charemme 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2009 Hi Annjoy. We have the habit of leaving the doors open when we are not in the rooms. It is just one room with the problem. No conclusion yet. Still probing over it. Haha. Wat is the cost of re-doing it? and is this one of the spare room? Hmm, if for me I wont be able to accept it, so i guess your wifey must be pretty upset about it? I will only accept it hor.. if re-doing it will burst my budget or tat room is really a spare room, can close 1 eye on it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2009 Wat is the cost of re-doing it? and is this one of the spare room? Hmm, if for me I wont be able to accept it, so i guess your wifey must be pretty upset about it? I will only accept it hor.. if re-doing it will burst my budget or tat room is really a spare room, can close 1 eye on it. It is a spare room. Wifey has magnifying eyes, everything she sees is magnified by 100 times. Lol. I haven't ask the cost of re-doing it. My wifey's boss said the ID has to redo FOC because it wasn't done well. So it is his problem. Haha. I think to redo the parquet for the small area probably a few hundred. To redo the room should be 1k plus. Headache. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted December 27, 2009 Bro personally I spotted it straight away so i guess i belong to those who cant accept bah I can accept it if only i spotted one problem instead of two (color and parquet directions), but the more obvious one is the color which looks abit odd. But like what others said, perhaps having a t-bar would be able to solve the problems as it will "split" the hall and room even though both is having parquet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
charemme 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 It is a spare room. Wifey has magnifying eyes, everything she sees is magnified by 100 times. Lol. I haven't ask the cost of re-doing it. My wifey's boss said the ID has to redo FOC because it wasn't done well. So it is his problem. Haha. I think to redo the parquet for the small area probably a few hundred. To redo the room should be 1k plus. Headache. Sorry, i didnt get to read thru everything, so basically its the ID's prob cuz he did the laying wrongly?? If yes hor.. ask him to re-do it.. I also cannot really tahan all these "mis-matching" things in the house. small small maybe ok but that is pretty obvious..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Bro personally I spotted it straight away so i guess i belong to those who cant accept bah I can accept it if only i spotted one problem instead of two (color and parquet directions), but the more obvious one is the color which looks abit odd. But like what others said, perhaps having a t-bar would be able to solve the problems as it will "split" the hall and room even though both is having parquet. Morning kopi! I think the color disparity is the more obvious problem I feel. I will probably get ID to quote the price to redo it. Sorry, i didnt get to read thru everything, so basically its the ID's prob cuz he did the laying wrongly?? If yes hor.. ask him to re-do it.. I also cannot really tahan all these "mis-matching" things in the house. small small maybe ok but that is pretty obvious..... Morning Charemme! No la, it is not the ID's fault. When we got the house from HDB, the parquet was lay in this way for that particular room. We didn't notice the issue back then. ID spotted it immediately when he did the first on-site check. By then, it is already too late. Cos it was stated clearly in the HDB agreement that any issue has to recitifed within one yr of taking over the flat. We were like 1 yr late. ID already told us before the reno that different batches of parquet will have color disparity. He cannot guarantee the degree of color disparity. Just abit unlucky that this particular area is pretty obvious. I wanted to redo the room from the beginning but 2 votes (ID and wifey) against my single vote. The reason is to cut some cost of cos. The idea is don't need to fix it unless cannot accept lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
charemme 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Morning kopi! I think the color disparity is the more obvious problem I feel. I will probably get ID to quote the price to redo it. Morning Charemme! No la, it is not the ID's fault. When we got the house from HDB, the parquet was lay in this way for that particular room. We didn't notice the issue back then. ID spotted it immediately when he did the first on-site check. By then, it is already too late. Cos it was stated clearly in the HDB agreement that any issue has to recitifed within one yr of taking over the flat. We were like 1 yr late. ID already told us before the reno that different batches of parquet will have color disparity. He cannot guarantee the degree of color disparity. Just abit unlucky that this particular area is pretty obvious. I wanted to redo the room from the beginning but 2 votes (ID and wifey) against my single vote. The reason is to cut some cost of cos. The idea is don't need to fix it unless cannot accept lor. the main is dun fix unless u can live with it. Oh HDB sucks... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Morning kopi! I think the color disparity is the more obvious problem I feel. I will probably get ID to quote the price to redo it. Morning Charemme! No la, it is not the ID's fault. When we got the house from HDB, the parquet was lay in this way for that particular room. We didn't notice the issue back then. ID spotted it immediately when he did the first on-site check. By then, it is already too late. Cos it was stated clearly in the HDB agreement that any issue has to recitifed within one yr of taking over the flat. We were like 1 yr late. ID already told us before the reno that different batches of parquet will have color disparity. He cannot guarantee the degree of color disparity. Just abit unlucky that this particular area is pretty obvious. I wanted to redo the room from the beginning but 2 votes (ID and wifey) against my single vote. The reason is to cut some cost of cos. The idea is don't need to fix it unless cannot accept lor. Yes it's the color disparity that is more obvious and yes i agree that different batch of wood will have color disparity and i guess you're kinda suay to get two which have such contrast. did you check with your ID to see if there's anything to be done ? i think the cheapest solution would be a floor mat bah hahahaha the main is dun fix unless u can live with it. Oh HDB sucks... Eh since when HDB doesnt ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Yes it's the color disparity that is more obvious and yes i agree that different batch of wood will have color disparity and i guess you're kinda suay to get two which have such contrast. did you check with your ID to see if there's anything to be done ? i think the cheapest solution would be a floor mat bah hahahaha Floor mat is a good solution . Beside it can keep yr feet clean b4 entering the room Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 the main is dun fix unless u can live with it. Oh HDB sucks... Yes it's the color disparity that is more obvious and yes i agree that different batch of wood will have color disparity and i guess you're kinda suay to get two which have such contrast. did you check with your ID to see if there's anything to be done ? i think the cheapest solution would be a floor mat bah hahahaha Eh since when HDB doesnt ? Floor mat is a good solution . Beside it can keep yr feet clean b4 entering the room There are solutions like staining or even embossing (don't know if I spell correctly). Either way, it is best to do for the whole parquet floor areas. Embossing the floor ( no more grout lines) is nice but very slippery when the floor is wet as told by ID. Staining the floor can allow the parquet flooring to look uniform in color (just like laminate flooring) but once u stain, you cannot varnish without removing the staining first. Headache. Initially wanted to lay the walkway with tiles but feel it doesn't look nice. Parquet flooring will be better for the walkway. All three of us (ID, wifey and me) have the same consensus on this. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 http://www.gmarket.com.sg/challenge/neo_go...ehuid=200000001 mickey t shirt only $6.50! I have a lot of disney t-shirts liao. lol. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 u hit 30 soon still dare to wear?! Disney don't discriminate against adults le. If not, won't have adult sizes rite. Muahaha. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 so u must behave like a kids at time..to blend it.haha Lol. I am still a small boy. Lol. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 There are solutions like staining or even embossing (don't know if I spell correctly). Either way, it is best to do for the whole parquet floor areas. Embossing the floor ( no more grout lines) is nice but very slippery when the floor is wet as told by ID. Staining the floor can allow the parquet flooring to look uniform in color (just like laminate flooring) but once u stain, you cannot varnish without removing the staining first. Headache. Initially wanted to lay the walkway with tiles but feel it doesn't look nice. Parquet flooring will be better for the walkway. All three of us (ID, wifey and me) have the same consensus on this. Yes bro i do agree that parquet flooring is nicer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 Yes bro i do agree that parquet flooring is nicer Headache. Will see how. Next wk reservist liao. Not much time. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 so guess wont be seeing u here next week,haha... My reservist starts on a Friday.... I hope I get to book out on the weekend. But I wonder going in on a Friday, what is the chances of getting to book out the next day. If not, as what army guys will say, "Weekend burn liao". Share this post Link to post Share on other sites