ossify 1 Report post Posted January 8, 2010 I believe he told me before but i forgotten. I have to go measure again on Saturday.... How do you mount your "dressed up" tubes? Does it need false ceiling? I am thinking of not doing the false ceiling for dining already bcos it makes the ceiling too low and also it cost $480 :-p Use pvc/diffusers from Dama I am going to stick those stainless steel bar with hooks for me to hang things. Like Ikea kitchen style. It got to be strong enuff to hold bottles like oyster source, cooking oil etc... Never use such products before.... Use 3M, can hold 3kg i saw some chrome coloured ones. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2010 Measured again just now. My floor to celing height for dining area is 241cm. If do false ceiling, ceiling will be lowered by another 4 inches = 231cm = Fail HDB regulation... But dunno why contractor did not remind me on this.... Now i dunno what to do for my dining area lighting... :-S Had a discussion with my Contractor on site today: He said things like false ceiling, L-Box are considered as temporary fixtures and need not follow the 2.4m clearance height for ceiling. If you are building a cement ceiling then have to observe the 2.4m height clearance. This is something new. I think i have 2 options now. First is to do cove lightings, can cover up the gas and water pipe. Second is to have the pipes exposed and just fix a hanging light above the dining table... or both. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2010 Use pvc/diffusers from Dama Use 3M, can hold 3kg i saw some chrome coloured ones. How do we use the diffuser on the tube? Sorry cos' i see the picture from dama website but can't figure out how these 2 works together. I only know that the diffuser is for diffusing the light. :-p You are talking about the 3M hangers or adhesives? I am only aware that 3M produce a range of adhesives and tapes etc.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted January 9, 2010 How do we use the diffuser on the tube? Sorry cos' i see the picture from dama website but can't figure out how these 2 works together. I only know that the diffuser is for diffusing the light. :-p You are talking about the 3M hangers or adhesives? I am only aware that 3M produce a range of adhesives and tapes etc.. use your imagination 3M is referring to the hooks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 use your imagination 3M is referring to the hooks. Maybe i should check out the hooks... i only know 3M advertise its adhesive on tv, that advert got Bryan Wong inside... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 My Contractor told me the wrong size for one of my WC. Hence i bought and delivered wrongly. They will re-deliver tomorrow... As of this week, electrical cabling and water pipes are up. Most fittings have been installed except for the wrong size WC and some toilet accessories. Aircon installation suppose to be yesterday afternoon but the unit below me complained to town council about the noise that are created in the morning. Hence after 1pm cannot carry out any noisy work. So i have to postphone the aircon installation to this coming Wed. Coming Tuesday is ceilnig works and the kitchen doorway partition wall. Thur and /or Fri is painting work. Fri afternoon is installation of window grilles and wrought iron gate. I hope everythig goes fine. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 My Contractor told me the wrong size for one of my WC. Hence i bought and delivered wrongly. They will re-deliver tomorrow... As of this week, electrical cabling and water pipes are up. Most fittings have been installed except for the wrong size WC and some toilet accessories. Aircon installation suppose to be yesterday afternoon but the unit below me complained to town council about the noise that are created in the morning. Hence after 1pm cannot carry out any noisy work. So i have to postphone the aircon installation to this coming Wed. Coming Tuesday is ceilnig works and the kitchen doorway partition wall. Thur and /or Fri is painting work. Fri afternoon is installation of window grilles and wrought iron gate. I hope everythig goes fine. by right Sat after 1pm and Sun cannot have noisy work. but if nobody complain, it's all good that's why aircon installation should be done on weekdays looks like you're almost there no pics? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 (edited) by right Sat after 1pm and Sun cannot have noisy work. but if nobody complain, it's all good that's why aircon installation should be done on weekdays looks like you're almost there no pics? Nevermind lo.. now i know my neighbour downstair 'pattern', every little things complain... sian.... Its quite bad for me this period coz i starting on a new job this week, on weekday when i rush down to site, it is all dark, no lights, so cannot take photo. Today i am at site too but forgot the camera, but anyway nothing to take also, just the installed basin, WCs and water pipes. Coming week should be more 'eventful' so to speak. Then try to take more photos... Edited January 10, 2010 by gantan88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 Can anyone teach me how to choose kitchen sink? Is there a different between a top-mount and under-mount sink? Thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 Can anyone teach me how to choose kitchen sink? Is there a different between a top-mount and under-mount sink? Thanks. Top-mount is mount above the solid top. Under-mount is mount below the solid top. Gd pt abt top-mount is if any problem with the sink, can change easier. Bad pt is over-mount don't look so sleek. For under-mount, need to remove solid top before u are able to change the sink in the future. But look more sleek usually. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 Top-mount is mount above the solid top. Under-mount is mount below the solid top. Gd pt abt top-mount is if any problem with the sink, can change easier. Bad pt is over-mount don't look so sleek. For under-mount, need to remove solid top before u are able to change the sink in the future. But look more sleek usually. But.. is it any type of sink also can do top or under mount? If not, then how do i differentiate btw the 2 types? Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 (edited) But.. is it any type of sink also can do top or under mount? If not, then how do i differentiate btw the 2 types? Thanks! there are special type of sinks that can only be undermount. undermount sinks the tap will be mounted to your counter top. but i think most sinks out there should also be able to be undermount. maybe u decide what you want then go ask more from the shop. Edited January 10, 2010 by alamak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 (edited) there are special type of sinks that can only be undermount. undermount sinks the tap will be mounted to your counter top. but i think most sinks out there should also be able to be undermount. maybe u decide what you want then go ask more from the shop. My previous house sink is undermounted, but i am not involvedin the reno proceess then... but i remembered that my tap is also mounted on the sink area (at the edge of the sink). Been to Hoe Kee, they not very helpful in this. Been to SSC - worse, cos it is always so crowded and hard to get a person to attend to you and they dun look confident with their reply... So i fallback to renotalk lo.... Top-mount as far as i know has 1 disadvantage, that is, water can seep through the gap btw the counter yop and the sink edge... Edited January 10, 2010 by gantan88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 My previous house sink is undermounted, but i am not involvedin the reno proceess then... but i remembered that my tap is also mounted on the sink area (at the edge of the sink). Been to Hoe Kee, they not very helpful in this. Been to SSC - worse, cos it is always so crowded and hard to get a person to attend to you and they dun look confident with their reply... So i fallback to renotalk lo.... Top-mount as far as i know has 1 disadvantage, that is, water can seep through the gap btw the counter yop and the sink edge... My L-Box is up. Tomorrow the workers will continue with the partition wall. No pics again because by the time i reach site, sky has turned dark... Hopefully by end of this week, doorway, painting all done according to schedule and window and door grill is up. Also understand from my contractor that carpentry work for my kitchen cabinet is on the way already. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 13, 2010 Updates... Today the worker continue to build my kitchen doorway entrance partition wall. Dunno why he cannot finish in one day. I rush down to site to see during lunch time. After work go see again, still the same status. Wa lao... Surprise No. 1: The Kitchen doorway partition wall is 7 inches thick! Just to accomodate the glass door to slide in between the 2 partitions. Eating into dining room space which is already so small... Now feel like letting the glass door slide outside but the glass door sliding top hung track will be exposed..... Today Gain City come install aircon. Very punctual. I rush down during lunch time to discuss on the trunking route. After work i go down again to check.. and .... Surprise No. 2: One aircon he mount slanted. Anyone got this experience? Can i call them back to adjust it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites