amrasenelya

Amras And Enelya's Home..

We are considering to get our cable plan from Starhub, cus we will want to go for Starhub cable tv, so makes more sense to take all in 1 package...

Now, Starhub has 2 kinds of plans for cable maxonline,

- 2Mbps with cable TV and home line @ $41

- 8Mbps with cable TV and home line @ $59

only 2 of us surfing, we do surf alot but not so much downloads.. but I cannot tahan slowness while surfing..

The stupid thing about this is, if we sign up for the 2Mbps plan now, within the next 24 months, we cannot upgrade to the 8Mbps plan, even if we're willing to pay! :blink:

So, 2Mbps or 8Mbps?? anybody using 2Mbps and find it v slow? :unsure:

- 2Mbps with cable TV and home line - $22+ after discount

- 8Mbps with cable TV and home line - $44+ after discount

See prices here:

http://www.starhub.com/broadband/homebroadband.html

I went to the Starhub outlet 2 weeks ago and saw there was a promo. Sign up for 8Mbps, Maxonline Express and get a free desktop computer! :D

I have both accounts, 8Mbps (Maxonline Express) and 2Mbps (Maxonline Surflite). 1 for my parents' house, 1 for my rented room now. I find Surflite very slow, crawling like snail at peak hours 6pm to 11pm. If you can't tahan slowness, go for the 8Mbps one (Maxonline Express). Somemore, now it comes with a free desktop computer leh. Last time when I signed up for it, I had to pay $59 monthly and there was only free home line.

Sharing my 2 cents worth about the two Starhub plans. :)

i am considering this MIO Mobile at $70.93 which consists of the following..

SingTel Mobile

iTwo Value

- 300 mins (outgoing)

- Free Incoming Call

- 500 SMS

- FREE Caller ID (worth $5.35)

- FREE Autoroam (worth $10.70)

SingNet BroadBand

3Mbps Unlimited

mio Voice

- Unlimited locals calls on your

home phone

- FREE Caller Alert

OR maybe I should get this starhub Home Hub Pack Lite at $41.73 per month

MaxOnline SurfLite 2Mbps home broadband plan

From 23 channels±

+

FREE 3 months HubStation DVR set-top box

+

Free 6 months Basic Upsize

Home phone line with unlimited local calls##

+

Keep your existing number for FREE

+

FREE Voice-enabled cable modem

but wonder how much i have to pay after the 3 months free dvr set-top box

OR maybe i just get the maxonline surflite 2mpbs at $22.47 per month, free voice modem, free home line with unlimited local calls

but activation fees below are deterring me :D

# MaxOnline activation fee of $32.10 is chargeable for the activation of each new MaxOnline access plan.

# An activation fee of $42.80 is chargeable for New Digital Voice customers.

Edited by ossify

Wah ! Nice... The glass panel in sliding or fix panel ? can't really tell from the picture... also can share the model/cost & contact of your KDK fan ? Thank you ya :)

hey limmike,

thanks! :) its a fixed panel, with a glass door, not in the picture i think.. will take full pic when everything's done up nicely, but got a little issue with the glass, but cannot be rectified properly already.. :(

Our KDK fan is A11YS, small at 44inch, but power wind, as experienced from my friend's fan in her living room.. :P we got it at $165 from Goh Ah Bee in Hougang, 1 month ago we called Hong Liang and they were selling at $160, then when we wanted to buy 1 week ago, they say no stock and upped the price to $200+! :bangwall:

- 2Mbps with cable TV and home line - $22+ after discount

- 8Mbps with cable TV and home line - $44+ after discount

See prices here:

http://www.starhub.com/broadband/homebroadband.html

I passed by Starhub outlet 2 weeks ago and saw there was a promo. New signups for 8Mbps, Maxonline Express gets a free desktop computer.

I have both accounts, 8Mbps (Maxonline Express) and 2Mbps (Maxonline Surflite). 1 for my parents' house, 1 for my rented room now. I find Surflite very slow, crawling like snail at peak hours 6pm to 11pm. If you can't tahan slowness, go for the 8Mbps one (Maxonline Express). Somemore, now it comes with a free desktop computer leh. Last time when I signed up for it, I had to pay $59 monthly and there was only free home line.

Sharing my 2 cents worth about the two Starhub plans. :)

Thanks forgotten! looks like we gotta get the 8Mbps one then.. :unsure: but hor, the link u showed me, only has maxonline with free home line.. dun have cable TV leh.. with cable TV is $41+, and $59+ for 2Mbps and 8Mbps respectively... and, i dun see the free desktop promo leh! where where? :P

OR maybe I should get this starhub Home Hub Pack Lite at $41.73 per month

MaxOnline SurfLite 2Mbps home broadband plan

From 23 channels±

+

FREE 3 months HubStation DVR set-top box

+

Free 6 months Basic Upsize

Home phone line with unlimited local calls##

+

Keep your existing number for FREE

+

FREE Voice-enabled cable modem

but wonder how much i have to pay after the 3 months free dvr set-top box

OR maybe i just get the maxonline surflite 2mpbs at $22.47 per month, free voice modem, free home line with unlimited local calls

but activation fees below are deterring me :D

# MaxOnline activation fee of $32.10 is chargeable for the activation of each new MaxOnline access plan.

# An activation fee of $42.80 is chargeable for New Digital Voice customers.

Hey ossify, ya we were considering between Home hub pack lite, or Home hub pack... but as to wad forgotten has mentioned, 2Mbps is crawling speed for peak hours... anw, u dun watch much tv, maybe can forgo the cable Tv part..

yup! i saw the activation fees.. i think 1st payment for all these will be about $100.. :unsure:

If u keep the Hubstation, its additional $4 +gst per month after the free 3 months, if u use the normal set top box (not hubstation, cannot record) will be free i think...

if u want additional normal set top box ie for ur mbr tv, its $4 +gst per month, and additional $8 +gst per month if u want additional hubstation.. :P

Thanks forgotten! looks like we gotta get the 8Mbps one then.. :unsure: but hor, the link u showed me, only has maxonline with free home line.. dun have cable TV leh.. with cable TV is $41+, and $59+ for 2Mbps and 8Mbps respectively... and, i dun see the free desktop promo leh! where where? :P

If you also want cable tv, then you can look at the other bundle packages that include cable tv and internet hehe.

http://www.starhub.com/promotions/hubbing/97569.html

http://www.starhub.com/promotions/hubbing/89569.html

http://www.starhub.com/promotions/hubbing/96833.html

My family and I don't need the cable tv.

Free desktop promo - It was on the web site weeks ago. oops.. if the web site doesn't show it anymore, it probably means the promo is over. :P

If you also want cable tv, then you can look at the other bundle packages that include cable tv and internet hehe.

http://www.starhub.com/promotions/hubbing/97569.html

http://www.starhub.com/promotions/hubbing/89569.html

http://www.starhub.com/promotions/hubbing/96833.html

My family and I don't need the cable tv.

Free desktop promo - It was on the web site weeks ago. oops.. if the web site doesn't show it anymore, it probably means the promo is over. :P

ya lo, thats the promos i was looking at.. i want more free stuff! my lappy dying on me soon..

thankew anyway! :D

Carpentry coming in today! :D

cant wait to see part of it in action... main bulk of the reno, and less than 2 weeks from HO..

hope everything sui sui! *cross fingers*

congrats on coming to your final lap of your reno. do post your sui sui carpentry when it is done up... :)

Day 34 of reno.. Day 1 of carpentry.. :D

IMG_1161.jpgIMG_1178.jpg

Kitchen cabinets up! Semi dark kitchen cus one of the lights not working.. cabinets looking good.. :good: the pewter laminates not wavy at all from the side view, but the piano white laminates sadly abit wavy.. even though both are 1mm thick..

IMG_1181.jpg

these are plywood which are more sturdy than compressed wood.. but i wonder why those vertical ones are individual pieces pieced tgt? :dunno:

IMG_1174.jpgIMG_1163.jpg

Master toilet and common toilet's vanity is up too.. :dribble: Common toilet no solid top to save abit of money..

Realise the drainage hole for common vanity is cut wrongly, hence got extra space beside the pipe.. i wonder how they gonna fix that? remove the whole board or just use laminates to cover up? but xiao qiang very invincible can crawl thru small hole one leh.. :unsure:

are you installing blum for your carpentry??

Hey joseeng,

nope we not installing blum.. ex leh.. :blink: but we thinking of getting this soft closing thing from ikea for the cupboard doors.. 6 pieces for $9.. bought 1 pack alr.. maybe will put on some inconspicuous cabinet just to test it out.. :P

Hey joseeng,

nope we not installing blum.. ex leh.. :blink: but we thinking of getting this soft closing thing from ikea for the cupboard doors.. 6 pieces for $9.. bought 1 pack alr.. maybe will put on some inconspicuous cabinet just to test it out.. :P

does your carpenter install them for u?

hey joseeng,

hmm we have not told the carpenter or the one installing the carpentry for us, but shouldnt be a problem, its only 1 screw for the door. but if they refuse to install, then we'll screw in ourselves lo.. :P this is a pic of it we took at ikea today.. ;)

sP1050434.jpg

IMG_1181.jpg

these are plywood which are more sturdy than compressed wood.. but i wonder why those vertical ones are individual pieces pieced tgt? :dunno:

Hey Amrasenelya. Not sure but below is the definition of plywood.

Definition of plywood: A structural material made of layers of wood glued together, usually with the grains of adjoining layers at right angles to each other.