rainbowgal

Our First Nest @ Tampines

well well.. finally... after such a long search for contractors/IDs, we finally chose the one!

Getting pretty excited over the renovation of this house because it is our first home! Though we are only getting married next year's oct, we decided to get the house before the price goes up! Luckily, we found this place in Jun 09 and bought it before the property price hikes.

Below is the floorplan of our nest (5 room flat... highest floor (14th floor):

floorplan.jpg

During our contractors/IDs search, we kinda of shortlisted a few to talk so to minimize the hassle to repeat the story so many times.. Like to thank many of the renotalk forum members who provided good advices to us in our search.

Below are the contractors/IDs that we have talked to:

1) The Interior Place - we met up with this young ID.. he is a nice chap.. but the problem is.. he quoted us 53K for our reno. this is far too off from the rest of the IDs/Contractors price. hence, we dropped him.

2) Intradesign - we met up with Irene. Nice lady who tried to save us money. Provided good advice too.. however, the quote is on the high side as compared to the rest. Hence, we dropped her.

3) Ideal House - we met up with Lynn. She was late for more than half an hour for our appt. After talking to her and several emails asking for the quotation, the quote didn't appear. dropped her.. :

4) Tau Design - met up with kelvin for 3-4 times. very nice chap.. he was the 2nd finalist in our search. However, we dropped him as well due my husband to be (HTB) has good chemistry with the chosen one!

5) U&B Reno - Yes, is Jason! We opted for him.. due my HTB's hokkien proficiency matches to his standard. haha.. I shall not let my HTB read this review. Also, we went to view Red_Devil's house and both of us like the way Jason has done for them. Though I had some hesistance in choosing Jason due there were some remarks by one forum member, I decided to opt for Jason due I know my HTB can manage him well. :)

Thanks, Red_Devil for letting us to view your house and your advices!

We haven't gotten the keys to the house yet. Will only get it on 11 Nov. Hence, we will meet up with jason again to discuss.

Meanwhile, we will be going to select tiles on this saturday!

will update soon..

haha.. maybe today is a lucky day!

need abit of help...

between sin lek and hafary, which one is better?

hope to hear from some kind souls soon!

Wow! Gong xi gong xi leh! :sport-smiley-018:

I think you should go to both the shops. Hafary does have more selection of tiles. Sin Lek has less. :thumbs up:

haha.. maybe today is a lucky day!

need abit of help...

between sin lek and hafary, which one is better?

hope to hear from some kind souls soon!

Yes i would suggest you go to both and take a look. red_devil selected all his tiles in Sin Lek and I select all mine in Hafary so i guess it's a personal preference thing :)

But it seems that Hafary tiles is slightly more costly than Sin Lek

Thanks, Red Devil & Coffee_O!

My HTB called Jason and he referred us to Soon Lee Huat at Changi Road as the alternative. Seems that Hafary is not able to deliver the stock that the client wants.

So we will take a look at both Sin Lek And Soon Lee Huat this weekend!

Yes i would suggest you go to both and take a look. red_devil selected all his tiles in Sin Lek and I select all mine in Hafary so i guess it's a personal preference thing :)

But it seems that Hafary tiles is slightly more costly than Sin Lek

welcome! i'm also tampines one.. hehe..

i got mine all from sin lek

Thanks, Red Devil & Coffee_O!

My HTB called Jason and he referred us to Soon Lee Huat at Changi Road as the alternative. Seems that Hafary is not able to deliver the stock that the client wants.

So we will take a look at both Sin Lek And Soon Lee Huat this weekend!

wah... sounds so bad... kopi.. ur tiles confirm liao mah? Jason order for you liao mah?

cos that time we chose ours.. but when uncle ordered.. no more stocks so need to re-pick

wah... sounds so bad... kopi.. ur tiles confirm liao mah? Jason order for you liao mah?

cos that time we chose ours.. but when uncle ordered.. no more stocks so need to re-pick

Ya the sales checked the stock for me le and reserved those that are low on stock :)

so hopefully nothing goes wrong with the tiles

Update

we went to Sin Lek and Soon Bee Huat on saturday..

impression of Sin Lek.. not very friendly plus the selection is quite limited..

we went to Soon Bee Huat at Changi... the showroom was realli WOW.. very impressive.. we managed to steal ideas..

however, we are thinking to Soon Bee Huat at Toh Guan to see if there are more ideas..