wennykoh

Renovation Blues

After reading many interesting and informative reno blogs, I decided to start mine.

I am having renovation blue. ID was recommended by my housing agent. We were pleased with the initial quotation as they could include many things but yet overall fall below our budget. The ID was very patient in explaining item by item in details. Thus, we were informed to commit in order for them to do a 3D artist impression design of our place. He assured us that we were not bonded to commit on all the items stated in the quotation, as they allowed flexibility for us to remove or add any reno item according to our requirements. We had requested 2 quotations from other ID firms prior to meeting this ID and their quotation appeared to be more expensive. Perhaps we did not study their quotation thoroughly such as item by item or clarify and made comparison on materials and measurements quoted.

We didn't really do a lot of homework on reno earlier as I trust this ID should be pretty reasonable in pricing, since my agent has recommended many clients to them.

Due to budget was very tight to the extend that we need to go for reno loan in order to reserve some cash to buy the fitting for the house. I began to carefully look through every items quoted, seek for advise as well as compare with some Renotalk members who did the same reno.

To my horror, I noted that many items quoted was 30%-60% higher than what others paid. For example, I was quoted $6k to change the whole house sliding window, whereas other having the same type of hdb and changed the whole house window to partial sliding and casement only paid for $4k+.

Thus I highlighted to my ID that others paid less for the same type of reno and asked him to match it, if he couldn't match, I had to remove those items.

Finally, I omitted many items such as window, window grills, main gate, parquet flooring, false ceiling, electrical wiring point, supply and install air-con as managed to engage various suppliers directly.

He said that he was not angry for not allowing him to do many items. He only wanted us not to engage other party to reno at the same time in order to avoid trouble like other supplier using illegal workers. We understood and agreed.

Since we were going to change all the floor tiles except the bedrooms, I requested my ID to hack away the current bedrooms tile skirting and plaster it at an additional cost that we were ready to pay in order to install parquet floor later on. He refused to do it for us as we did not engage him to install the parquet. I told him since your workers would be hacking the whole house flooring, why they couldn't do the hacking to the bedrooms skirting. His explained that it was different kind of hacking. Till this date I could not accept his explanation.

I had no choice but to look for contractor who could and willing to do this bit of reno which my ID die die also refused to do for us.

Well, the above is only part of my unpleasant experience with this ID. Totally regret in hiring him and his attitude xxxx after we signed on the dotted line and paid the deposit. I got scolded for not having any technical knowledge of house reno and yet request things to be done my way.

In order to not to lose the 20% deposit, I have to go ahead to engage him with the minimal reno work such as do up the all the toilets, change all the floor tiles and kitchen cabinets.

Edited by wennykoh

welcome to RT!

Wow you bought so many Bosch products :D

a bit late.. but usually contractors recommended by agent will give a % cut to your agent. so be wary of recommendation and see them as just any other contractor.

wah change whole house windows $6k? ask your contractor to delete that from the contract, and get your own. Wellmax quoted me $2k to change all my windows, 3 sets of 3 panes and 1 set of 4 pane windows, 13panes in total.

Wellmax Metal Works

No. 9 Defu Lane 3 #02-00

Singapore 539441

T: 6284 6735

about the tile skirtings, most laminate companies will remove your existing skirtings for a small fee. don't worry about it. you sure you want parquet? very easy to scratch and expensive :P you may want to consider getting robina laminates like me :D

Edited by ossify

regret to hear your current predicament with your ID, hate these rogue IDs. Hope you are able to find the right contractors for the rest of the reno.

After reading many interesting and informative reno blogs, I decided to start mine.

I am having renovation blue. ID was recommended by my housing agent. We were pleased with the initial quotation as they could include many things but yet overall fall below our budget. The ID was very patient in explaining item by item in details. Thus, we were informed to commit in order for them to do a 3D artist impression design of our place. He assured us that we were not bonded to commit on all the items stated in the quotation, as they allowed flexibility for us to remove or add any reno item according to our requirements. We had requested 2 quotations from other ID firms prior to meeting this ID and their quotation appeared to be more expensive. Perhaps we did not study their quotation thoroughly such as item by item or clarify and made comparison on materials and measurements quoted.

We didn't really do a lot of homework on reno earlier as I trust this ID should be pretty reasonable in pricing, since my agent has recommended many clients to them.

Due to budget was very tight to the extend that we need to go for reno loan in order to reserve some cash to buy the fitting for the house. I began to carefully look through every items quoted, seek for advise as well as compare with some Renotalk members who did the same reno.

To my horror, I noted that many items quoted was 30%-60% higher than what others paid. For example, I was quoted $6k to change the whole house sliding window, whereas other having the same type of hdb and changed the whole house window to partial sliding and casement only paid for $4k+.

Thus I highlighted to my ID that others paid less for the same type of reno and asked him to match it, if he couldn't match, I had to remove those items.

Finally, I omitted many items such as window, window grills, main gate, parquet flooring, false ceiling, electrical wiring point, supply and install air-con as managed to engage various suppliers directly.

He said that he was not angry for not allowing him to do many items. He only wanted us not to engage other party to reno at the same time in order to avoid trouble like other supplier using illegal workers. We understood and agreed.

Since we were going to change all the floor tiles except the bedrooms, I requested my ID to hack away the current bedrooms tile skirting and plaster it at an additional cost that we were ready to pay in order to install parquet floor later on. He refused to do it for us as we did not engage him to install the parquet. I told him since your workers would be hacking the whole house flooring, why they couldn't do the hacking to the bedrooms skirting. His explained that it was different kind of hacking. Till this date I could not accept his explanation.

I had no choice but to look for contractor who could and willing to do this bit of reno which my ID die die also refused to do for us.

Well, the above is only part of my unpleasant experience with this ID. Totally regret in hiring him and his attitude xxxx after we signed on the dotted line and paid the deposit. I got scolded for not having any technical knowledge of house reno and yet request things to be done my way.

In order to not to lose the 20% deposit, I have to go ahead to engage him with the minimal reno work such as do up the all the toilets, change all the floor tiles and kitchen cabinets.

Hi, welcome to the blog.

Good to hear that you started your own blog but sorry to hear about your those bad experiences.

My opinion is, for the sake of the 20% paid, stick with them but try as much as possible to cut any items you sign with them, that is...to give excuses that you change your mind about certain reno plan, etc......I think they too will not be in the best of workmanship services for you since already not happy about your simple request....it's easier said than done...it's just my opinion, but you hv to stand firm on your decision/instruction to them....my best of luck to you...and keep up the posting.

Hi wendy

welcome :) wah your EM very near to mine leh is yours block 800+

anyway sorrie to hear abt the ID, they're BS if they said they do not mind lor but since you signed le think only choice is to stick to the ID and search for other contractor /ID to do your other stuff bah

oh FYI, i was charged about 4k for my WPC windows and another 2k for my grilles hope it helps :)

welcome to RT!

Wow you bought so many Bosch products :D

a bit late.. but usually contractors recommended by agent will give a % cut to your agent. so be wary of recommendation and see them as just any other contractor.

wah change whole house windows $6k? ask your contractor to delete that from the contract, and get your own. Wellmax quoted me $2k to change all my windows, 3 sets of 3 panes and 1 set of 4 pane windows, 13panes in total.

Wellmax Metal Works

No. 9 Defu Lane 3 #02-00

Singapore 539441

T: 6284 6735

about the tile skirtings, most laminate companies will remove your existing skirtings for a small fee. don't worry about it. you sure you want parquet? very easy to scratch and expensive :P you may want to consider getting robina laminates like me :D

Hi Ossify,

Ya lor... my friend also said agent surely get commission from the ID for recommending client to them. I kept complaining to my agent on the price quoted by the ID, their service, etc and told him pls don't ever recommend any more client to them... if not others will get chop chop like carrot :wacko:

:lol: I had no idea which brand to go for since there are so many brands of household appliances in the market. Bosch seems not bad...

Your window 13 panels for $2K is very good deal. I didn't let my ID do my window & grill... his quote $6K window + $3K grill for the whole house... when I saw the quote liao I want to faint ar... In my heart, if changing window + grill is so expensive how come many others are willing to spend leh... :o My ID assured me their workmanship and quality is definitely better than others in the market, therefore price is also ex... but I'm only looking for durable and affordable, not high end kind of expensive window + grill...

I did consider laminate over parquet but laminate can be as expensive as parquet, so I decided to go for parquet for the 3 bedrooms only.

regret to hear your current predicament with your ID, hate these rogue IDs. Hope you are able to find the right contractors for the rest of the reno.

I should have gone for contractor instead of ID... well 1st and the last time going with ID...

Hi, welcome to the blog.

Good to hear that you started your own blog but sorry to hear about your those bad experiences.

My opinion is, for the sake of the 20% paid, stick with them but try as much as possible to cut any items you sign with them, that is...to give excuses that you change your mind about certain reno plan, etc......I think they too will not be in the best of workmanship services for you since already not happy about your simple request....it's easier said than done...it's just my opinion, but you hv to stand firm on your decision/instruction to them....my best of luck to you...and keep up the posting.

Thanks... :)

Wenny,

sorry to hear abt your suituation. :(

I think hor.....since the 20% deposit has to be paid...make sure they do a good job...any little...small....mini.....rectification...ask them to do...do until swee swee. :)

Hi wendy

welcome :) wah your EM very near to mine leh is yours block 800+

anyway sorrie to hear abt the ID, they're BS if they said they do not mind lor but since you signed le think only choice is to stick to the ID and search for other contractor /ID to do your other stuff bah

oh FYI, i was charged about 4k for my WPC windows and another 2k for my grilles hope it helps :)

Hi Kopi,

Ya mine is blk 800+ behind the stadium...

Now still searching for contractor to do the rest of my place...

4k for window + 2k for grill for EM is reasonable price...

I read your blog that you just started the reno, estimated when can be completed?

Welcome and congrates on getting a new home. :) Hee, faster let this ID do finish the minimal stuff and get a nice contractor to do the rest bah. There's many nice contractors in the forum to choose from. :)

Hi red_devil & Angel81

Thanks...

Felt so miserable got to face my ID, if I only paid $1k, I rather forfeit $1k and engage other contractor...

I thot renovation is something exciting and happy...

Hi Kopi,

Ya mine is blk 800+ behind the stadium...

Now still searching for contractor to do the rest of my place...

4k for window + 2k for grill for EM is reasonable price...

I read your blog that you just started the reno, estimated when can be completed?

I'm hoping b4 CNY can HO and has been praying hard everyday that my dreams can be fulfilled hahahahaha :P

wendy mine sharing what's the val for your place ? :D

Edited by coffee_o

hey wenny,

sorry to hear abt ur experience with the ID, but better still be nice to him cus he still has to do up ur flat nicely... dun let him have any chance to give u slipshod work ya... :)

btw, wanna check with you, the 40" LCD from samsung dat u bought, what model issit and how much and where did u get it from? thankew! :P