alamak 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2009 Hi all, This is quoted by my contractor for engaging his electrician. Is this a fair deal? $60 per double powerpoint $50 per single powerpt $50 for telephone point $100 per SCV pt $90 per heater pt MCB box is $300. The dismantling and removing of old wires is FOC. Alternatively, does "lightings.com.sg" do whole house electrical wiring for us? Thanks. typical contractor/ID price. if u engage directly, will be slightly cheaper. how much cheaper will depend on how many points you are doing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2009 typical contractor/ID price. if u engage directly, will be slightly cheaper. how much cheaper will depend on how many points you are doing. I calculated just now, total power points and lighting point installation already $1790. Have not include SCV and heater points yet. Anyone has electrician lobang? Seriously need to cut down cost. ... Thanks.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest Goobii Report post Posted December 27, 2009 (edited) I calculated just now, total power points and lighting point installation already $1790. Have not include SCV and heater points yet. Anyone has electrician lobang? Seriously need to cut down cost. ... Thanks.... YOUR ANSWER FROM ME~! Contact: Uncle Peter 94660377 Mine cost $1200 for all electrical works, dismantle & laying of the wiring, plus mounting heater/fan/downlight/hanging light/2curtain.... *Make use of uncle to help a little bit here and there... LOL....* $600 for all the plug & switch ( I used the high end switches *CLIPSER* about $25 each and mostly double plugs ) It cost more for the RAW material of all the switchs & plugs. The stupid plug for the telephone line cost about $25 each. The SCV plug cost me $22. The double gang switch $16... single gang $8... AIRCON special switch $12 (HEART PAIN but WORTH it!!!) I suggest you go Jalan Besar to look for your own switch or ask uncle peter to recommend you something cheaper but nicer. Example: Piano Switch. worse to worse... take those normal HDB switch . (CHEAPEST) Edited December 27, 2009 by Goobii Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
home_sweet_home 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 sorry to have ask this question in ur thread bro gantan88. I have some question regarding plastering of the house since your told on plastering earlier on. 1) Plastering of the wall is to make the wall smoother? 2) I wanted to convert my kitchen currently with half height wall tiles to non wall tiles. I would need to hack away the tiles and then do plastering? Is it confirm cheaper to plaster the kitchen wall then to lay the wall tiles? 3) I am thinking whether to plaster the living room and bedrooms wall to make them smoother so that after painting it will be nicer. I will be renovating my 3NG flat so thinking whether to plaster the living and bedrooms wall or not. I think painting over the 30 years old wall might be abit ugly as the wall might be uneven? Any advises by forum bro and sis? 4) Anyone know the rough quote to demolish the wall between the living room and kitchen for the 3NG flat (the wall in red box)? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 YOUR ANSWER FROM ME~! Contact: Uncle Peter 94660377 Mine cost $1200 for all electrical works, dismantle & laying of the wiring, plus mounting heater/fan/downlight/hanging light/2curtain.... *Make use of uncle to help a little bit here and there... LOL....* $600 for all the plug & switch ( I used the high end switches *CLIPSER* about $25 each and mostly double plugs ) It cost more for the RAW material of all the switchs & plugs. The stupid plug for the telephone line cost about $25 each. The SCV plug cost me $22. The double gang switch $16... single gang $8... AIRCON special switch $12 (HEART PAIN but WORTH it!!!) I suggest you go Jalan Besar to look for your own switch or ask uncle peter to recommend you something cheaper but nicer. Example: Piano Switch. worse to worse... take those normal HDB switch . (CHEAPEST) Hi Goobii, When u say double plugs, do you mean 2 switches in 1 face plate? Is Uncle Peter response prompt? And will he accompany me to buy the faceplates and switches? As i m running rather short of time now, i like to cut down the time taken for sourcing for the switches and faceplates. Can you direct me to any shops where i can find a reasonable range of the stuffs? I need to settle electrical this week, get town council to change the pipings (after tt need to make good the tiles again :-S) and buy the toilet accessories and WCs... Rush rush rush! Thanks a lot!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 sorry to have ask this question in ur thread bro gantan88. I have some question regarding plastering of the house since your told on plastering earlier on. 1) Plastering of the wall is to make the wall smoother? 2) I wanted to convert my kitchen currently with half height wall tiles to non wall tiles. I would need to hack away the tiles and then do plastering? Is it confirm cheaper to plaster the kitchen wall then to lay the wall tiles? 3) I am thinking whether to plaster the living room and bedrooms wall to make them smoother so that after painting it will be nicer. I will be renovating my 3NG flat so thinking whether to plaster the living and bedrooms wall or not. I think painting over the 30 years old wall might be abit ugly as the wall might be uneven? Any advises by forum bro and sis? 4) Anyone know the rough quote to demolish the wall between the living room and kitchen for the 3NG flat (the wall in red box)? Hello! No problem, glad to help :-) 1. Plastering of the wall is to make the wall smoother and to make the edges 'sharper' thus looks more well defined. 2. Yes, u need to hack away the tiles, cement screed (smoothen he surface after hacking) and then plaster over. The plastering compound for kitchen wall is different from those used for living and bedroom. Under HDB regulation, u cannot use normal plaster forkitchen wall, thus is slightly more expensive. But over all the saving is about few hundreds compared to using tiles. 3. It depends on how nice u wan yr hse to be. If u r ok with those uneven surfaces, then dun do plastering for living and bedroom. But for kitchen, u cant escape plastering coz u r not using tiles. 4. this one... i need to check back my quotation but should be btw 300 - 400 including making good of the areas after hacking as they will be damaged (uneven surface). U have the same floor plan as mine! Which area is it? :-) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
home_sweet_home 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2009 bro gantan88, thank you for clearing my doubt on the plastering issue. Now then i know need to do the cement screed then can do plastering. If doing plastering is only few hundred dollar cheaper then i might consider doing tile instead of plastering cos tile easier to maintain in the long run. My resale 3NG is in Bedok North Street 3 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 29, 2009 (edited) 2. Yes, u need to hack away the tiles, cement screed (smoothen he surface after hacking) and then plaster over. The plastering compound for kitchen wall is different from those used for living and bedroom. Under HDB regulation, u cannot use normal plaster forkitchen wall, thus is slightly more expensive. But over all the saving is about few hundreds compared to using tiles. not exactly. my kitchen tiles were not hacked. they just grind it and plaster over it. quite interesting huh hack and screed and plaster also can.. but generate more waste and costs more. up to you which route you want to do. i posted it here Edited December 29, 2009 by ossify Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2009 not exactly. my kitchen tiles were not hacked. they just grind it and plaster over it. quite interesting huh hack and screed and plaster also can.. but generate more waste and costs more. up to you which route you want to do. i posted it here Something new to me also. I heard those newers toilets which u cannot hack due to the piping adopt similar method if don't want to overlay directly. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2009 not exactly. my kitchen tiles were not hacked. they just grind it and plaster over it. quite interesting huh hack and screed and plaster also can.. but generate more waste and costs more. up to you which route you want to do. i posted it here Yes, grinding is new to me. But the cost difference btw grinding and hacking? Coz grinding also got intensive labour? The easiest is just to use cement to overlay... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2009 bro gantan88, thank you for clearing my doubt on the plastering issue. Now then i know need to do the cement screed then can do plastering. If doing plastering is only few hundred dollar cheaper then i might consider doing tile instead of plastering cos tile easier to maintain in the long run. My resale 3NG is in Bedok North Street 3 Wait till u get yr costing for both options first. And if u got budget constraint, saving of a few hundreds here and there add up become 1 - 2k already. Tile-less kitchen can look modern also. Although no doubt it is easier to maintain with tiles. If no tiles, can use wash-and-wear paint to paint the wall. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 29, 2009 Something new to me also. I heard those newers toilets which u cannot hack due to the piping adopt similar method if don't want to overlay directly. i don't want to hack all my bathroom wall because tiles cost money so if can keep, i'll keep. just overlay the ugly colours Yes, grinding is new to me. But the cost difference btw grinding and hacking? Coz grinding also got intensive labour? The easiest is just to use cement to overlay... grinding 1 wall 2.4m by 2.4m takes about 30min, 1 guy, 1 angle cutter. if your contractor want to chop you for grinding, you can DIY it angle cutter from carrefour $50 only. you tell the contractor "nevermind lah, i grind for you, you minus off the $200" using cement to overlay on tile will just make your tile very thick. imagine tile + cement + tile. compare to tile + tile. Wait till u get yr costing for both options first. And if u got budget constraint, saving of a few hundreds here and there add up become 1 - 2k already. Tile-less kitchen can look modern also. Although no doubt it is easier to maintain with tiles. If no tiles, can use wash-and-wear paint to paint the wall. yes of course must get costing for both options then consider. if no tiles, can always use acrylic panels or glass panels from ikea Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 29, 2009 (edited) 2. Yes, u need to hack away the tiles, cement screed (smoothen he surface after hacking) and then plaster over. The plastering compound for kitchen wall is different from those used for living and bedroom. Under HDB regulation, u cannot use normal plaster forkitchen wall, thus is slightly more expensive. But over all the saving is about few hundreds compared to using tiles. i just read this again and realised something.. who told you that you cannot use normal plaster for kitchen wall? against hdb regulations? are you sure? i don't see any mention about plastering kitchen walls on hdb's regulations. sounds to me like your contractor is chopping carrot FROM http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10205p.nsf/WP...ed?OpenDocument Renovation Works Not Allowed HDB regulates the types of renovation works that are carried out in HDB flats. All renovation works have to be carried out by HDB Registered Renovation Contractors (RRCs). Certain types of renovation works need a permit from HDB before they are allowed to be carried out. However, some renovation works are not allowed to be carried out due to the following reasons: * Overloading the structure which may affect the structural integrity and safety of the building. * Affecting the external facade/form of the building or public safety. * Creating public nuisance, posing fire hazard or encroachment to public area. * Infringing lease agreement, relevant statutory regulations or requirements, etc. Examples of Renovation Works Not Allowed * Hacking and removal of structural members such as reinforced concrete wall, columns, beams, slabs, staircases within maisonette flats, etc. * Excessive overloading of the floor slab with a load greater than 150 kg for every metre square of floor area. * Plastering of ceilings. * Partitioning with combustible or toxic emission materials (e.g. plywood, plastics, asbestos etc.) * Raising of floor level exceeding the allowable thickness of 50mm (inclusive of floor tiles) using concrete. * Extending floor area by covering over void deck areas (e.g. covering over void deck areas within maisonette flats) * Constructing water tank in bathroom except ready-made fibreglass bathtub. * Repositioning or enlarging bin chute opening. * Painting external part of building (e.g. common corridor walls and ceilings) * Installing awning or other fixtures outside flat. * Installing casement windows where flat's façade is facing common corridor. * Laying floor finishes outside entrance door without having recess area or step. * Replacement of full height windows or 3/4 height windows or bay windows. * Removal or tampering of safety railings/grilles (internal and external) originally provided by HDB. * Partial or total enclosure including installation of external grilles at air-conditioner ledge. * Partial or total enclosure including installation of external grilles at planter box. No permanent sealing of planter box. * Caging of interaction balcony 'OVERHEAD' grilles of any design. * Change of use of planter box and air-conditioner ledge. * Placement of reflective film (exceeding 20% reflectance) over existing window's glass panel. ps. one contractor quoted me $840 for cement plastering over existing kitchen wall tiles. i didn't accept it but just a figure i'm giving you to compare. personally, i wouldn't pay more than $300 for it. $400 if workmanship is good. Edited December 29, 2009 by ossify Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2009 i just read this again and realised something.. who told you that you cannot use normal plaster for kitchen wall? against hdb regulations? are you sure? i don't see any mention about plastering kitchen walls on hdb's regulations. sounds to me like your contractor is chopping carrot FROM http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10205p.nsf/WP...ed?OpenDocument ps. one contractor quoted me $840 for cement plastering over existing kitchen wall tiles. i didn't accept it but just a figure i'm giving you to compare. personally, i wouldn't pay more than $300 for it. $400 if workmanship is good. This is what i was told. And when they did my plastering, they left my kitchen alone. My kitchen is already 'smoothened' and the end surface is really smooth and is grey in colour. I got no time to verify all this lo, do liao just forget it... now rushing eletrical work and installation of WCs and water pipes etc. If you really find out that this is not true, post it up here and alert everyone, then i go 'K' my contractor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 29, 2009 This is what i was told. And when they did my plastering, they left my kitchen alone. My kitchen is already 'smoothened' and the end surface is really smooth and is grey in colour. I got no time to verify all this lo, do liao just forget it... now rushing eletrical work and installation of WCs and water pipes etc. If you really find out that this is not true, post it up here and alert everyone, then i go 'K' my contractor... haha sorry i dunno. you see the pics of my kitchen cement screeding. see if there's any difference? the grey version is cheaper than the white version. we bought the grey version because white version out of stock. about $7 difference per packet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites