mysweetlittlethings

Our Sweet Little Sunset Way Em

It has been quite a while since I last update my reno t-blog.

Well, renovation has not started yet as we were still working with ID with design.

Despite the good condition of the EM, things we dun intend to do kept popping into our reno list - which inevitably has resulted in a very costly quote.

We have just received our quotation yesterday - you won't believe it - we were quoted a total 98K!!! OMG!!!! I am not overhauling my unit, am I?! :)

A review of what we intend to do:

1. Main door - metal gate - to change

2. Foyer timber deck to remove

3. Utility Room Wall - to hack to form a bigger dining area

4. Dining Room Cabinet - to hack

5. Kitchen - to hack the stove & sink area - half open concept kitchen

6. Foyer/Kitchen/Dining flooring - to hack & re-tile

7. Staircase - to add railings

8. Balcony timber deck to remove, partition to remove , to build roof, to form a bigger living room

9. Balcony to add windows

10. Storage under the staircase - pull-out storage

11. To hack away one roll of cabinets in current MBR

12. To hack 2 common rooms into one, cabinets to remove

13. 2 bathrooms to hack

14. New MBR toilet will accommodate one toilet, shower area, basin separately

15. All ceilings need to be leveled

Edited by mysweetlittlethings

Hi! Wor! 98k quoted for reno! Can buy a new car already. I saw Ripple's reno and also went to visit three-d conceptwerk website, i also like their design. Was thinking of getting a quote from them. Mine is a 4 room, got to hack flooring and stuff. Nw i might want to consider approaching them. Scali they tell me 50K!!! Oue budget is only half of that.

Ha... We like their design a lot but it's really not very realistic to spend 98K on renovation even if we have the money to do so, at least not for us.

Well, it's a very detailed quote. Must prioritize liao!

If we still can work on other alternatives, then good lor.

Hopefully I will not have to say sayonara to 3-d!

So stressed now!

Edited by mysweetlittlethings

Ha... We like their design a lot but it's really not very realistic to spend 98K on renovation even if we have the money to do so, at least not for us.

Well, it's a very detailed quote.

If we still can work on other alternatives, then good lor.

If not, have to say sayonara to 3-d liao!

i agree, after the economic crisis, its always gd to have some spare cash in the bank. I would also not do it.

well, they are ex - but i have to agree their design is not one which u can see everywhere. :)

Will keep my fingers crossed!

Good Luck to Us! :)

You have a beautiful place. My aunt stays at Sunset Way too. Hers is facing the greenery , can hear the train occasionally.

I agree that 98k is a lot of money. Maybe you want to try to get a 2nd opinion from another contractor?

From your pics, your place looks very well done. Cabinets that have stains and yellowed can try to scrub out a little. You have a lot of storage, maybe save your carpentry for the future?

You have a beautiful place. My aunt stays at Sunset Way too. Hers is facing the greenery , can hear the train occasionally.

I agree that 98k is a lot of money. Maybe you want to try to get a 2nd opinion from another contractor?

From your pics, your place looks very well done. Cabinets that have stains and yellowed can try to scrub out a little. You have a lot of storage, maybe save your carpentry for the future?

yes, we have seeked a 2nd opinion from a contractor. :)

And we have to agree that in order to save costs, keep the carpentry. :)