ossify 1 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 is your fridge supposed to be hiding the mosaic? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 is your fridge supposed to be hiding the mosaic? hihi ossify... hahahaha...ID said that the mosac shld 'eat into' the fridge area abit becos we haven bot our fridge yet....soo we just take the very 'standard' measurement for the tile uncle to build up the base....if let say, we happen to buy a very small fridge...n there's gap there...@ least ppl will still c the mosac...not the tiles...of cos, we will try to buy the 'right size' lol....becos...the fridge position in facing the kitchen door...it used to be @ the corner end...if we gg to put back the same position, we will need to do much longer cabinet worr...(which costs more becos our package come with 20ft cabinet nia...)...u dun c the drawing showing short short cabinets....they add up to be 25ft liao worrr.... hope u can 'visualise' my explanation..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 hihi ossify... hahahaha...ID said that the mosac shld 'eat into' the fridge area abit becos we haven bot our fridge yet....soo we just take the very 'standard' measurement for the tile uncle to build up the base....if let say, we happen to buy a very small fridge...n there's gap there...@ least ppl will still c the mosac...not the tiles...of cos, we will try to buy the 'right size' lol....becos...the fridge position in facing the kitchen door...it used to be @ the corner end...if we gg to put back the same position, we will need to do much longer cabinet worr...(which costs more becos our package come with 20ft cabinet nia...)...u dun c the drawing showing short short cabinets....they add up to be 25ft liao worrr.... hope u can 'visualise' my explanation..... yes thanks for the explanation Personally, I don't do fridge base or w/m base because I want to have a choice of where to put my items and I want to decide what size to get. if your fridge is small, your base is big, it'll look odd too. your kitchen looks about the same size as mine mine will be 5 + 2 ft on one side, and 8 + 3 ft on the other side. in total 18 ft. hmm smaller than yours but i have space for expansion another 10 ft if needed. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 yes thanks for the explanation Personally, I don't do fridge base or w/m base because I want to have a choice of where to put my items and I want to decide what size to get. if your fridge is small, your base is big, it'll look odd too. your kitchen looks about the same size as mine mine will be 5 + 2 ft on one side, and 8 + 3 ft on the other side. in total 18 ft. hmm smaller than yours but i have space for expansion another 10 ft if needed. ahh....i c..i c....@ 1st i oso got tot of that but somehow...oso dun tink can move anything much....soo might as well fix it lah....brain cell die alot liao...tink too many things.... so u oso hv a L-chape kitchen? wahh....ur cabinet planning is great leh....when can c ur cabinets? it's good to keep some space for expansion if there's a need worrr....kekeke.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 eh actually me dun mind red and white le but my wife says it looks like national colors thats all hahahaha actually just scared that my parents will not get used to the ang ang cabinet le hahaha ya ya must change piping else it will be a major headache to change next time everydae see will get used to it liao loh. hahahhahaa....when hv 'fight' with hubby...we can each use a toilet.... becos dunnu wat color to choose oso....dun wan to tink much....soo just get those never out-dated color lol....hahahaha...those special special color horr...only meant for certain season only lol....if season over...have to change color ahhh??? *fainted* truly agreed w U...when u in the place u like...ur 心情 will oso be 美美的 lol....!!! that's the headache part lol....u c my kitchen layout...dun seem will have much space for any bulky item...actually i hv one @ my parent's hse but cannot bring over lah...too big...must get a smaller one...dun tink will put @ cabinet area...i wan to keep cabinet area simple n clean leh...dun wan stuck with alot of things...maybe will buy those moveable table top from Ikea...dan can put on it...my MIL oso bot us a big rice cooker.... i think will oso out of way liao....haiz~~~ i saw ur t-blog oso leh...u oso bake alot of things worrr....soo nice....ur hubby oso 幸福的 lol..... when i settle down...we can share share our baking bible....kekekekeke....hubby like cheesecake....will try out cheesecake for sure.... Oh, those moveable island from Ikea ah? Those are good to ***! At least ur oven and rice cooker wun eat into the limited table top space. I like my table top to be free of stuff. Looks neater and have more space for baking/cooking. Wah, a big rice cooker arh? Will ur ILs stay with u? If it's just the 2 of u, then a big rice cooker not much of a use woh. Haha, think ur MIL must have the same thinking as my hb. That time wen we were buying rice cooker, my hb said should get a big one. Then cny or wen guests come, can easily cook enough for all. But I refused, and bought a avg size one. CNY is only once a year, get such a big one no use woh. What abt the rest of the year? Should get sth tat is enough for the rest of the year, and not for that 2 days during CNY. Haha, I long long time nvr update my tblog with my baking stuff le. It'll be great to share recipes! Speaking about baking, u muz maximize ur pantry space! I now have so many types of flour that I'm running out of space to put. Urg.... I always wonder why they call plain flour all-purpose flour, when it can't be used for everyting! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 Hi feimei, Pardon me for being kaypoh and just to highlight [hehe, in case you overlooked]. I notice the white grout used for the black floor tiles in your kitchen. Perhaps, it is a normal thing for a contractor to do. Perhaps, you requested for it. If that is the case, hehehe, I am really a kaypoh here. When I first noticed my initial finished floor tiles, the white grout was just 'too much'. Already, I had accepted the advise that kitchen floor tiles are best not to be laid too close [minimising between gaps]. In my case, I had the contractor to 'refill' the grout to black - which, to me, it was more greyish when it was done. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 everydae see will get used to it liao loh. Oh, those moveable island from Ikea ah? Those are good to ***! At least ur oven and rice cooker wun eat into the limited table top space. I like my table top to be free of stuff. Looks neater and have more space for baking/cooking. Wah, a big rice cooker arh? Will ur ILs stay with u? If it's just the 2 of u, then a big rice cooker not much of a use woh. Haha, think ur MIL must have the same thinking as my hb. That time wen we were buying rice cooker, my hb said should get a big one. Then cny or wen guests come, can easily cook enough for all. But I refused, and bought a avg size one. CNY is only once a year, get such a big one no use woh. What abt the rest of the year? Should get sth tat is enough for the rest of the year, and not for that 2 days during CNY. Haha, I long long time nvr update my tblog with my baking stuff le. It'll be great to share recipes! Speaking about baking, u muz maximize ur pantry space! I now have so many types of flour that I'm running out of space to put. Urg.... I always wonder why they call plain flour all-purpose flour, when it can't be used for everyting! yeah...yeah...those moveable island type from Ikea lol....but oso cannot be too big ahhh...not much space to move oso....hahaahhahaa...we hv the same mind...dun like the table top to fill with stuffs....i like clean n clear.... ur hubby indeed hv the same thinking as my MIL lol....anyway, it's her 一份心意...no choice but to accept lol....anyway, hubby like to eat rice...will cook alot alot of rice for him....hahahahahaha.... np...sure share my recipe with u...when i kick off my baking....i oso long time no bake...scare my skills turned rusty liao....hahahaha....during sch times...my best bake is on swissroll n cookies worrr....but now...tink need to polish lol....hahaha...somemore as u say...home kichen is much smaller...when in sch...the area is so big...if i really start, must get ready alot of containers to put the flour n other stuffs lol....yalol....all the name convention for flour....make me very blur oso.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 Hi feimei, Pardon me for being kaypoh and just to highlight [hehe, in case you overlooked]. I notice the white grout used for the black floor tiles in your kitchen. Perhaps, it is a normal thing for a contractor to do. Perhaps, you requested for it. If that is the case, hehehe, I am really a kaypoh here. When I first noticed my initial finished floor tiles, the white grout was just 'too much'. Already, I had accepted the advise that kitchen floor tiles are best not to be laid too close [minimising between gaps]. In my case, I had the contractor to 'refill' the grout to black - which, to me, it was more greyish when it was done. hihi Reiki... no lah...u where got kaypoh...u r giving me your opinion and i m open to opinion...thanks for 'dropping-by' my t-blog ya~~~ Hmmm~~frankly speaking...i didn't realli notice the grout lines in my kitchen floor tiles leh....hahahaha...both of us soo excited on the mosac...did not really look on the flooring.....there will be a washing this wk before the cabinet up on fri leh...maybe will ask hubby to drop by after work to check it out.... u pointed out a very impt thing....appreciated so much.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 ahh....i c..i c....@ 1st i oso got tot of that but somehow...oso dun tink can move anything much....soo might as well fix it lah....brain cell die alot liao...tink too many things.... so u oso hv a L-chape kitchen? wahh....ur cabinet planning is great leh....when can c ur cabinets? it's good to keep some space for expansion if there's a need worrr....kekeke.... mm my kitchen is "11" shaped can see my tblog how i intend to build my cabinets. as for photos, gotta wait 2 months more cos haven't build yet My expansion (8 ft) will be intruding into my dining area so it would be considered as 'dry' kitchen. Another 2 ft can be added on top of my W/M Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 mm my kitchen is "11" shaped can see my tblog how i intend to build my cabinets. as for photos, gotta wait 2 months more cos haven't build yet My expansion (8 ft) will be intruding into my dining area so it would be considered as 'dry' kitchen. Another 2 ft can be added on top of my W/M ya...now i rem...i saw ur blog before...i like '11' shape yaa....easy to take things and which ever side u turn, u can put ur things...very easy to work with....like for baking wise....u hv ur oven on one side...when things r bake...need for cooling, u can actually put them on the opp side....will not 'eat into' the same area for baking....thats how my sch design for our kitchen....'easy to access'..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 ur hubby indeed hv the same thinking as my MIL lol....anyway, it's her 一份心意...no choice but to accept lol....anyway, hubby like to eat rice...will cook alot alot of rice for him....hahahahahaha.... np...sure share my recipe with u...when i kick off my baking....i oso long time no bake...scare my skills turned rusty liao....hahahaha....during sch times...my best bake is on swissroll n cookies worrr....but now...tink need to polish lol....hahaha...somemore as u say...home kichen is much smaller...when in sch...the area is so big...if i really start, must get ready alot of containers to put the flour n other stuffs lol....yalol....all the name convention for flour....make me very blur oso.... haha, true true. How can reject? Wait will see World War 3. Wah swissroll! That time I tried, but my swiss roll crack when I tried rolling it. Did u roll it once out of oven or let it cool down first then roll? I've read different methods of rolling, but nt sure whh one is better. Haha, the containers just for flour put a big hole in my pocket liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 haha, true true. How can reject? Wait will see World War 3. Wah swissroll! That time I tried, but my swiss roll crack when I tried rolling it. Did u roll it once out of oven or let it cool down first then roll? I've read different methods of rolling, but nt sure whh one is better. Haha, the containers just for flour put a big hole in my pocket liao. yeah...swissroll....thats the tricky part...to 'maintain' the smooth skin worrr.....the method of beating must be correct to, otherwise the skin will not turn out to be good as well....cannot immed remove the paper when u take out from oven...let it cool awhile...also not too long...otherwise, skin will stick as well...hahahaa...Wahh~~i still can rem leh... u wan my 'secret recipe'??? let me go home n find through my bible...n sent u my method, u try my method...c how... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 yeah...swissroll....thats the tricky part...to 'maintain' the smooth skin worrr.....the method of beating must be correct to, otherwise the skin will not turn out to be good as well....cannot immed remove the paper when u take out from oven...let it cool awhile...also not too long...otherwise, skin will stick as well...hahahaa...Wahh~~i still can rem leh... u wan my 'secret recipe'??? let me go home n find through my bible...n sent u my method, u try my method...c how... okok! Thanks! will wait for ur secret rolling method. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
feimei 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 okok! Thanks! will wait for ur secret rolling method. np... i will always tried to use swissroll as one of my baking dish during test or exam till my teacher got tire of it...hahahaha....she said can i choose other baking dish...dun oways swissroll.... she taste till sian liao....becos when u roll nicely with the skin on horr....dan u dash w icing sugar...Woww...the 成就感 n 满足感 is there worrr no way teacher can fail me....muahahahahahaha.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
butterfingerzz 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2009 u r right lol....that's wat hubby said oso...@ least for 1yr, no headache on ari-con thingy.... u didn't went with him? u doing whole hse or just like me...kitchen n bathrooms??? i oso love that mosac....initially selected from Hafary was not this red mosac...but when we decide on the cabinet laminate....is RED...dan ID went down to choose on-behalf....we trust his taste n prof lah...(both of us really busy, cannot take leave lol...n tile uncle need to put up by last wk....bo bian)...lucky he did a good job ahhh...hahahaha...so far reno progress is good...things promissed had been done...hopefully will not have any issue during HO lol.... when ur reno starting? wah... ur thread moving quite fast hor... and thanks for ur sheesecake recipe! will be getting our keys on 5th nov!! so hopefully reno can start straight away.. depending on how long it takes for the permit to be approved.. me doing whole house.. quite a lot of things cos house very 'lok kok' cos the seller nvr did much after he got the place like 14yrs ago... so hubby wanna chg a lot of things.. pending on our budget now are the sliding windows (which my hubby hates, he wanna chg them to those push out ones) and his display cabinet.. anyways, jz meet wif a guy from inovar floor laminates.. cant choose so picked a Share this post Link to post Share on other sites