amrasenelya

Amras And Enelya's Home..

Hello!

First up, thank you to those who've kindly supplied us with answers to our little questions via pms.. ;)

Finally gotten off my lazy butt and start this tblog after surfing around ever since we OTP-ed in july on our 1st place together..

It was a long journey from the start after having balloted for i think 10 BTOs and leftover flats from hage-dee-bee and never getting queue numbers less than 1000, (well only once got 400+ but our top 3 choices were snapped up 1 day before our selection date! :( )

Also tiring is the process of calling up agents from newspapers for the 1st 2 months after giving up on govt supply, every weekend viewing abt 6-8 flats in sengkang/punggol area till we know where which blocks are... well no choice cus we have a specific layout plus own preference, makes it all the more difficult to find something that fits into our criteria..

So finally we succumbed and got a few agents to look for flats fitting our criteria.. and finally saw one in july... after viewing about 57 flats :blink: (yes we kept a record of every flat! haha)

Here it goes... our ulu punggol 5-room resale floor plan...

FloorPlan.jpg

Hello!

First up, thank you to those who've kindly supplied us with answers to our little questions via pms.. ;)

Finally gotten off my lazy butt and start this tblog after surfing around ever since we OTP-ed in july on our 1st place together..

It was a long journey from the start after having balloted for i think 10 BTOs and leftover flats from hage-dee-bee and never getting queue numbers less than 1000, (well only once got 400+ but our top 3 choices were snapped up 1 day before our selection date! :( )

Also tiring is the process of calling up agents from newspapers for the 1st 2 months after giving up on govt supply, every weekend viewing abt 6-8 flats in sengkang/punggol area till we know where which blocks are... well no choice cus we have a specific layout plus own preference, makes it all the more difficult to find something that fits into our criteria..

So finally we succumbed and got a few agents to look for flats fitting our criteria.. and finally saw one in july... after viewing about 57 flats :blink: (yes we kept a record of every flat! haha)

FloorPlan.jpg

Welcome~~your kitchen is Big! @.@

hello and thankew! ure fast! :P

but actually the kitchen isnt very big.. cus part of it is eaten away by space taken up by the washer... also got no space to put tall cabinet in kitchen..

jus went to see ur flat layout.. ur kitchen is L shape.. and bigger! :P

Edited by amrasenelya

Hello!

FloorPlan.jpg

Love the layout !!!! Very nice and easy to design around it :)

hello and thankew! ure fast! :P

but actually the kitchen isnt very big.. cus part of it is eaten away by space taken up by the washer... also got no space to put tall cabinet in kitchen..

jus went to see ur flat layout.. ur kitchen is L shape.. and bigger! :P

i c nehh~~~mine is L-shape but oso not big lah...when with cabinet on it....hahahaah....left with a small 'passageway'.... :bangwall:

when ur reno starting? gotten ID/contractor???

Love the layout !!!! Very nice and easy to design around it :)

Hey kaleidoscope,

hehe thanks! yeap easy to design cus all squarish and no funny corners, but due to FS ah, very headache also leh... later u'll see when i post up our design...

i c nehh~~~mine is L-shape but oso not big lah...when with cabinet on it....hahahaah....left with a small 'passageway'.... :bangwall:

when ur reno starting? gotten ID/contractor???

haha mine too, cus we'll be doin it into a L, so need to walk an S shape to get to the washer!

yup we've gotten our contractor alr.. yay! we'll be getting keys on 18th nov... starting reno on 19th... cant wait man! :huh:

2D perspective of what we would like our home to be..

2Dv22.jpg

Colour theme will be mostly white, grey and black.. but will probably inject some colours into one wall in each of the bedrooms..

We've almost gotten an idea of how we would want our entire house to be, except for the most important room, our master bedroom.. well, prolly only the colour combi and laminate material of the study area and wardrobe undecided ba..

2D perspective of what we would like our home to be..

2Dv22.jpg

Colour theme will be mostly white, grey and black.. but will probably inject some colours into one wall in each of the bedrooms..

We've almost gotten an idea of how we would want our entire house to be, except for the most important room, our master bedroom.. well, prolly only the colour combi and laminate material of the study area and wardrobe undecided ba..

Hey you got the same color theme as me till my FSM steps in and say no :(

anyway congrats :)

hehhehe, thank u fellas.

kopi, my FSM say no red and green only.. phew.. but u'd see an odd arrangement in the house later on.. different school of FS i reckon.. :)

dsman, comin right up on contractors/id! :)

simon, my pre reno pics got the owners and our parents face.. must mosaic first bef i can post up... hehhe..

Next up was the process of looking for a ID/contractor, which we'd started in july..

Main concern:

Design: no need very fanciful, we want to keep it simple and clean cut too :rolleyes:

Time issues: 6-7 weeks of reno, cannot be delayed much as we needed the house if possible by early Jan due to our wedding in end of Jan..

Response time: easily contactable (i'll go crazy if i cant find my contractor! haha)

Quality: wanna stay here for a longer period of time, if i can.. so must be decent..

Reviews: Whats better than a real life review? of course, not everybody under same company has the same group of workers..

and of course..

Budget: more for less, with a decent price tag... no need dirt cheap, but we aint rich, so gotta keep it low..

We've looked up a total of 7..

1. Ideal H*use.. Quotation was ok, but alot of things left out cus they were the 1st ID that we approached, so things like the huge glass panel in the doorway wasnt included.. But what irks me was that after 4-5 weeks of giving us the quotation, we told him we were still waiting for a few more quotations from other IDs, he said, "why? the rest not interested to do for u ah?" sth like trying to put down others...

2. Renoz*ne.. highly recommended by a frd, ideas seem good, but quotation was way out of our tiny budget...

3. U-H*me.. also recommended to my hubby by a forummer, the ID seems ok, detailed and very honest with his opinions, promised to check some stuff out like whether can find remaining tiles from HDB for our resale flat if we needed more toilet wall tiles in case during hacking of floor, some wall tiles are damaged.. but quotation and queries werent answered after > 3 weeks.. ID called hubby back more than 4 weeks later and apologised due to some family matters and wanted to meet up instead of sending us the quotations, we asked for email quote, but it never came..

4. Henry ID-N*te.. Had quite a good chat, easy going guy, estimated our reno to be less than 20k (within our budget!) but quotation came back exceeded by 10k.. However, thanks to Supersimon and wifey for letting us view his place! :)

5. Jas*n U&B.. Seems quite easygoing.. gave him a list of what we needed to be done and colour printed drawings of what we want, cus we thought contractor, maybe better to show directly instead of just saying to minimise miscommunications.. But 2 weeks later, requested us to fill in his excel and email him... quotation came back totally missing out on all the things we want... i think the list of action and colour printed drawings MIA liao..

6. Yeak.. Very good reviews.. emailed him our list of actions and drawings as well, but no quotations after 3 weeks, hubby called and chased, but still no quotations came after more than 6 weeks..

7. Henry Impress21.. also emailed him our list of actions and drawings, quotations came fairly quickly, abt 1 week.. decent amount.. so we decided to meet up and discuss further on the quotation.. Next few revision of the quotes were reasonable, and we were brought by Henry to view Rasp's place.. Seeing Rasp's place and her very detailed reviews (thanks girl!), set our minds at ease. Very easily contactable and prompt in sending us the info we need.

Usually they say, its either the 1st or the last fella u approach... so in our case, we've given our house reno job to Impress21.. Even though the drawings arent superbly impressive and digitalised like most here, we dun mind, cus its not difficult for me to put into softcopy and add in the colours.. I dun mind doing these if it helps to keep the cost low.. :)

On a side note.. we'll be getting our keys on the 2nd appt in exactly 3 more weeks and starting reno in 22 days! yay! :dancingqueen:

Edited by amrasenelya

7. Henry Impress21.. also emailed him our list of actions and drawings, quotations came fairly quickly, abt 1 week.. decent amount.. so we decided to meet up and discuss further on the quotation.. Next few revision of the quotes were reasonable, and we were brought by Henry to view Rasp's place.. Seeing Rasp's place and her very detailed reviews (thanks girl!), set our minds at ease. Very easily contactable and prompt in sending us the info we need.

Usually they say, its either the 1st or the last fella u approach... so in our case, we've given our house reno job to Impress21.. Even though the drawings arent superbly impressive and digitalised like most here, we dun mind, cus its not difficult for me to put into softcopy and add in the colours.. I dun mind doing these if it helps to keep the cost low.. :)

Wah....he can meet your budget ah? nice...... :)

care to PM me the quote you got from Impress21? Do include his email too :)

Thanx !

Wah....he can meet your budget ah? nice...... :)

care to PM me the quote you got from Impress21? Do include his email too :)

Thanx !

actually he cant meet our budget too.. hes not the lowest quote too but one of the 2 lowest but we felt at ease with him, and he could do our reno within our stipulated time frame.. dats the main factor... i dun wana keep chasing...

ok no probs! i'll pm u tmr cus its in pdf.. :)