Mickey M

Somewhere Over The Rainbow In Jurong West~~

wow your disneyland theme is really coming to life. the colours you used are so bold!

no la, not doing disneyland theme. why all thinking i am making disneyland. hee. happen to like bold colors.

actually, when the feature walls and furniture are in, there will be some cool colors, so won't be so striking or that bold anymore.

no la, not doing disneyland theme. why all thinking i am making disneyland. hee. happen to like bold colors.

actually, when the feature walls and furniture are in, there will be some cool colors, so won't be so striking or that bold anymore.

Ya it looks very striking and loud all at the same time now. :) But I'm sure you know what you are doing. :)

Actually, I don't know for sure. Hahaha. ID said the paint colors are not a problem at all. Hee.

Some pics for the day:

My round wall!

1234.jpg

My walkway:

12345.jpg

My living hall - ceiling not painted yet:

123456.jpg

Swarovski lights waiting to be installed

DSCF2748.jpg

I think this is the first time i post quite a few reno pics in my t-blog. muahaha.

bro, today then got a chance to view yr photo. Everything looking gd . Kee p the photo coming

ID informed me parquet floorings done yesterday. Later will go and check it out. I hope everything is okie. Hope everything is okie because there is one minor issue with my parquet flooring from hdb actually.

The issue goes like this:

When we check the house on the day we collected the key from HDB, we didn't spot a problem with the parquet flooring. There are 3 bedrooms in total. And we didn't notice that the parquet flooring of one of the rooms was not lay in the same direction as the other 2 rooms! Fast track to now, HDB won't rectify this since it is already more than 1 yr of the period wihich they will rectify issues. But we didn't ask la.

With the construction of the round walkway, the problem is how to lay the parquet in this area. Eventually, it was decide to run it parallet to the 2 rooms. I wanted to change the parquet flooring for the odd room but ID said close the door won't notice anything. Wifey also say so and probably wait till final product before deciding. Wifey abit perfectionist so if it ends up worse, I think more headache for me. And there is another problem also. Different batches of parquets will have different color tone after varnishing. So also another problem if the color disparity is too obvious. But this can rectify by staining though.

So I am really hoping for the best!

Hey Mickey,

I'm not sure if ur prob is the same as mine, but we hacked one wall between 2 rooms, and the direction of the parquet from HDB in these 2 rooms isnt in the same direction, cus its parallel to the room door, and both doors are perpendicular to each other, ah well, my neighbour also did the same as us, and they didnt even realise it when we highlighted this to them. lol. we are ok with it la, cus its flooring only and our small tv console covers half of the irregular direction already.. :P

but if ur wifey is a perfectionist, better fix it now than later else will delay HO also.. ;)

Hey Mickey,

I'm not sure if ur prob is the same as mine, but we hacked one wall between 2 rooms, and the direction of the parquet from HDB in these 2 rooms isnt in the same direction, cus its parallel to the room door, and both doors are perpendicular to each other, ah well, my neighbour also did the same as us, and they didnt even realise it when we highlighted this to them. lol. we are ok with it la, cus its flooring only and our small tv console covers half of the irregular direction already.. :P

but if ur wifey is a perfectionist, better fix it now than later else will delay HO also.. ;)

Hi Amrasenelya, Merry Christmas! :). We have a wet Christmas this yr.

Yes. I think is the same problem. This is how my parquet floorings run:

flr.jpg

Do you think you can accept and live with this?

With flash.

DSCF2751.jpg

No flash.

DSCF2752.jpg

When the door is closed, it looks fine.

DSCF2753.jpg

Another new parquet area but this blends in well with the existing parquet:

DSCF2755.jpg

Personally, I can accept the parquet flooring not running in the same direction. But the colour disparity seems a bit too obvious. I walked to and fro a few times and think the parquet in that area is abit too distracting. It is like a focus point. U can't stop focusing on it when you step into the walkway. Maybe it is just me. Of cos, I think we can put a carpet outside the bedroom to hide this. But the issue will always be there. Don't know how. Redo the area will be another delay. ID said staining just a particular area will make it worse. Solution is to redo. Do you all know any other alternative?

Edited by Mickey M

Do you think you can accept and live with this?

With flash.

DSCF2751.jpg

No flash.

DSCF2752.jpg

is it possible to put like a T-bar at the joints? maybe it wont be as obvious... cos for my laminated flooring there's t-bar to join the laminated floor n tiles.. not sure if it works for parquet?

Edited by butterfingerzz

is it possible to put like a T-bar at the joints? maybe it wont be as obvious... cos for my laminated flooring there's t-bar to join the laminated floor n tiles.. not sure if it works for parquet?

hi Butterfingerzz! Merry Christmas!

Can you show me how does a T-bar looks like? I visualize it will look abit strange because there is a T-Bar for this room and not the other rooms.

Edited by Mickey M

hi Butterfingerzz! Merry Christmas!

Can you show me how does a T-bar looks like? I visualize it will look abit strange because there is a T-Bar for this room and not the other rooms.

Mickey , actually it look perfectly fine for me wor ....

If i am not wrong , newnyew also have the same problem when she hack one of the wall between 2 room . But it really look alright to me leh .... maybe my hall is homo and room is laminated . So already get used to have 2 different thing from hall and room :)

Mickey , actually it look perfectly fine for me wor ....

If i am not wrong , newnyew also have the same problem when she hack one of the wall between 2 room . But it really look alright to me leh .... maybe my hall is homo and room is laminated . So already get used to have 2 different thing from hall and room :)

The different running direction of the parquet is okie. But you can see the color disparity, is it obvious in your opinion? To me, it is la.

oh .... pai seh .... I overlook the photo without flash .... Cos with flash still ok . Hmmm .... Let me think think .... i see I can think of any solution for u or not :)