gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2009 If u are placing the tv at the side of the wall behind the bedroom,yah,its a bit too near especially If the tv is 42 inch or more. Something like this lor. Yes, this is the design that i am talking about. I think the 32 inch tv more suitable due to the short width of the living room. But my main concern is still the tv console 'eating' up the space. :-O Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2009 Alternative...U can plan something like this... this way,u can adjust the distance u wanna watch the tv from the sofa.. Yup, some designers i spoke to also recommend this design, but in this case, the tv feature wall will be blocking the wind and light from the windows... my mum says NO. Haiz... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2009 (edited) Gantan: Sorry, didn't really quite understand what you meant by TV console being away from TV. Did you mean TV console away from current TV point location? If that's the case, you can get the electrician to do some re-wiring to suit the layout you've planned. That way, all the required points (e.g. TV/SCV/Mio/Phone) will be closer or exactly where you place the console. In some cases, you can even use the console to mask the trunking and have the points inside the console as well. The audio and video cable connected to the TV should then be able to run through some holes in the console. I know what you mean about the drop down trunking. Even in a house with concealed wiring, we also could not avoid some instances of these due to shifting of TV and power point locations. Only way is to minimise and run along recessed beams or along floor skirtings. The 2nd layout provided by Rondy looks quite good. Hi Adrian, What i actually mean is that tradditionally, when you wall-mount your tv, the tv console will be directly beneath it right? The Tv console is about 50mm in depth, protruding out from the wall. Opposite the wall mount tv will be my sofa and then coffee table, these also take up space. Thus the remaining space available for walking will be very little, very narrow for comfort. Hence i thought of relocating the tv console to elsewhere so that i can have more walking space (between the sofa and the wall mount tv). So if this is the case, i will need to pre-lay the cables which will be concealed by L-box and false ceilings right? I hope my explanation is clear :-) [Rasp] Regarding the LAN cable drop down from L-box, i consider your point to try run behind doors. Although i use wireless at home, but this LAN connection is for backup, kiasu. Haha. Edited October 9, 2009 by gantan88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2009 (edited) This afternoon i was at Harvey Norman looking at all the LCD Tv, wondering whether to buy HD ready or Full HD. I also catch a salesman to explain to me about using component video, composite and HDMI connections. Is it true that by using a good HDMI cable (Monster brand), a HD-Ready Tv can have a signal close to 1080i (Full HD)? Dunno the salesman got smoke me a not.... Edited October 10, 2009 by gantan88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
momo13 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2009 (edited) This afternoon i was at Harvey Norman looking at all the LCD Tv, wondering whether to buy HD ready or Full HD. I also catch a salesman to explain to me about using component video, composite and HDMI connections. Is it through that by using a good HDMI cable (Monster brand), a HD-Ready Tv can have a signal close to 1080i (Full HD)? Dunno the salesman got smoke me a not.... if the length is not that long, need not to get monster brand hdmi (its a 'monster' price to pay for that kind when u can get something 60-70% cheaper) anyway now HD ready price is almost near to Full HD sets. i believe he is saying about up-scaling the output? correct me if i am wrong Edited October 9, 2009 by momo13 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted October 10, 2009 This afternoon i was at Harvey Norman looking at all the LCD Tv, wondering whether to buy HD ready or Full HD. I also catch a salesman to explain to me about using component video, composite and HDMI connections. Is it through that by using a good HDMI cable (Monster brand), a HD-Ready Tv can have a signal close to 1080i (Full HD)? Dunno the salesman got smoke me a not.... He smoke u .... Signal and resolution different wor. HD ready can only display 1360 X 780 Full HD can display 1920 x 1080 But all very depend on media too. Cable is the connection between media (disc + player) and output (output) so a DVD (not full HD) go thru whatever cable still DVD then reach TV (regardless Full HD or HD ready ) still DVD, there is no way it can turn to HD or Blueray to achieve Full HD effect u need BlueRay player + Blue Ray ----------- go thru HDMI (dun need monster) ----------> output Full HD TV = Full HD image The up scaling hat momo mention, is abt the Player that can upscale a normal DVD to 1080 effect still got nothing to do with the cable Upscale DVD player + DVD ----->---->upscaling ---> upscaling ---> then go thru HDMI (dun need monster) ------> output Full HD tv = close to Full HD image Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2009 This afternoon i was at Harvey Norman looking at all the LCD Tv, wondering whether to buy HD ready or Full HD. I also catch a salesman to explain to me about using component video, composite and HDMI connections. Is it through that by using a good HDMI cable (Monster brand), a HD-Ready Tv can have a signal close to 1080i (Full HD)? Dunno the salesman got smoke me a not.... all smoke lah. full hd is 1080p and not 1080i. if the source of the signal is crap, u use whatever cable also no use. at most u will amplify the crap and make it even more crap. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2009 if the length is not that long, need not to get monster brand hdmi (its a 'monster' price to pay for that kind when u can get something 60-70% cheaper) anyway now HD ready price is almost near to Full HD sets. i believe he is saying about up-scaling the output? correct me if i am wrong Hi momo13, So am i right to conclude that, unless i run my cable very long, to reduce signal weakening over long distance, then i use good stuff like Monster brand? If so, how long then is considered long, and i need to pay monster price to get monster brand? I didn't know about this upscaling thingy. What does it do? Only certain players can have this function? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted October 10, 2009 Hi momo13, So am i right to conclude that, unless i run my cable very long, to reduce signal weakening over long distance, then i use good stuff like Monster brand? If so, how long then is considered long, and i need to pay monster price to get monster brand? I didn't know about this upscaling thingy. What does it do? Only certain players can have this function? my hts have it. i think nowaday alot of player have it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2009 He smoke u .... Signal and resolution different wor. HD ready can only display 1360 X 780 Full HD can display 1920 x 1080 But all very depend on media too. Cable is the connection between media (disc + player) and output (output) so a DVD (not full HD) go thru whatever cable still DVD then reach TV (regardless Full HD or HD ready ) still DVD, there is no way it can turn to HD or Blueray to achieve Full HD effect u need BlueRay player + Blue Ray ----------- go thru HDMI (dun need monster) ----------> output Full HD TV = Full HD image The up scaling hat momo mention, is abt the Player that can upscale a normal DVD to 1080 effect still got nothing to do with the cable Upscale DVD player + DVD ----->---->upscaling ---> upscaling ---> then go thru HDMI (dun need monster) ------> output Full HD tv = close to Full HD image Bro, Love it, your explanation very clear. So am i right to conclude that a HD-Ready Tv can NEVER display/achieve what a FULL-HD Tv can do. Even if i do upscaling also no use. Correct? So even if i have a FULL-HD Tv, but i DO NOT HAVE a BlueRay player, i also cannot achieve a FULL-HD effect. Unless i get a DVD player that can do upscaling, using HDMI cable, then i can get a close to FULL-HD image (still NOT a true blue FULL HD image though). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2009 all smoke lah. full hd is 1080p and not 1080i. if the source of the signal is crap, u use whatever cable also no use. at most u will amplify the crap and make it even more crap. Eh this one i know, 'i' stands for interlaced and 'p' stands for progressive scan. I think my telcommunication studies during my poly years is hellping me. Haha. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2009 my hts have it. i think nowaday alot of player have it At least now i am clearer. Cos i got quite a shock when i saw the pricing of Monters cables. Even normal Tv antenna cable also got Monster brand. It is really a pricer to pay... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2009 Updates... Updates... I just went for HDB first appointment on Thursday. Completion date tentatively on 10 Nov 09. Yeh! I should be deciding on my designer soon within next week. Renovation estimated to start 23 Nov 09. Cos for month of Nov i got reservist. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted October 10, 2009 Bro, Love it, your explanation very clear. So am i right to conclude that a HD-Ready Tv can NEVER display/achieve what a FULL-HD Tv can do. Even if i do upscaling also no use. Correct? So even if i have a FULL-HD Tv, but i DO NOT HAVE a BlueRay player, i also cannot achieve a FULL-HD effect. Unless i get a DVD player that can do upscaling, using HDMI cable, then i can get a close to FULL-HD image (still NOT a true blue FULL HD image though). U got it all right. My house set up is upscaling player with free hdmi cable with full HD tv. So far so good. Watching GI Joe now. Friend all say it's very clear. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2009 U got it all right. My house set up is upscaling player with free hdmi cable with full HD tv. So far so good. Watching GI Joe now. Friend all say it's very clear. U got me very excited because my current house still using the old school CRT Tv. BluRay player price has dropped a lot, y don't you get one? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites