JandG

Home For 3. You, The Dog And Me

Chpt 8 : Tree Killers

We've probably eliminated a few acres with our carpentry. This was the most PAINFUL part of our reno. We paid a mighty sum for it and got low quality work done. :help: Best part was that we did tonnes of explanation with our ID way beforehand but when it came down to the actual day of measurements with our carpenter onsite, he wasnt there. as a result, lots of dispute. sighhh.....

First, to show how much carpentry we got, well, practically the entire lift lobby was filled with stuff. Came in a jumbo lorry from gd old lian bang land (ie M'sia)

cupboards

SANY0567.jpg

more cupboards

SANY0569.jpg

erm...even more cupboards blocking the lift lobby

SANY0570.jpg

at the beginning the wood looked gd. mostly plywood

SANY0571.jpg

these doors are super heavy

SANY0573.jpg

Wah chio :dribble: :dribble: :dribble:

My wife wanted to do this initially but told her cannot cos it will be very expensive to lay mosaic for the whole wall leh

But after seeing yours, i'm tempted too. Sure hope my wife doesnt see your blog :P

u can be like us, do a 1 or 2 feature panels only...choose a smaller panel...its worth it leh...just close eyes sign checkbk...

huh ? cannot close eye sign check wor

i think when i'm signing the check the ink might be red in color leh due to the bleeding of my a/c :P

moreover my toilet is square de so every panels looks the same size to me leh therefore thinking of doing just the shower area with mosaic will do :)

huh ? cannot close eye sign check wor

i think when i'm signing the check the ink might be red in color leh due to the bleeding of my a/c :P

moreover my toilet is square de so every panels looks the same size to me leh therefore thinking of doing just the shower area with mosaic will do :)

sigh...i know the bleeding a/c feeling.... :rolleyes: yup shd just do the shower area u can do one thick strip mosaic and contrast with single color tile oso very nice. just to let ya know its abt $12 psf for the mosaic..

Hi JandG,

do u mind telling us who is your ID? He is utterly irresponsible!

If its not convenient, u may PM me pls.

Hello enivi...PM'ed you already

Chpt 9 : House of Horror

Wk 6 of reno happened to be hubby's F1 week and he couldnt go down to supervise. As Nobody supervised the ceiling work and carpentry, tonnes of things went wrong. Gonna post it like we saw it. Here goes.

Kitchen. First glance looks ok...but

SANY0631.jpg

we noticed that they did not drill the correct hole for the wiring. they drilled on the (green X area) when we wanted them to go thru the cupboard (red arrow area). Now, since they drilled wrongly, i told my ID and asked him to amend but instead, all he could do was to construct this ugly box thing to put the switches on a side panel thus shortening my cabinet size.

SANY0578a.jpg

funny looking square box shortening my cupboard length

SANY0577.jpg

then we noticed carpenter had drilled a huge round hole on the cabinet top for a PLC light. Thruout all my discussion with ID, we told him we are putting spotlight. he also drew spotlight on perspective drawings. we pointed it out to carpenter and all he could say was 'oh like that ah...cannot fix' and refuse to fix. luckily, we went to collect our lights and tried them on and he is lucky it Just fitted :furious:

the latest updates from ur carpenter seems really bad....

not trying to sow any discords here, but if its possible, try to rectify it to wad u want instead of compromising with it.. unless ure really ok with it... afterall ure the one living in this home, not ur ID nor ur carpenter.. if carpenter refuse to rectify it.. charge it to ur ID... hold ur last payment or whatever.. :unsure:

Other horrific surprises we had was the common toilet sink. We had told our ID abt the semi-recessed sink we got. We even passed him the exact measurements. But did he tell carpenter ?? Noo....ended up the toilet vanity was too broad esp plus the portruding sink. since i have a glass panel beside the loo, the person walking between the vanity cupboard and glass partition to get to the loo would have to have an 18 inch waist !! 8|

We complained, he didnt re-do the cupboard. he just sawed it in half and mounted our sink on it. here's a look at the vanity after the cut. We then noticed the cupboard doors a bit weird. why ah ?? do you notice the left side has a gap and the right doesnt ?? we asked the carpenter he said everyone's cupboard also like this....we told our ID, he backed the carpenter. So.....all u out there...are your cupboards like this too ???

SANY0596.jpg

other tales of terror on our 2 study tables. yes...bright fuschia is the color of choice here... :D

SANY0604.jpg

all the drawers were crooked or uneven !

SANY0601.jpg

SANY0603.jpg

the latest updates from ur carpenter seems really bad....

not trying to sow any discords here, but if its possible, try to rectify it to wad u want instead of compromising with it.. unless ure really ok with it... afterall ure the one living in this home, not ur ID nor ur carpenter.. if carpenter refuse to rectify it.. charge it to ur ID... hold ur last payment or whatever.. :unsure:

thanks for your advice amrasnelya...will defn keep in mind what u have said.

Other horrific surprises we had was the common toilet sink. We had told our ID abt the semi-recessed sink we got. We even passed him the exact measurements. But did he tell carpenter ?? Noo....ended up the toilet vanity was too broad esp plus the portruding sink. since i have a glass panel beside the loo, the person walking between the vanity cupboard and glass partition to get to the loo would have to have an 18 inch waist !! 8|

We complained, he didnt re-do the cupboard. he just sawed it in half and mounted our sink on it. here's a look at the vanity after the cut. We then noticed the cupboard doors a bit weird. why ah ?? do you notice the left side has a gap and the right doesnt ?? we asked the carpenter he said everyone's cupboard also like this....we told our ID, he backed the carpenter. So.....all u out there...are your cupboards like this too ???

SANY0596.jpg

other tales of terror on our 2 study tables. yes...bright fuschia is the color of choice here... :D

SANY0604.jpg

all the drawers were crooked or uneven !

SANY0601.jpg

SANY0603.jpg

obviously your ID doesn't want to spend more money to rectify his mistakes. less profits for him if he do that.

if you want proof, just go ikea and see how it's done :P

you should only be able to see the doors.

Wow that really sounds like a horrible experience. If your reno is already completed, maybe consider "exposing" them here?

nope leh not yet completed....even when completed....guess i only PM those who wish to know...damage already done..what to do...

Edited by JandG

obviously your ID doesn't want to spend more money to rectify his mistakes. less profits for him if he do that.

if you want proof, just go ikea and see how it's done :P

you should only be able to see the doors.

Thanks ossify ! Gd pt to note for me...