nolit

5-room Hdb

hi butterfingerz..

oh comfort design furniture at ubi ave 7... we been there too... they specailized in chairs for alot of commercial... u can almost find any chair there...

we may return to get some stuff, have not bought anything from there yet...

wow look like I have been to many furniture places... phew...

Hi butterfingerzz,

Can I check with you how's the stuff @ comfortfurniture? Have you bought from them?

I went there to have a look 2 months back & felt that the quality of their display pieces is abit on the downside.

Hi butterfingerzz,

Can I check with you how's the stuff @ comfortfurniture? Have you bought from them?

I went there to have a look 2 months back & felt that the quality of their display pieces is abit on the downside.

i didnt hv a chance to chk out hows the quality cos when i got there the place was closed... :P only did window shopping. i went to the one in beach road. prob try to go down again in the next couple of days..

will let u know k.. :D

Edited by butterfingerzz

hi amrasenelya,

i'm back after another hectic weekend, i think i drove like 250km over 2 days...

ok the kitchen solid top has some major problem as one side was not straight and left slanted gap which is not acceptable... need to retify or even redo that part... haiz... see how my contractor is going to settle that. he's also angry that the solid top people didn't change it and instead sealed it up...

painting is 90% done, haiz the place looks purplish under lighting when we chose lilac white for the walls... is there no white that is closing to white but not matex white?

some stainless steel stuff to be fixed up, a light to be fixed... I would say the place is 90% completed...

I gotten a silver metallic fridge and a white WM (both samsung)... I think the metallic fridge will complement the otherwise overly red/white kitchen... i like my dark grey kitchen tiles too...

i think my contractor is going to finish up and wash up today and tomorrow doing some rectification, wed going to install a glass door and a shower screen (broken during dismantling)... so the real handover may not be realised till tue/wed

bed is going to come in on 22nd and the rest of big items coming on 28th... we did went to hommage (near my current home), price is good, the boss is friendly, except we are not too sure about the quality. for now i cannot really convince myself on the workmanship yet... but i would recommend anyone to visit there to take a good look, they have most designs currently the market has at an unbeatable price (but the boss will frankly tell u that the workmanship may lose out a bit), then again, some shops in FM and IFC also selling similar stuff, similar average workmanship at a price 100% higher.

still finger-crossing good luck!

hey nolit!

glad to see ur contractor taking responsibility for the solid top error even though not his fault la and hopefully it has been rectified already.. cus today 23rd liao! :)

hmm did u try looking at nippon's chalk white and cotton white? they look very white to me.. for us we had iris white (abit greyish), and lilac white for the rooms to match the feature wall colour..

have u started cleaning up and movin some stuffs in? our targetted HO given by contractor is 2nd week of jan.. yay! good lucks to u too! :D

ok, all small rectifications were done up, except now waiting for the new solid top (partial only)

yes 23rd liao... we have our bed delivered and we settled it... lucky everything was ready in the MBR by today.

all lights up, 1 wall repainted... kitchen glass door up....

yah lilac white for my house... look purplish at nite under the lights... abit er... hmmm why I didnt see cotton white? the repainted wall was chosen bluebell white but turn out bluish instead of greyish thus doesnt match the other purplish walls (when we wanted was greyish feature wall with white)... but bluish feature with purplish just did not look nice according to my WTB... my contractor just laughed and helped us repaint...

big furniture are coming in on 28th though may have to delay the fridge to prevent the dust from the solid top work... to be confirmed again...

haiz... what a hectic christmas!

there are some hiccups here and there...

Rectification

Kitchen Table Top: The guys came on Monday 28 Dec to cut off the problematic portion and yesterday came to fix it. I have not seen it yet. Hope it all well now.

Guestroom: Monday I found partial of a wall dividing the 2 guestrooms to be problematic, the contractor came down to take a look and advise that maybe the plastering of the wall had came off thus the bulge. options are to get HDB to inspect and do or just ask the contractor to fix it if no time to wait HDB. So the contractor will be hacking of the problem area and fix it up and repaint. should be doing today and tomorrow... sigh. we missed our auspicious day becos of this delay. got to find another day.

Delivery:

Turbo Hob: Decided to buy a cooker hob and bought Turbo from Citygas since got discount. On last Sat, we waited 4 hours in the afternoon but no one turn up. no one ans the only number we called. Monday, called up the distributor (Happiness), made my blood boiled. they said their people came at afternoon but no one in, so they left a card asking us to reschedule. So I argued with them that they didn't call before coming which was what they promised and 2ndly no one came while we were and 3rdly since when was delivery to be like singpost, leave a card if you are not around... harlow, they can just call if no one open the door. The customer service lady even shouted at me that, no, they will not call one, they don't call they just go there at the time (btw they said 3-7pm, 4 hours expect me to wait at the door front? what if I am in the toilet and they just left a card and go? use that little brain customer service lady). ok after some argument and even shouted at me when they refuse to deliver on the following monday 28th, they asked citygas to call me. ok the friendlier citygas lady at least understood the idiot way of delivery Happiness does. Reluctantly I got the delivery done on Tue 29th 10-12pm.

Barang Barang: careful, friendly, organized, efficient, very professional delivery by them (kudos)

OM: sent me a wrong / poorest quality tv console. at least after I called, the delivery people came back took a look, took down my complaint and went back. I went down their showroom to confirm that the one I bought is not the one delivered (yellowish and very poor workmanship drawer, drawer no soft close, rusty metal railing when there should not be railing, obvious nail marks below the paint, etc). They delivered a good one next day on 29th noon. Not bad for the efficient replacement after I went down to complain. But again disappointed me for sending me a ****to stuff.

AudioHouse: Delayed delivery (3-6pm) sent at 745pm. At least called to info will be late. Friendly guys, fast setup, good explanation. So far so good, 7 days 1-to-1 exchange, any idea how to test the TV is ok?

Courts Fridge & WM: Coming today... hopefully all well.

Edited by nolit

oh dear!

the Happiness staff is really very rude leh! :curse:

we also having problem with our hob, not from turbo/happiness though. delayed for over a month. about to change brand and model already becus we cant wait also, den miraculously they said the shipment reached singapore.. hopefully this sat when they deliver they wont fly me kite! :unsure:

ahhh, ive seen a similar case from OM as urs.. i also have stuff from OM, but unable to deliver on time as well cus i informed them late, so will have no dining table and coffee table until after i officially move in.. :unsure:

eh.. TV like monitor right? check for dead pixels? white pixels? :dunno:

Yes.. alot of frustration, but lucky I talked to the lady at OM Joo Seng personally she then followed up for me. She sounds sincere cos she said herself also disappointed the furniture she sold was delivered wrongly. Her name is Leena and I think she has good service.

TV like not very clear and the person said is because of the tv points of my home which is poor quality kind... he said if use Starhub HD point then will be good. true?

Yes.. alot of frustration, but lucky I talked to the lady at OM Joo Seng personally she then followed up for me. She sounds sincere cos she said herself also disappointed the furniture she sold was delivered wrongly. Her name is Leena and I think she has good service.

TV like not very clear and the person said is because of the tv points of my home which is poor quality kind... he said if use Starhub HD point then will be good. true?

TV points poor quality? these are supplied by HDB or newly changed by ur contractor?

finally after some rectifications (thought not the most satisfied especially the kitchen solid top) and 60% of my furniture are in... time to show some before and after photos...

well I came away knowing that reno is a tough and tedious process especially when you have to monitor the progress to ensure things are going according to what you envisioned. but human to human communication is always challenging and its not easy to find very skillful and professional contractors and subcontractors... I can go on asking for more rectifications but it may take another few months or minor work, hacking, painting, reasoning, payment etc... is 99% as good as 100%? is getting an ID better than a general contractor? I not sure, but I may try ID the next time, just to know the difference. till then... for you to ponder...

Main door entrance walkway... false wall designed by my WTB

entrancer.th.jpg

Left 2 are the before and right 2 are the after reno living and dining areas

livingkitchen.th.jpg

My tv console, piano black and sleek, after they redelivered a new and correct set to me

tvconsole.th.jpg

Top left hand corner is the before and others are the after reno... red and white shelves, grey floor, metallic fridge and splashback

kitchenx.th.jpg

Left 2 are the before mbr and right 3 are the after reno mbr

mbr.th.jpg

finally after some rectifications (thought not the most satisfied especially the kitchen solid top) and 60% of my furniture are in... time to show some before and after photos...

well I came away knowing that reno is a tough and tedious process especially when you have to monitor the progress to ensure things are going according to what you envisioned. but human to human communication is always challenging and its not easy to find very skillful and professional contractors and subcontractors... I can go on asking for more rectifications but it may take another few months or minor work, hacking, painting, reasoning, payment etc... is 99% as good as 100%? is getting an ID better than a general contractor? I not sure, but I may try ID the next time, just to know the difference. till then... for you to ponder...

Main door entrance walkway... false wall designed by my WTB

Left 2 are the before and right 2 are the after reno living and dining areas

My tv console, piano black and sleek, after they redelivered a new and correct set to me

Top left hand corner is the before and others are the after reno... red and white shelves, grey floor, metallic fridge and splashback

Left 2 are the before mbr and right 3 are the after reno mbr

Hi nolit,

Great reno you had.... :good: ...great job well done...

i like ur walkway! looks like condo entrance leh..

and hor, btw the original state of ur place looks quite good already from the "pre" pics...

take more pics when ure decorating ur home! :P