MTlot

4rm Low Budget Reno

Hi MTLot,

Welcome and congrats on your new place!

We also ran cat6 wiring for all my four rooms + living room. Think should be quite useful. We didnt conceal the trunking/casing. For ease for future repairs/ maintanance. Hee.. :D

Can all of you enlighten me, why you still install the Cat 6 cable when you can have wireless running around the house without laying any cables?

Lan cable signal is more stable and faster as compare to wireless

Hi MTLot,

Welcome and congrats on your new place!

We also ran cat6 wiring for all my four rooms + living room. Think should be quite useful. We didnt conceal the trunking/casing. For ease for future repairs/ maintanance. Hee.. :D

That's what i think too.. future maintenance. :yamseng:

I have tried wireless, very often low signal, that's why decided to go ahead with LAN. Cat6 can support the new 1G broadband from the new company forget wats their name, who is currently laying fibre optic cables all around singapore.

Edited by MTlot

Congras on yr new place. Notice yr master room pic the wall had budged badly? Do you intend to do anything abt it?

I suppose so.Now see budget if enough then do, not enough then put the bed there and save cost. :D

Hi MTlot,

If you want to plaster that area to remove the bulge area, do indicate to your contractor that the plastering is to remove the bulge. Because for some contractors, their 'understanding' of plastering is just to smooth out the wall and not 'even' out the wall. Some will tell you that the wall cant be 'even' out since the wall original condition is already uneven and to even out, need to put alot of plaster at some spots which is not possible as the plaster will crack.

Actually I didnt notice the bulge until blackcar pointed it out. :)

Hi MTlot,

If you want to plaster that area to remove the bulge area, do indicate to your contractor that the plastering is to remove the bulge. Because for some contractors, their 'understanding' of plastering is just to smooth out the wall and not 'even' out the wall. Some will tell you that the wall cant be 'even' out since the wall original condition is already uneven and to even out, need to put alot of plaster at some spots which is not possible as the plaster will crack.

Actually I didnt notice the bulge until blackcar pointed it out. :)

Yeah, just met up with contractor and he did mention bou't the wall ( not just the master wall , all walls ). He did assured me he will try the best to cover up everything. We'll have to wait to see the outcome.

Hows the design like? No 3D drawings I suppose?

So for contractor you will go and choose the tiles yourself?

Yeah, he's a contractor and not ID so no 3D drawings. All depends on me for the ideas and he'll do his best to match what i want. So mething good bou't this guy is he will give a lot of suggestion too be it on the cost saving side or on the reno works.

For the tiles he bought us to the warehouse to get the tiles and he have a lot of ideas but beyond my budget. I get to choose the tiles but i give him freedom to do both my toilets. I'll go take some pics later and post here. :D

This week will be plastering works.

Toilets and basins will arrive today.

Currently still sourcing for window film contractor or someone to do up the windows.

IMG00630-20091024-1632.jpg

Common toilet

That incoming water supply to my unit above does not look good. I wanted to conceal it but according to my contractor HDB dun allow this lah that lah... so have to bear with the pipe. Anyone knows what to do with piece of pipe??

hope your contractor's name is not pierre :D

as for the pipe, you can box it up with acrylic panels