dannywmp

Philips 42pfl9664

Just bought the above model from Counts yesterday...is the latest model from Philips...got it as a road show display set at $1999...orignial offer price I think is selling at $2599. Come with 3 years warrenty

The sales guy told me the set is only 2 weeks old and I believe him since this is really the latest model. I went to JP HN, Audio House also never see this model on display yet...so quickly gap it.

Btw...I saw this in the Philip 2009/2010 catalogue and really love the specs and design, especially the Ambilight...

is it a good buy?

http://www.consumer.philips.com/c/televisi...664h_12/prd/sg/

Just bought the above model from Counts yesterday...is the latest model from Philips...got it as a road show display set at $1999...orignial offer price I think is selling at $2599. Come with 3 years warrenty

The sales guy told me the set is only 2 weeks old and I believe him since this is really the latest model. I went to JP HN, Audio House also never see this model on display yet...so quickly gap it.

Btw...I saw this in the Philip 2009/2010 catalogue and really love the specs and design, especially the Ambilight...

is it a good buy?

http://www.consumer.philips.com/c/televisi...664h_12/prd/sg/

WoW.... Seems like a powerful machine.... but over budget for me...... How do u find the 7000 Series?

Looking at this now.....

For 7K series, initially I also want to buy and I think is also good choice as compared to other brand...I like the curve design of Philips TV.

I cannot remember which model but there is one that is 100HZ and with 4 HDMI input also made in Europe...

I think around 1.7K

Check Audio House, Mega discount store and go Courts or HV to get them to match your price.

If you happen to go Courts (Tampines), look for this sales guy Darren, his product knowledge on philips TV very good...get him to recommend you and match your price...

If I remember correctly, 7K Series is 100Hz, any models below is not 100Hz. Thou not sure if this particular model introduced in Best is from Europe.

I'm actually quite at a loss. Had initially wanted aimed to get the Samsung Series 6 40" (maybe becos of nice design and "rich" features compared to other Jap brands) but after looking at the display in Best side by side, the color clarity on Philips is much better and sharper. Samsung's image is abit pale.

Which do u think is better? Heard from the guy Philips panel is from LG and Samsung's panels are now made in China.

If I remember correctly, 7K Series is 100Hz, any models below is not 100Hz. Thou not sure if this particular model introduced in Best is from Europe.

I'm actually quite at a loss. Had initially wanted aimed to get the Samsung Series 6 40" (maybe becos of nice design and "rich" features compared to other Jap brands) but after looking at the display in Best side by side, the color clarity on Philips is much better and sharper. Samsung's image is abit pale.

Which do u think is better? Heard from the guy Philips panel is from LG and Samsung's panels are now made in China.

First of all, I must state that I am biased on Philips TV and I look at design rather then features... I love the curve profile of Philips TV especially with the Ambient Light....notice that most of the LCD/ Plasma all sharp corner profile and true rectangular shape...

Yes, Philips is using LG panels; I think is a joint venture development... and most of the Philips model are assembled in China...

Actually nowadays more than 80% of the consumer electronics are made in China...even if it may be assembled in Europe doesn't mean that all the other parts are from Europe...the circuit board, chipsets...etc.

We should trust the reputation of the brand and the after sales service too...

If I not wrong, 7000 series onward all “made in Europe”.

Actually I am eyeing on the model 42PFL7409/98 which I think selling $1799 until I see this good deal in Courts for the 42PFL9664H/12 at $1999.

Anyway, do you expect a TV really to last you 5 years or more...what do you think will be the next "standard" features or perhaps size for TV?

I remember my first LCD brought 3 years ago..."market trend" size 32" and nobody really care about the thickness as long as it is slimmer then a CRT...but today not only the trend on size is 42" but people are going for slimmer design...even LCD cannot satisfactory consumers...must go for "LED" ... never ending story...just watch our pocket and buy according to our budget and liking...

Just my humble advice...cheers

you wont get much response in this thread, because most people think that of all tv brands, philips tv is the worst. and since you mention brand reputation, fyi philips has garnered a bad reputation for their products in recent years. i guess you are attracted to the ambilight which is glowing lights at the side of the tv, which is not a new feature since several years ago, and after a while when the novelty is gone, you will want to disable it as it serves no purpose except use up more energy, not to mention philips tv are very hot (you will feel the hall has a working oven). anyway since you bought it already, just enjoy.

Edited by vex

you wont get much response in this thread, because most people think that of all tv brands, philips tv is the worst. and since you mention brand reputation, fyi philips has garnered a bad reputation for their products in recent years. i guess you are attracted to the ambilight which is glowing lights at the side of the tv, which is not a new feature since several years ago, and after a while when the novelty is gone, you will want to disable it as it serves no purpose except use up more energy, not to mention philips tv are very hot (you will feel the hall has a working oven). anyway since you bought it already, just enjoy.

Thanks for your comments...I think it is indivdual preference and encounter...for me all these years have been using the brand, so far I am satisfied user and I have no problem with its service at all.

Yes, I am attracted to the ambilight but all the comments from friends having ambilight is good...more smoothing for the eyes...

Oh, the hall like oven...mmm so far for 32" Philips LCD OK leh...

Dun worry that I will regret for buying the TV...I done my research before purchase...

Vex, perhaps you can elaborate more on ur statement and how u come to determine that most ppl in RT think that Philips is worst? Though I don't use Philips, I don't think it is a lousy brand and would like to hear from you.

thats the common sentiment in forums. if you read them up, there has been many complaints (some even an entire thread) about philips products being of sub-standard these days and new purchases failing prematurely. yes, they used to be a good brand of electrical appliances, but not anymore these days.

why i say philips tv are the worst is because, for the same specs, the other brands offer better value, and add in the quality issue, it adds up to the conclusion. i do know of a few cases of philips lcd tv being really hot and the owners have traced it to the lcd, while this is not prevalent in other brands. also, if you compare picture quality, philips' tv doesnt stand shoulder to shoulder to other brands, eg. samsung, sony, even lg, but their price is.

Edited by vex

if you read up on in forums , there has been many complaints (some even an entire thread) about philips products being of sub-standard these days and new purchases failing prematurely. yes, they used to be a good brand of electrical appliances, but not anymore these days.

why i say philips tv are the worst is because, for the same specs, the other brands offer better value, and add in the quality issue, it adds up to the conclusion. i do know of a few cases of philips lcd tv being really hot and the owners have traced it to the lcd, while this is not prevalent in other brands. also, if you compare picture quality, philips' tv doesnt stand shoulder to shoulder to other brands, eg. samsung, sony, even lg, but their price is.

Buying Electrical appliances somestime is "heng sway"

What make you think other brands dun have unsatisfactory user leh?

I dun think it is nice to use the word "Worst" brand basing on just your own opinion of the brand...

Even nowadays Sales guy in Showroom also never openly critizied any particular brand good or no good...not to mention use the word "Worst"

Colour of TV again is subjective, ask those people that use philips TV, they will tell you that they like its rich colour...

Oh...talking about same price for features...philips will surely wins in their latest 7000 series onwards...

btw, are you a sale reps for certain brand...are you from Samsung?

Oh...yes I am not working for Philips for sure...hahahaa

actually I am using philips 3000 series 3609 (no money to buy 7000 or 9000 series that time)

I like the colour . So far so good . I like my philip HTS too .

only complain .... only 4 month my tv like drop $300 - $400 liao .

but compare to samsung LED .... samsung price drop even more ...

if i'm not wrong philips using hard panel right

actually I am using philips 3000 series 3609 (no money to buy 7000 or 9000 series that time)

I like the colour . So far so good . I like my philip HTS too .

only complain .... only 4 month my tv like drop $300 - $400 liao .

but compare to samsung LED .... samsung price drop even more ...

if i'm not wrong philips using hard panel right

Yes, I think all philips LCD use hard panel...since 3 years ago when I brought my 32" LCD...

My budget for TV is not more then 2K...so with this offer to me @$1999 for a high end model...quickly grip. Anyway still $1 less then my budget... hahaha

Yes, I think all philips LCD use hard panel...since 3 years ago when I brought my 32" LCD...

My budget for TV is not more then 2K...so with this offer to me @$1999 for a high end model...quickly grip. Anyway still $1 less then my budget... hahaha

hi danny,

its been a couple of months since you've used ur philips pfl9664 right?

have you faced any display issues i.e. water mark effects on panning shots?

i read that this is inherent in the pfl9664 when users watch sports programs...

just wondering if you had noticed it as well?

im keen on this model too (*2009 TV of the year on WhatHiFi?...) but recent

readings on Philips brand making me consider my purchase too... :dunno:

Hope you could clarify...TIA!

hi danny,

its been a couple of months since you've used ur philips pfl9664 right?

have you faced any display issues i.e. water mark effects on panning shots?

i read that this is inherent in the pfl9664 when users watch sports programs...

just wondering if you had noticed it as well?

im keen on this model too (*2009 TV of the year on WhatHiFi?...) but recent

readings on Philips brand making me consider my purchase too... :dunno:

Hope you could clarify...TIA!

So far I don't face such problem, frankly I am ready growing to like this TV more and more.

No regrets...

That day I was watching HD5- "ICE AGE" I was ready impress with the clear and sharp image....and the sound quality is really superb...

Yet to try playing with Blue-ray player...

Just bought the 42PFL7409/98 from Courts Megastore at $1288 plus another 2 year extended warranty of $398. Delivered on Tuesday. Picture quality was very good compared to my previous plasma TV. However upon checking carefully, saw flickering motion in the background and had requested for a one to one swap. Hopefully the next new set has no problem.