gantan88

My 3ng - Starting My Life Anew

My advice is to install air con now. Cos if you intend to install later on, the running of trunking might be obstructed by the carpentry work (eg. wardrobe, WIW). In such case, the running of trunking might not be the most ideal (eg. have to go a longer route). Furthermore, the amount of dust created by the installment will make the whole house dirty. U have to spend decent amt of time to clean it up. Ask Pinkpetter. She will tell u to install during reno.

I am not doing any wardrobe. From what i see, there isn't any carpentry works that is done all the way to ceiling one. Even the wardrobe i intend to buy is not full height.

Spending $1000 plus on something which i am not needing now seems like a luxury to me. :D I had considered the trouble of aircon installation after renovation is done though.

Maybe Pinkpetter can give me more insights to this. Thanks!

The unit below mine complain to town council that their toilet is leaking. The town council person come and advised me to talk to my contractor just to ensure that the wet works are done properly. And also to change the cast iron pipe in kitchen toilet (original from HDB 30 years ago) to PVC.

The town council term contractor plumber came and gives a quote to change to PVC pipes and 'conveniently' says that the kitchen PVC pipe changed by the previous owner is not legal and advised me to change also. Anyone here who is technical in this can advise?

The 'not legal' PVC pipe:

KitchenPiping.jpg

any quotes from the plumber about changing the cast iron pipe in the common toilet?

i've asked my contractor, and he says no need to change, it will be changed by HDB when they (eventually) do upgrading works on old (30yr+) flats.

if i get him to change, it will be like $900.

as for the illegal kitchen piping....before you got the keys, there should have been an inspection by HDB right, all the illegal works should have been rectified before the keys can be handed over.

I am not doing any wardrobe. From what i see, there isn't any carpentry works that is done all the way to ceiling one. Even the wardrobe i intend to buy is not full height.

Spending $1000 plus on something which i am not needing now seems like a luxury to me. :D I had considered the trouble of aircon installation after renovation is done though.

are you considering a system 1 (only MBR) or 2 (2 bedrooms) or 3 (2 bedrooms + hall)?

if system 1, then can do later. not much trunking, not much drilling.

if 2 or 3, then they need to drill holes thru walls to lay out piping, then cover with trunking and patching up holes ....so will tend to become a hassle to clean up the dust later.

if you have movable furniture, also must cover up properly and move out of the way so they can drill the walls.

dust from drilling is quite powerful, can "penetrate" coverings!

Hihi. U can read her air con woes here - http://brainybimbobunny.blogspot.com/searc...p;max-results=3

For customised wardrobe carpentry, it is always full height to ceiling/false ceiling/covelight unless the owner prefer not to. Full height wardrobes are usually the selected choice because it can help to hide exposed electrical trunking, air con trunking, etc.

are you considering a system 1 (only MBR) or 2 (2 bedrooms) or 3 (2 bedrooms + hall)?

if 2 or 3, then they need to drill holes thru walls to lay out piping, then cover with trunking and patching up holes ....so will tend to become a hassle to clean up the dust later.

if you have movable furniture, also must cover up properly and move out of the way so they can drill the walls.

Dust is the main problem here. :)

any quotes from the plumber about changing the cast iron pipe in the common toilet?

Ok, this is what i have learnt:

There are one vertical pipe (cast iron) from floor to ceiling. This is HDB's property. So you can simply get HDB/Town Council to change it to PVC for free by HDB's Term Contractor.

Then there are also 2 small U-shape pipes (cast iron) that links to master bedroom toilet. These 2 U-shape pipes are NOT HDB's property and owner has to change it at their own cost, at their own choice of contractor outside.

But if you are changing all the pipes together, you can get HDB's Term Contractor to change the U-shape pipes also. You will only be charged for the U-shape pipes.

Not forgetting the 2 U-shape pipes at master bedroom toilet also must change because all pipings are linked.

So for me, i am quoted by the Term Contractor to change all the 4 U-shape pipes for $720.

What your $900 consist of?

i've asked my contractor, and he says no need to change, it will be changed by HDB when they (eventually) do upgrading works on old (30yr+) flats.

if i get him to change, it will be like $900.

As mentioned above, HDB will only change the vertical pipe for free. For me i am considering changing only the vertical pipe. My principle is "if the thing is not spoilt, dun try to fix it" :D

as for the illegal kitchen piping....before you got the keys, there should have been an inspection by HDB right, all the illegal works should have been rectified before the keys can be handed over.

Yes, this is what i thought so... i think the Term Contractor is only trying to earn my money only.... ;)

I am ok with moving away furnitures just to make way for the work and also clean up the place later though. Only worry abt not getting the best route (= uglier?) for the cabling of i do it later. For e.g, maybe now can hide above false ceiling? Next time once false ceiling is up, cannot run there liao...

Hihi. U can read her air con woes here - http://brainybimbobunny.blogspot.com/searc...p;max-results=3

For customised wardrobe carpentry, it is always full height to ceiling/false ceiling/covelight unless the owner prefer not to. Full height wardrobes are usually the selected choice because it can help to hide exposed electrical trunking, air con trunking, etc.

Dust is the main problem here. :)

Thanks Mickey for the link.

I thought maybe i can use a vacuum cleaner to suck the dust while the contractor is drilling. This is what most people do right? :D

Just read her blog. I think she could have understand from the contractor on the damages to existing infrastructure (hole above bedroom door etc) resulting from the installation so she dun really get surprises end of the day.

Besides that, yes, it is the dust and getting the 'best route ' for the cabling.

Her blog gave me an idea to use portable air-conditioner. Any minus-points for this?

Anyone?

Guest Goobii
Just read her blog. I think she could have understand from the contractor on the damages to existing infrastructure (hole above bedroom door etc) resulting from the installation so she dun really get surprises end of the day.

Besides that, yes, it is the dust and getting the 'best route ' for the cabling.

Her blog gave me an idea to use portable air-conditioner. Any minus-points for this?

Anyone?

Portable aircon = Noisy

Take up space & need to use a hose to draw the hot air out of the room

Get 14000BTU for the coldest effect which is COLD enough to cool down the whole living room for a 3NG.

Cheapest for 14000BTU = Trends Aircon @ Giant (IMM jurong) - $749

Portable aircon = Noisy

Take up space & need to use a hose to draw the hot air out of the room

Get 14000BTU for the coldest effect which is COLD enough to cool down the whole living room for a 3NG.

Cheapest for 14000BTU = Trends Aircon @ Giant (IMM jurong) - $749

Huh... so if i am using it in bedroom, i can only draw the hot air out of the window? And the cold air will be escaping at the same time also right?

Thinking of using portable aircon because i dun like those aircon trunking running around....

Guest Goobii
Huh... so if i am using it in bedroom, i can only draw the hot air out of the window? And the cold air will be escaping at the same time also right?

Thinking of using portable aircon because i dun like those aircon trunking running around....

The person will build a fake plank as a wall with hole @ one of your window and it will just likd those window aircon but a smaller section for the hot air to draw out...

I suggest you just go ahead with those split aircon... DON'T regret it... If proper planning and installation, the trunking can fit nicely into the house and will not look ugly...

See my T-Blog to find my trunking.. heehee

Guest Goobii
Thanks Mickey for the link.

I thought maybe i can use a vacuum cleaner to suck the dust while the contractor is drilling. This is what most people do right? :D

No need..

Just wet a cloth and while drilling, place it under the drilling bits and all the dust will be collected nicely..

SAVE Electricity & SPEED up drilling process... no need two man to do the job...

The person will build a fake plank as a wall with hole @ one of your window and it will just likd those window aircon but a smaller section for the hot air to draw out...

I suggest you just go ahead with those split aircon... DON'T regret it... If proper planning and installation, the trunking can fit nicely into the house and will not look ugly...

See my T-Blog to find my trunking.. heehee

Thanks. Cos i got a feeling the aircon pipe will need to cut thru the wall abover the bedroom doors, of which i have already partition it up....

No need..

Just wet a cloth and while drilling, place it under the drilling bits and all the dust will be collected nicely..

SAVE Electricity & SPEED up drilling process... no need two man to do the job...

Ok :)

This is quoted by my contractor for engaging his electrician. Is this a fair deal?

$60 per double powerpoint

$50 per single powerpt

$50 for telephone point

$100 per SCV pt

$90 per heater pt

MCB box is $300.

The dismantling and removing of old wires is FOC.

Alternatively, does "lightings.com.sg" do whole house electrical wiring for us?

Edited by gantan88