melvin 0 Report post Posted February 8, 2010 where you buy the fake leaves? aquarium shop? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted February 8, 2010 Nicely done bro Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CJREDDEVIL 0 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 (edited) DIY green wall. 'Almost' before pic - cos I did 2 pieces before I took the pic: After a few hours... green wall done! Before: After: Will move on to the next stage of 'beautifying' this space! Hee. Hey mickey bro.... Beli nice!!....swee mannn... ..luvs the greenery atmosphere...... ........abt the fake-leaves.....how do you intend to maintain it?...vacumm...???.....seems not so easy huh?. ... cheers! Edited February 9, 2010 by CJREDDEVIL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 (edited) wow!haha...good to go green!haha...but its fake leaves! How many square of the fake leaves u use to paste the entire wire? Hey Rondy. The real ones still in the growing stage. So using the fake ones first. Moreover, there are restrictions in some corners where I can't use real ones. The total area covered with it is bigger than what the pic is showing actually - only showing 1 wall and the bottom part of the window. That wall which u are seeing is 250cmx150cm. One piece is 25cmx25cm. So just for that wall alone require quite a bit. In any case, it is still incomplete la. Hee. where you buy the fake leaves? aquarium shop? From fake plant decoration shops. Edited February 9, 2010 by Mickey M Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 wow, your diy green wall so nice! you gonna put a park bench there? it will be very gardenly lor.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 (edited) Nicely done bro Thanks Kopi. Recently renotalk abit quiet. Where are Angel, New New and the rest. Hey mickey bro.... Beli nice!!....swee mannn... ..luvs the greenery atmosphere...... ........abt the fake-leaves.....how do you intend to maintain it?...vacumm...???.....seems not so easy huh?. ... cheers! Vacuum and wipe with damp clothes. I tried. So should be okie I believe. Hee. wow, your diy green wall so nice! you gonna put a park bench there? it will be very gardenly lor.... Not enough space to put a bench. Anyway, the idea is to replicate a feel of those maze-like gardens in european countries. They have tall green walls if u know what I mean. Hee. Of cos, maybe will add in some disney magic later on. Hee. Edited February 9, 2010 by Mickey M Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 DIY green wall. 'Almost' before pic - cos I did 2 pieces before I took the pic: After a few hours... green wall done! Before: After: Will move on to the next stage of 'beautifying' this space! Hee. Nice DIY. But I also cant bear the thoughts of maintaining them. Hee.. trying not to think about the insect parts... hee.. Im curious about the 3 'door'/ 'hole', will you be putting glass doors or something? Or is it the 'end-product'? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 (edited) Nice DIY. But I also cant bear the thoughts of maintaining them. Hee.. trying not to think about the insect parts... hee.. Im curious about the 3 'door'/ 'hole', will you be putting glass doors or something? Or is it the 'end-product'? Tiling is abit boring. So decided on green walls. Maintenance is always a problem. Hee. Yes. There will be glass doors with white framing. It is mostly clear except that there will be a small mickey mouse motif on each door. Can post the drawing tonight. Hee. Edited February 9, 2010 by Mickey M Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 Tiling is abit boring. So decided on green walls. Maintenance is always a problem. Hee. Yes. There will be glass doors with white framing. It is mostly clear except that there will be a small mickey mouse motif on each door. Can post the drawing tonight. Hee. as long as you keep it untouched, it will at most get dusty. but since nobody will be going to touch it, it won't matter anyway right? let the rain clean it, hope you have drainage there. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CJREDDEVIL 0 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 (edited) Nice DIY. But I also cant bear the thoughts of maintaining them. Hee.. trying not to think about the insect parts... hee.. Im curious about the 3 'door'/ 'hole', will you be putting glass doors or something? Or is it the 'end-product'? the maintenance is definately is always the concern......if the window are kept closed then maybe no problem....but if it's open....the possibility of "insects" might appear..??... ....maybe put some insect repellent?...... Mickey, hope you gave/share some good idea/suggestions on how to maintain it...... .....example ...draining/running it with water..???......ermmm...i might want to do the same decor to my balcony...it really looks very refreshing....nice DIY.....another query....how did you do it to stick those fake-leave on the wall....glue?...or wire-mess....or.....??? cheers! Edited February 9, 2010 by CJREDDEVIL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 Really pei Fu you lor... So creative.. Haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 as long as you keep it untouched, it will at most get dusty. but since nobody will be going to touch it, it won't matter anyway right? let the rain clean it, hope you have drainage there. No la, no drainage. Initially ID suggested to run water pipe and drainage from toilet/kitchen pass the living room and all the way to the wall so that in future if we convert it to the real plants, can actually install irrigation system. But looking at how the water pipe will run behind the carpentry, thought better not. . I guess we can only opt for those irrigation systems where we add water will do and not those that need to connect to a water pipe. the maintenance is definately is always the concern......if the window are kept closed then maybe no problem....but if it's open....the possibility of "insects" might appear..??... ....maybe put some insect repellent?...... Mickey, hope you gave/share some good idea/suggestions on how to maintain it...... .....example ...draining/running it with water..???......ermmm...i might want to do the same decor to my balcony...it really looks very refreshing....nice DIY.....another query....how did you do it to stick those fake-leave on the wall....glue?...or wire-mess....or.....??? cheers! Maintenance is away a problem. Actually, I feel just need to use a vaccum cleaner, low power and connect it to a brusher head if u know what I mean. Just brush through the green wall and it will be clean. Occasionally, it is still gd to clean it with a damp cloth. . I use disney magic to stick it to the wall. Muahahaha. No la. To summarise, I told ID to drill gysum board to the wall and paint it green. Then use a stapler gun to stick it to the wall. Don't use hot glue gun, will melt fake plants. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 Really pei Fu you lor... So creative.. Haha Thanks. Not I creative, ID suggested and finally decided on this. don be surprise with the wndow close,the mighty dust still have their way to settle on your furniture,wall,flloor whatever! I am afraid that the leaves will have cob web after sometimes Oops!Before Mickey stay in we are giving him all these negative feedback,haha... Don't worry la. Jurong is very dusty but I am not afraid at all. I am quite a clean person. So used to cleaning and cleaning and cleaning. Muahaha. And in life, it is always my thoughts to be able to 'wow' people just for short time than being normal for the whole life. Hee. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 Nice DIY. But I also cant bear the thoughts of maintaining them. Hee.. trying not to think about the insect parts... hee.. Im curious about the 3 'door'/ 'hole', will you be putting glass doors or something? Or is it the 'end-product'? Hi Rasp, The 3 door panels will be this: Basically, metal framing and the mickey mouse motifs will all be in white. Lot of clear glass to allow lights to come in. Actually, the only problem we face is the aluminium window frames, not nice. HDB don't allow t change the windows. Will see how.... hmm. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted February 9, 2010 (edited) Looking at my windows, do u think it is aluminium material? Just want to confirm. Hee. New New said can paint. New ah, got time can help me photoshop my green wall pic and change the window frame to white for me? Want to see how it looks like first before painting. Hee. Edited February 9, 2010 by Mickey M Share this post Link to post Share on other sites