mizarahi 0 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 Hi. Bot a resale flat. 4NG - 91sqm I am working on a budget of not more than $10k. Is the above budget realistic for the works below:- Kitchen Toilet - Replace squat pan to sitting toilet bowl - Replace existing bi-fold to new bi-fold acrylic bi-fold door Kitchen - Re-laminate existing kitchen cabinet (about 30ft) - Install aluminum frame acrylic sliding door below kitchen sink. (about 4ft x 3ft) Living Room - Supply and install 6ft suspended tv console - Supply and install 8ft x 7ft feature wall c/w wall paper MBR - Replace existing bi-fold to new bi-fold acrylic bi-fold door - Install 1 x light (light supply by me) - Relocate 1 x tv point to opposite wall BR1 - Relocate 1 x tv point to opposite wall - Relocate 2 x powerpoint to opposite wall - Relocate 1 x telephone point to opposite wall BR2 - Replace 2 x low-cabinet doors to 4mm thick glass door General - Re-varnish 4 nos. of doors. - Painting - Polish marble flooring **** room - Polish terrazzo flooring for 3 bedrooms Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MTlot 0 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 Hi. Bot a resale flat. 4NG - 91sqm I am working on a budget of not more than $10k. Is the above budget realistic for the works below:- Kitchen Toilet - Replace squat pan to sitting toilet bowl - Replace existing bi-fold to new bi-fold acrylic bi-fold door Kitchen - Re-laminate existing kitchen cabinet (about 30ft) - Install aluminum frame acrylic sliding door below kitchen sink. (about 4ft x 3ft) Living Room - Supply and install 6ft suspended tv console - Supply and install 8ft x 7ft feature wall c/w wall paper MBR - Replace existing bi-fold to new bi-fold acrylic bi-fold door - Install 1 x light (light supply by me) - Relocate 1 x tv point to opposite wall BR1 - Relocate 1 x tv point to opposite wall - Relocate 2 x powerpoint to opposite wall - Relocate 1 x telephone point to opposite wall BR2 - Replace 2 x low-cabinet doors to 4mm thick glass door General - Re-varnish 4 nos. of doors. - Painting - Polish marble flooring **** room - Polish terrazzo flooring for 3 bedrooms - Supply and install 6ft suspended tv console - Supply and install 8ft x 7ft feature wall c/w wall paper These 2 item already cost a lot esp the wall paper. Was is my original plan but at the end decided to take it out due to $$$. - Relocate 1 x tv point to opposite wall - Relocate 2 x powerpoint to opposite wall - Relocate 1 x telephone point to opposite wall The term relocate is as good as make new points coz $$ ard the same. Where's your place at ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 Hi. Bot a resale flat. 4NG - 91sqm I am working on a budget of not more than $10k. Is the above budget realistic for the works below:- Kitchen Toilet - Replace squat pan to sitting toilet bowl - Replace existing bi-fold to new bi-fold acrylic bi-fold door Kitchen - Re-laminate existing kitchen cabinet (about 30ft) - Install aluminum frame acrylic sliding door below kitchen sink. (about 4ft x 3ft) Living Room - Supply and install 6ft suspended tv console - Supply and install 8ft x 7ft feature wall c/w wall paper MBR - Replace existing bi-fold to new bi-fold acrylic bi-fold door - Install 1 x light (light supply by me) - Relocate 1 x tv point to opposite wall BR1 - Relocate 1 x tv point to opposite wall - Relocate 2 x powerpoint to opposite wall - Relocate 1 x telephone point to opposite wall BR2 - Replace 2 x low-cabinet doors to 4mm thick glass door General - Re-varnish 4 nos. of doors. - Painting - Polish marble flooring **** room - Polish terrazzo flooring for 3 bedrooms I think can try. Cos i din see any wet work involve . should be able to do it within 10k (my own guts feeling only) but hor for item "Re-laminate existing kitchen cabinet (about 30ft)" I was told relaminate and change new the cost was not much different. maybe u need to check the condition before u make yr decision Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
icygal 0 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 Agree that you can get it within your budget. Since there's nothing much; you can organize & manage yourself on the reno as well (save cost) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 think the following will cost more than expected - Replace squat pan to sitting toilet bowl Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 your 10k maybe can meet. but then u need to find a contractor who's willing to do that lor... But then try to have maybe 1 or 2k more. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mizarahi 0 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 - Supply and install 6ft suspended tv console - Supply and install 8ft x 7ft feature wall c/w wall paper These 2 item already cost a lot esp the wall paper. Was is my original plan but at the end decided to take it out due to $$$. - Relocate 1 x tv point to opposite wall - Relocate 2 x powerpoint to opposite wall - Relocate 1 x telephone point to opposite wall The term relocate is as good as make new points coz $$ ard the same. Where's your place at ? My place at Aljunied Crescent Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mizarahi 0 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 your 10k maybe can meet. but then u need to find a contractor who's willing to do that lor... But then try to have maybe 1 or 2k more. Agree. Spoke to 3 contractor, only 1 seems keen. The rest simply bo-chap. Sigh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 Agree. Spoke to 3 contractor, only 1 seems keen. The rest simply bo-chap. Sigh. Is it .... u want to try my contractor ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 Agree that you can get it within your budget. Since there's nothing much; you can organize & manage yourself on the reno as well (save cost) Converting from squatting to sitting bowl should not cost more than $300, based on the quotations i received so far :-) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mizarahi 0 Report post Posted October 3, 2009 Converting from squatting to sitting bowl should not cost more than $300, based on the quotations i received so far :-) That is really cheap. Almost seems impossible. I called a contractor just to quote for the conversion :- (i) cheap method - just overlay the tiles = $800 (ii) expensive method - hack and re-waterproof and re-lay tile = $1,300. I has this evil thought to purpose puncture the waterproofing in the toilet then get HDB come and do. Upstairs/downstairs 50/50. I so bad hor!!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted October 3, 2009 That is really cheap. Almost seems impossible. I called a contractor just to quote for the conversion :- (i) cheap method - just overlay the tiles = $800 (ii) expensive method - hack and re-waterproof and re-lay tile = $1,300. I has this evil thought to purpose puncture the waterproofing in the toilet then get HDB come and do. Upstairs/downstairs 50/50. I so bad hor!!!!! I think the cheap amount is due to just changing from squatting to sitting bowl without changing the rest of the tiles. And yes, quite evil Share this post Link to post Share on other sites