dmay

Makeover Kitchen + Toilets

Not much update.

My kitchen was suppose to be up next Tue. But Henry say cannot cos not yet do the cement screen for the blacony & wood floor, will be very dusty.

So yesterday I think think think then I don't care him send a 'commanding' message:

1) Cement screen today

2) Acid wash Friday

3) Paint Monday

It works :good:

He immediately say will arrange and then call back say cement screen done liao. Acid wash either Sun or Tue (worker not free) and paint next week too... Must really put some pressure on him if not things are moving a little slowly...

The good news was my kitchen can be delayed by 1 week to the 23rd Nov, so timing is perfect :yeah:

BTW, can I check if it's normal that you don't see much of Henry? Cos the only time I see him is when he wants me to make payment :unsure: Of cos can get him on the phone but some things are easier to say face to face then thru' phone... and he's always so busy, not sure if he paying attention.

Like that day told him shower screen on hold, let me think first. Then he say cannot, measure liao (???), why, thot you always wanted... BUT I'm always against shower screen. That's the first thing I told him that I don't want but he kept saying it wld be useful to prevent the toilet to be wet... sigh... So i very firm say ON HOLD... Toilet too small, think don't want... Then he, ok ok..

But overall he is a nice guy lah. All his sub-con are good workers too, so no complain on the workmanship. Think he just too busy....

BTW, I'll like to hv wood-framed frosted glass bi-fold doors for the toilets, anyone uses such pls advice.

Thx

Not much update.

My kitchen was suppose to be up next Tue. But Henry say cannot cos not yet do the cement screen for the blacony & wood floor, will be very dusty.

So yesterday I think think think then I don't care him send a 'commanding' message:

1) Cement screen today

2) Acid wash Friday

3) Paint Monday

It works :good:

He immediately say will arrange and then call back say cement screen done liao. Acid wash either Sun or Tue (worker not free) and paint next week too... Must really put some pressure on him if not things are moving a little slowly...

The good news was my kitchen can be delayed by 1 week to the 23rd Nov, so timing is perfect :yeah:

BTW, can I check if it's normal that you don't see much of Henry? Cos the only time I see him is when he wants me to make payment :unsure: Of cos can get him on the phone but some things are easier to say face to face then thru' phone... and he's always so busy, not sure if he paying attention.

Like that day told him shower screen on hold, let me think first. Then he say cannot, measure liao (???), why, thot you always wanted... BUT I'm always against shower screen. That's the first thing I told him that I don't want but he kept saying it wld be useful to prevent the toilet to be wet... sigh... So i very firm say ON HOLD... Toilet too small, think don't want... Then he, ok ok..

But overall he is a nice guy lah. All his sub-con are good workers too, so no complain on the workmanship. Think he just too busy....

Ha U power sia .... send him 'commanding' message .... But me same ..... I die die ask him to finish less then 4 week cos closet coming my place do wardrobe mah ...

For me .... I hardly see him too ... So how we communicate is ... I went up at night , I post the post tape on the place I want him to rectify , example: Bi-fold door cannot door properly , Painting here much rectify etc etc

Then morning he go up he will see le.

Last time I also tot he din go up until there is a chance I happen to met Ar hao then he told me “henry everyday go up ar … this morn he jus scold me for doing so slow …”

What to do, don't want to delay my kitchen till Dec mah... so have to be firm lor ;) But he good lah, managed to arrange everything within like 2 hrs :)

So my acid wash scheduled for Tue and I'll meet the painter on the same day to confirm color.

BTW hor, I heard someone say the fumes from the acid wash will 'rust' some metal, how true is it?

Thx thx. Actually I got a t-blog under dmay mah :P

Thx for the detailed breakdown. I must have remembered the price wrongly then... My top cabinet are not glass and there is nothing on top of it, so there are more choices, which means more headache too :P

Better decide fast and give classic a call :unsure:

BTW, can I know where did you get all your Grohe stuff?

Hi, just found your blog.. :D I got my Grohe stuff at Hydrostyle in Park Mall.. They are one of the distributors for Grohe in SG.

Thx :)

We just got ours from Home & Bathroom @ Balestier yesterday :P

But nothing as cool as yours... just normal fittings...

BTW, I called up Blum the other day to confirm the price. The HL is really >$200. Even the HS is abt $180 wor...The cheapest is HK, abt $85 i think... I'll check out the authorised dealer @ Bt. Timah to see if it will be cheaper there...

Thx :)

We just got ours from Home & Bathroom @ Balestier yesterday :P

But nothing as cool as yours... just normal fittings...

BTW, I called up Blum the other day to confirm the price. The HL is really >$200. Even the HS is abt $180 wor...The cheapest is HK, abt $85 i think... I'll check out the authorised dealer @ Bt. Timah to see if it will be cheaper there...

Before you buy the Blum, better confirm with the carpenter regarding the dimensions and weight of the door first.

Sure, thx for your advice :D

HELP!!! :help: :help:

Need a bi-fold wooden with glass panel door for our common toilet. Darling contractor quote us $1K!

Anyone got lobang for this pls... thx so much :)

Our MBR's toilet door were installed and I was pretty upset about it.

I think I have see a fair share of bi-fold doors, but never have I even come across one that is like that leh...

master_toilet.jpgmaster_toilet1.jpg

See the 2 little small square, that's the handle. You have to use your finger to pull out the handle to open the door. I tried, it's quite painful on the finger and not very user-friendly. Also, my husband commented that if the handle is not place back into position, it will 'jam' the door.

Called up my contractor immediately to ask why is the handle for the toilet like that... the sad thing is... he don't even know what was installed :(

I admitted that it is my fault for not even looking at the design of the bi-fold door before installation, cos to me, bi-fold door quite standard mah... Was very angry with my contractor cos he say, but you even know how a PD door looks like, you don't know how a bi-fold door looks like mah :furious:

So I told him : Precisely I have seen enough bi-fold door to know that this is not a 'standard kind'! So I send him email with photos of my door and photos of 'standard' door ... so angry with him. And hor, this door is not alot cheaper than the PD door, think I was quote abt $300+ per door, also don't understand why so expensive... Think I ganna 'chop carrot' liao! Will bargain on this again....

So I told him yesterday to show me the design of the wooden bi-fold door for my common toilet before installation cos I want to make sure the design is ok. Then today he told me, maybe tmr will install the wooden bi-fold door. So I say but I need you to show me the design before installation mah, he like... errrr... So I told him I don't care, you better show me how it looks like first before installing, if not, even if your guy come I will not let them install... :bleah:

I think I have see a fair share of bi-fold doors, but never have I even come across one that is like that leh...

See the 2 little small square, that's the handle. You have to use your finger to pull out the handle to open the door. I tried, it's quite painful on the finger and not very user-friendly. Also, my husband commented that if the handle is not place back into position, it will 'jam' the door.

Called up my contractor immediately to ask why is the handle for the toilet like that... the sad thing is... he don't even know what was installed :(

I admitted that it is my fault for not even looking at the design of the bi-fold door before installation, cos to me, bi-fold door quite standard mah... Was very angry with my contractor cos he say, but you even know how a PD door looks like, you don't know how a bi-fold door looks like mah :furious:

So I told him : Precisely I have seen enough bi-fold door to know that this is not a 'standard kind'! So I send him email with photos of my door and photos of 'standard' door ... so angry with him. And hor, this door is not alot cheaper than the PD door, think I was quote abt $300+ per door, also don't understand why so expensive... Think I ganna 'chop carrot' liao! Will bargain on this again....

So I told him yesterday to show me the design of the wooden bi-fold door for my common toilet before installation cos I want to make sure the design is ok. Then today he told me, maybe tmr will install the wooden bi-fold door. So I say but I need you to show me the design before installation mah, he like... errrr... So I told him I don't care, you better show me how it looks like first before installing, if not, even if your guy come I will not let them install... :bleah:

Is this door done by henry ??? look different from my one leh . My one is those bottom track normal bi-fold door . He got show me the sample in his shop before . He say only 1 kind .

Hi dmay, $300 per door is expensive. I was quoted $360 for 2 doors. And usually there's a 'panel' in the middle for you to pull and push. But that's usually the kind with 4 glass panels.

Yalor, I also think it's expensive. But he say cos I want top-hung only, no bottom track, that's why it cost a little more... but even that... I don't care, will bargain with him again.

Simon, yalor, I told him bi-fold door very standard mah, then why mine so different leh... I was very angry with him cos he kept taking side for his sub-con, he shd help me as his customer mah :(

I really regret not getting this done directly from the supplier myself :~

Yalor, I also think it's expensive. But he say cos I want top-hung only, no bottom track, that's why it cost a little more... but even that... I don't care, will bargain with him again.

Simon, yalor, I told him bi-fold door very standard mah, then why mine so different leh... I was very angry with him cos he kept taking side for his sub-con, he shd help me as his customer mah :(

I really regret not getting this done directly from the supplier myself :~

Oh ... if I am not wrong , top hung is really more exp. But i'm not sure how much.

Maybe top-hung design different ? Anyone done up top hung bi-fold ? Can advice Dmay ?