ejzoen

Someone Kena Rob After Moving In

Recently, i gotta hear abt someones home kena rob.

They did sm minor renovation & after they move in for 1 mth to this new plc.

And on 1 evening, after they come home from work, they realized that all valuables are missing...

Bcos its a new estate, there were no witness cos no1 along d corridor is at home...

The house owner claim there were no signs of force entry.

Lucky no1 got hurt, u could imagine if they come armed in d middle of the nite.. scary... like stories u hear in M'sia..

I reckon that it could be an insider job.. prob contractors had duplicated the keys

& knew d location quite well to carry this out flawlessly.

My knowledge to share:

I would recommend all new home owners to change their cylinders with a brand new set of keys once they started to move in & all contractors are out.

I've done mine & i can sleep in peace @ nite..

Cylinders are the small component within d locks where you slot in d keys.

its only a fraction of d cost of changing the whole lock.

The cheapest will range from $20+

& if you wish to go for High-security keys,

they are range from $45 onwards depending on brands & level of security.

Some High-Security keys offer NON-DUPLICATE & some offers Restricted-Duplicate,

which ensures that housemaids or tenants do not duplicate a extra set to pass ard to others.

You may wish to call 64424904 or email enquiry@contatdecor.com for more details to improve you home security.

This is the lock shop I used, as i thk they got gd service & have quite an extensive product range.

Edited by ejzoen

Recently, i gotta hear abt someones home kena rob.

They did sm minor renovation & after they move in for 1 mth to this new plc in Fernvale.

And on 1 evening, after they come home from work, they realized that all valuables are missing...

Bcos its a new estate, there were no witness cos no1 along d corridor is at home...

The house owner claim there were no signs of force entry.

Lucky no1 got hurt, u could imagine if they come armed in d middle of the nite.. scary... like stories u hear in M'sia..

I reckon that it could be an insider job.. prob contractors had duplicated the keys

& knew d location quite well to carry this out flawlessly.

My knowledge to share:

I would recommend all new home owners to change their cylinders with a brand new set of keys once they started to move in & all contractors are out.

I've done mine & i can sleep in peace @ nite..

Cylinders are the small component within d locks where you slot in d keys.

its only a fraction of d cost of changing the whole lock.

The cheapest will range from $20+

& if you wish to go for High-security keys,

they are range from $45 onwards depending on brands & level of security.

Some High-Security keys offer NON-DUPLICATE & some offers Restricted-Duplicate,

which ensures that housemaids or tenants do not duplicate a extra set to pass ard to others.

You may wish to call 64424904 or email enquiry@contatdecor.com for more details to improve you home security.

This is the lock shop I used, as i thk they got gd service & have quite an extensive product range.

Actually, no matter who you get to change the lock, they will be someone who handle it and had access to the key right?! So what makes it safer for this lock company compared to your ID anyway?!

Its easy to copy keys.

Renovation companies can do it or the previous owner.

Recommend: change all locks after renovation.

I myself have an extra padlock to lock the main gate. No one has the key of that. Only me.

Edited by Caireann

Actually, no matter who you get to change the lock, they will be someone who handle it and had access to the key right?! So what makes it safer for this lock company compared to your ID anyway?!

paiseh paiseh ... Sorry for the unclear descriptions...

what exactly happened during my purchase was...

i called this lock shop & they ask me to email them d foto of the locks. [door+gate]

after that, i make a trip down to their shop & they ofter a range of locks available & explains d features.

they also taught me in their showroom on hw to change d lock myself.

[which is VERY EZ only la.. even my mum cn do it, no point paying those locksmith to come to your house & pay them big$$$]

i got a pair of Yale high security cylinders @ $45 each,

which such models are sold @ $75 in outside shops.

thus i thk its a gd lobang to share w u guys.

Cos they are Cheap, Knowledgeable, friendly service shop.

otherwise any other lock shop in ur neighbourhood also can la..

During the entire buying process "DO NOT REVEAL YOUR HOME ADDRESS!!!"

Cos this IS D.I.Y & its CHEAP & EASY!!

Worse come to Worst:

since u gt d lock in hand liao,

pass it to a locksmith or contractor on d spot then watch them change it infront of u immediately.

so tt they got no opportunity for them to go duplicate it, so tt there is no monkey business.

Edited by ejzoen