Mickey M

Somewhere Over The Rainbow In Jurong West~~

Bought from Novena/White for $599.

On a side note, disappointed with their service. Actually bought 3 small stools from them but they keep on delaying the delivery or forget to deliver. Luckily I insisted them to deliver the coffee table first. They were persuading me to have everything deliver at the same time. Eventually, I told them to refund me the cost of the stools. I would not recommend anyone to buy from Novena. Once bitten twice shy.

8 years ago I bought a sofa from them. They delivered one that is in a slightly different colour because they don't have the fabric we wanted and they did not inform us beforehand, hoping that we won't be able to remember the colour of the fabric we have chosen (super dishonest). But we have actually cut a small piece from their sample and we were able to prove to them that the sofa was in the wrong colour. Yet they refused to refund. After much arguments, we were told to go down to a particular branch to settle everything once and for all. A particular sales representative was assigned to speak to us. When we insisted on refunding, he actually raised his voice and shouted at us. After this experience, I told myself I will never get anything from Novena.

But this time round I get most of my furniture from Living Vision and the service and reliability are just as bad, if not worse. I wonder if there are good and honest furniture shops around :dunno: .

8 years ago I bought a sofa from them. They delivered one that is in a slightly different colour because they don't have the fabric we wanted and they did not inform us beforehand, hoping that we won't be able to remember the colour of the fabric we have chosen (super dishonest). But we have actually cut a small piece from their sample and we were able to prove to them that the sofa was in the wrong colour. Yet they refused to refund. After much arguments, we were told to go down to a particular branch to settle everything once and for all. A particular sales representative was assigned to speak to us. When we insisted on refunding, he actually raised his voice and shouted at us. After this experience, I told myself I will never get anything from Novena.

But this time round I get most of my furniture from Living Vision and the service and reliability are just as bad, if not worse. I wonder if there are good and honest furniture shops around :dunno: .

If u look in renotalk alone, there are many complaints against furniture shops (eg. Red Apple, Mode Studio, Furniture Club). Really don't know whether there are any gd and honest ones around. Maybe the super ex stores will be better (eg. Air, Boconcept)?

But I am pretty satisfied with the sofa custom-made by the sofa maker whom I went to though. Their service is really gd and the price is decent.

I think IKEA should be okie.

That is also another worrying point in reno. After dishonest contractor/id, then furnitures too. Sigh... we are not asking for super service but at least be honest to us.

Edited by gals_mama

That is also another worrying point in reno. After dishonest contractor/id, then furnitures too. Sigh... we are not asking for super service but at least be honest to us.

Yah. It seems like we are always at the losing end.

It would be gd if we have the choice to allow us to pay when the goods are delivered. Before delivery, not a single cent to be paid.

Yah. It seems like we are always at the losing end.

It would be gd if we have the choice to allow us to pay when the goods are delivered. Before delivery, not a single cent to be paid.

Maybe we shd suggest to CASE or some authorities. Or we pay just a small amt to 'yi si yi si' to secure the purchase. Imagine we the consumers got to pay and worry abt being short-changed.

CASE is always there. The problem is we have to go through the hassle. Not many want to go through it.

mickey!!!u must invite me to ur house lei.. i bring my nephew there ok?

he is going to collect his key lei.u got a place at kallang,i want him to WOW at your design! :P

U wait la, not ready. I think I will most probably shift in during July or August. :)

The tiles are not white. It is creamy color actually. Hee.

A gold/silver frame will go well with the toilet tiles. Wanted to go a for a super grand theme though. Lol.

oops. creamy.

hmm, grand. maybe u can accessorise with shiny items. i saw this nice toiletries set from iwannagohome. but it was $99 i think. shiny square crystals. got gold, silver, black. just a thot. ;)

oops. creamy.

hmm, grand. maybe u can accessorise with shiny items. i saw this nice toiletries set from iwannagohome. but it was $99 i think. shiny square crystals. got gold, silver, black. just a thot. ;)

Oh, I know. Saw that set before. Hee. I believe the set was shown in one of the recent "Home and Decor". :). Available in gold and silver if I remember correctly.

dunno leh. i stopped buying all these home decor mags. my hubby complain that i just buy & flip, occasionally tear out a few pages only. wahahaha. maybe cos he buay tahan the mountain stack of home decor & bridal magazines in my room alr.

but ya, if that's the set, it might go well with your decor! for me, i'm planning to shop amazon and other online stores to see wat treasures i can find.

dunno leh. i stopped buying all these home decor mags. my hubby complain that i just buy & flip, occasionally tear out a few pages only. wahahaha. maybe cos he buay tahan the mountain stack of home decor & bridal magazines in my room alr.

but ya, if that's the set, it might go well with your decor! for me, i'm planning to shop amazon and other online stores to see wat treasures i can find.

I just buy and flip sometimes. Hee. Reading is a form of channel to gain knowledge and inspiration. :).

Hubby shouldn't stop u from buying. Hahaha.

I like online shopping! Hehe. U can't get many things in Singapore. And getting it online might be cheaper too. Hee. The only downside is we can't see it physically before buying. :)

I just buy and flip sometimes. Hee. Reading is a form of channel to gain knowledge and inspiration. :).

Hubby shouldn't stop u from buying. Hahaha.

I like online shopping! Hehe. U can't get many things in Singapore. And getting it online might be cheaper too. Hee. The only downside is we can't see it physically before buying. :)

tt's wat i told him too. i feel inspired after flipping through. :paint: cos we got no ID ma, so all the ideas for the house is taken from here, there, everywhere.

ya, like blu-ray discs, so much cheaper getting from amazon!! for items, at least if they state the measurements and materials used, its not tt bad. i only not sure abt delivery. cos now my parents home got maid, always have someone at home to receive the package. next time if no one home, dunno how to receive the stuff.

I may kena chop if I go ahead to fabricate the bedhead. Anyway, I think the design might be abit complex and need more effort as it is a 3-layer design. Maybe that why it is not cheap. But the price is abit on the high side.

I show u the design... don't laugh. Lol.

Then we want to construct display stands. Idea was a pair in different shapes and stripes of colors. The price for one alone can almost fabricate the bedhead liao.

Drawings done by my ID. ID is considered nice taking into consideration he provided me with the exact dimensions for me to look for others to fabricate if I can get a cheaper price.

My sofa maker also construct tables. So I will ask on constructing the display stands.

New New ah, u got carpenter/constructor(?) or other lobang? I want to construct a planter box also. Sian to go back to ID to get his carpenter to quote already.

Last yr, I wanted to have a gold framing as a 'bedhead' design. Then I saw in Home and Decor someone does that using a white frame. Then I decided to think of something else. Lol. Castle, trees, etc.. Hee.

If castle bedhead and bedframe is really too ex for me, I am now thinking of constructing bedframe using olive green fabric/microsuede. Probably a 'floating' bed. And bedhead is a huge crown design. Crown trimming is gold color maybe Hmm. Aiya, sian la. :bangwall:

MM, i know u r v excited to have all these, but lets say 3-4 yrs down the road,

u might get tired of the design n cant sell also?

if u insist on going w the above ideas, i will choose idea2, the gold one rather then the castle.

dun angry ah, cos i imagine if u choose the castle one, end up the room become ur children's room.. hee...

n if u die die wan to do castle, u get someone to cut the wood into the castle shape, i help u upholster cheap cheap:)

Edited by newnyew

bro mm, i thought your coffee table should be bigger?

S6.jpg

Aiya, bought before reno started. So cannot exchange. I thought the size should be okie. Just like the tv, a bit too small also.

Anyway, looking for a oval shape carpet to go with it. :)

MM, i know u r v excited to have all these, but lets say 3-4 yrs down the road,

u might get tired of the design n cant sell also?

if u insist on going w the above ideas, i will choose idea2, the gold one rather then the castle.

dun angry ah, cos i imagine if u choose the castle one, end up the room become ur children's room.. hee...

n if u die die wan to do castle, u get someone to cut the wood into the castle shape, i help u upholster cheap cheap:)

Aiya, I know, castle can be very kidddy, especially if the colors chosen to upholster are vibrant colors. We were fine with it if the cost was not too high. Then we thought it can be recycle for the kids in the future also, extending the usage.Hee. Actually, I could have use wall stickers or decals. But it lacks the physical sensation to feel it.

Designs are very skeptical 'things'. I don't imagine many ppl will want to buy my house even if I want to sell in the future. Personally, I see designs as personal preference. After all, I believe creators would rather sell their designs to someone who can appreciate it than to someone who just buy for the sake of buying a prestige, brand, etc.

Actually, if I get tired of the design and can't sell it, then off it goes to 2nd hand furniture stores. Every piece of furniture deserves to be pass on. :)

Don't worry la, I am not angry la. I am just being true to the kind of designs I like. :)

Edited by Mickey M