise.

The ex-owner told me the old couple needs to have the place till end Dec. So that's fine. But the hooligan family - they were given 1.5 months notice to move out of the house. I was firm through and through on that. I said no no no on every account. I don't want them to be my tenants, I don't want them to be in the house when I take over and above all, I need renovation to take place - and I said that all in the most diplomatic and nicest manner possible.

It was then agreed that they will move out by today, 9 Dec. 10 Dec is the 2nd appt (i.e.: the day I am officially the owner). But when I went over for an inspection today, yes, abit of their stuff were packed but their clothes were in their cupboards still! Their towels were still hanging out to dry. I thought, WTH? I asked when will they be moving out, the owner and the old couple said they dunno, will confirm.

When I was about to leave, I saw them coming back into the house. I said nothing.

I assumed by this Sunday when I go over with my contractor, all except the old couple will be OUT. But when I reached home, like just an hour ago, I msg the ex owner to ensure that the hooligan family is out by tmr - since tmr is the 2nd appt. She say she try.

I am very shocked and angry to receive that reply. She try? What on earth does she try mean? They are her tenants! SURELY, she doesn't expect me to clear her ****?

1) It was agreed they will move out completely by today

2) I never agreed for them to be my tenants at all.

As of now, she still hasn't replied me. But that's okay. I take it she got my point. I am now thinking about going over to the place to do another inspection tmr. Will it be dangerous?

Actually, I am more than angry about the whole situation. I am worried and scared. They are very beng'ish and I am very afraid of offending them. They could very well pour red/black paint and write on the walls and do a lot of damage - if they care to be creative about it.

I hope she settles this tenant by the 2nd appt tmr.

If not, does anybody here know what I can do? Call police? Tell HDB?

Edited by annjoy

you are very lucky Indeed!!!

BTW,that table is not mine,haha...i copy from someone idea and share with u.

I have one extension top but not very big,and that is complimentary.cannot hiam liao. :)

Haha.. okok la, free, but still hope he does a good job. *crosses fingers*

My situation of house-handing over has to be one of the most ****ty ones around.

The ex-owner used to rent the whole house (2 rooms) to 2 families. 1 is a old couple who takes up the mbr. The other 2 comon rooms is taken up by this family of hooligans. Really Hooligans leh.

The son is ah beng pai one... rude and smokes in the house. The father is always walking around half naked, blood shot eyes and smokes in the house as well. This whole family also frequently has friends visiting and makes a lot of noise.

The ex-owner told me the old couple needs to have the place till end Dec. So that's fine. But the hooligan family - they were given 1.5 months notice to move out of the house. I was firm through and through on that. I said no no no on every account. I don't want them to be my tenants, I don't want them to be in the house when I take over and above all, I need renovation to take place - and I said that all in the most diplomatic and nicest manner possible.

It was then agreed that they will move out by today, 9 Dec. 10 Dec is the 2nd appt (i.e.: the day I am officially the owner). But when I went over for an inspection today, yes, abit of their stuff were packed but their clothes were in their cupboards still! Their towels were still hanging out to dry. I thought, WTH? I asked when will they be moving out, the owner and the old couple said they dunno, will confirm.

When I was about to leave, I saw them coming back into the house. I said nothing.

I assumed by this Sunday when I go over with my contractor, all except the old couple will be OUT. But when I reached home, like just an hour ago, I msg the ex owner to ensure that the hooligan family is out by tmr - since tmr is the 2nd appt. She say she try.

I am very shocked and angry to receive that reply. She try? What on earth does she try mean? They are her tenants! SURELY, she doesn't expect me to clear her ****?

As of now, she still hasn't replied me. But that's okay. I take it she got my point. I am now thinking about going over to the place to do another inspection tmr. Will it be dangerous?

Actually, I am more than angry about the whole situation. I am worried and scared. They are very beng'ish and I am very afraid of offending them. They could very well pour red/black paint and write on the walls and do a lot of damage - if they care to be creative about it.

i believe the onus is on the seller to ask them to leave as she is the one collecting the rental. maybe you can charge the seller daily rental until they move out. alternatively can ask your agent to be the "bad" guy.

just terminate their SP services.

I was thinking, "yeah, that would work". But it would affect the old couple too... and it sounds like Ann doesn't mind them staying on?

If I'm not wrong, the seller has to make sure the place is vacant - cleared of ppl and stuff - before the completion of the sale. You could bring it up during the second appointment. But I dunno if that would affect the completion. Or perhaps, as one of the others suggested, get your agent to talk to the seller. After all, you're paying your agent a commission and it's in his/her interest to make sure the transaction is completed without a hitch.

Hihi Annjoy,

I think you can tell the ex-owner, you will change the padlock on 10th Dec. And when she hand over the keys, she need to ensure that they/whatever her stuff to be out of the flat, else once you lock the place up, whatever 'remains' inside is your property. Let her know that if that family come back for their stuff after you lock up, you will ask them to look for her.

If that family call you, tell them that the ex-owner confirm their stuff is all cleared, any issues they need to look for the ex-owner for where they 'put' their stuff cause you 'don't know'. But if really that happens, I think need to give that 1 time grace for that family to shift out their stuff, but that is in the presense of the ex-owner. Meaning you don't have to speak to that family, arrange with the date/time with ex-owner to come down (he got to liaise with them himself), then open the door for them to shift. You don't have to speak to that family, its their responsibility.

As for the old couples, since you consider them as your tenant, pass the new keys to them for the 1month stay.