gantan88

My 3ng - Starting My Life Anew

a. mine is box up 1 door ventilation opening with partition for $60 but since i am installation new door frame, my contractor will be using hollow block to seal it up at the same price.

b. not sure but think abit ex cos hack a little bit only right?

c. mine for hacking 1 door and door frame is about $80 and a new door frame is $180.

3 pcs of gypsum boards = $240. 1 piece $80. Just one piece, put it up, nail it in, is it so labour intensive, and the board cost $80?

Hacking of the corners yah, dunno why so expensive....

FOr 'c',i think yours is same price as mine....

More advice pls......

Have identified wardrobes, sofa, dining table and beds at Nova Furniture. Shoe rack haven choose yet.

Paid a deposit of $50. When my house colours are confirmed, will go down again to select colours for sofa and bed frames.

Finally getting somewhere.

Have ran several places and Nova has the best choices.

Total damage so far for furnitures: $3,700...

Hi guys and gals,

Got some variation to the scope of work. Like to check with you all any idea if the price are reasonable.

a. To cover up the existing glass panes above the storeroom and 2 bedrooms doorway with gypsum boards so that aircon will no escape out of the bedroom. The cost for 3 pieces of gypsum boards are $240. :o

b. The 2 corners of the existing doorway from the living room leading to the bedrooms/storeroom are round. To hack it to make it square and make good, cost $250.

c. Hacking the existing door frames = $160, install a new wooden door frame = $180 and constructing a wall down is $140 per door

I got kanna chop carrot cake a not? :o

a. erm gypsum boards usually come in a big sheet. you can use 1 piece to cover all 3 holes. but maybe you can consider DIY? go to dama.com.sg and ask them to quote you for acrylic sheet (give them required dimensions) and then you just have to use liquid nails to glue it in :P confirm cheaper than $100. (i assume the size you need is 2ft by 2 ft)

haiz. b and c looks like chop carrot to me, but too many people also kenna chopped so most people won't care :P bargain b and c down to $300 (not inclusive of constructing wall down)

what is your wall down? you want to replace the door with a wall? what kind of wall? partition board or hollow-block or air-entrained concrete?

a. erm gypsum boards usually come in a big sheet. you can use 1 piece to cover all 3 holes. but maybe you can consider DIY? go to dama.com.sg and ask them to quote you for acrylic sheet (give them required dimensions) and then you just have to use liquid nails to glue it in :P confirm cheaper than $100. (i assume the size you need is 2ft by 2 ft)

haiz. b and c looks like chop carrot to me, but too many people also kenna chopped so most people won't care :P bargain b and c down to $300 (not inclusive of constructing wall down)

what is your wall down? you want to replace the door with a wall? what kind of wall? partition board or hollow-block or air-entrained concrete?

I understand from my contractor is that the gypsum board will be used to cover both sides (from inside the bedroom and from outside). So for 2 bedrooms and 1 storeroom, total is 6 pieces.

What is liquid nail? If i get from Dama, they will help me cut to the required size? I am thinking of getting the board or acrylic sheet myself then ask my contractor to nail it up and plaster a bit and paint over. U have done it before so u know is 2ft x 2ft?

When we hack away the doorframe, we also can hack away the window pane structure above the door frame, so for the window pane area, we replace it with a wall (down from the ceiling). It can be concrete or just hollow-block? What is entrained concrete? Chim leh! Buti think this is going to be more costly so most like i will just use board to cover it up...

Hi guys and gals,

Got some variation to the scope of work. Like to check with you all any idea if the price are reasonable.

a. To cover up the existing glass panes above the storeroom and 2 bedrooms doorway with gypsum boards so that aircon will no escape out of the bedroom. The cost for 3 pieces of gypsum boards are $240. :o

b. The 2 corners of the existing doorway from the living room leading to the bedrooms/storeroom are round. To hack it to make it square and make good, cost $250.

c. Hacking the existing door frames = $160, install a new wooden door frame = $180 and constructing a wall down is $140 per door

I got kanna chop carrot cake a not? :o

my contractor has mentioned that covering up those areas in (a) can be done very cheaply...within $100. (esp since he's doing boxing up here and there FOC also)

in b) , are you doing any other hacking? can just consolidate.

no need extra cost!!! i also have the same issue with you... after squaring, the place looks much brighter!!

c) hacking must charge separately?

one one frame is $180?

how many are you doing actually? if do more, cheaper? i think quite ex lah.

but seems like most pple think it's fairly reasonable.....do get a discount too...since you're paying so much for other things also...

Have identified wardrobes, sofa, dining table and beds at Nova Furniture. Shoe rack haven choose yet.

Paid a deposit of $50. When my house colours are confirmed, will go down again to select colours for sofa and bed frames.

Finally getting somewhere.

Have ran several places and Nova has the best choices.

Total damage so far for furnitures: $3,700...

good good...one of your headaches settled.

my contractor has mentioned that covering up those areas in (a) can be done very cheaply...within $100. (esp since he's doing boxing up here and there FOC also)

in b) , are you doing any other hacking? can just consolidate.

no need extra cost!!! i also have the same issue with you... after squaring, the place looks much brighter!!

c) hacking must charge separately?

one one frame is $180?

how many are you doing actually? if do more, cheaper? i think quite ex lah.

but seems like most pple think it's fairly reasonable.....do get a discount too...since you're paying so much for other things also...

(a) Haiz, i dunno leh. i also tot it will be FOC because it is just boards, nail in and paint over. SOmetimes i dunno what my ID is doing. The same contractor doing L-Box can do the covering up also right?

(b) All my hacking works are completed. So my ID explain that, getting the hacker to come again needs to pay for his transport fee here, then the hacker will hack the corners, the making good' of the corners will be done by another contractor, so it is like 2 teams of people... so quite expensive. I feel that i am being shortchanged again because I am engaging an I.D firm, They should have done the overall planning for me in terms of design. Now they left out these 2 corners and i only spotted them now, who should be responsible?

© Yes, hacking is one team of ppl, another team will come and smoothen the hacked aread, like cement screeding the wall like that.... so back to the same issue, if my ID has spotted this he should have ask the hacker do it one shot liao, now no need pay transport fee.... at least so much cheaper...

*angry*

Edited by gantan88

I understand from my contractor is that the gypsum board will be used to cover both sides (from inside the bedroom and from outside). So for 2 bedrooms and 1 storeroom, total is 6 pieces.

What is liquid nail? If i get from Dama, they will help me cut to the required size? I am thinking of getting the board or acrylic sheet myself then ask my contractor to nail it up and plaster a bit and paint over. U have done it before so u know is 2ft x 2ft?

When we hack away the doorframe, we also can hack away the window pane structure above the door frame, so for the window pane area, we replace it with a wall (down from the ceiling). It can be concrete or just hollow-block? What is entrained concrete? Chim leh! Buti think this is going to be more costly so most like i will just use board to cover it up...

er.. your ID is smoking you. 1 piece of gypsum board is very big, cut into 6 small pieces is not a problem. this can DIY with acrylic, unless you prefer to be carrot.

liquid nail is very strong glue. Dama will help you cut to required size, they're very professional and can cut accurately. No need to ask contractor nail, just glue it yourself. Otherwise he charge you another $150 for nailing :P The 2ft x 2ft is just rough estimation, should be smaller than that. You should measure all 3 holes, front and back, with a measuring tape.

that "wall" above your door cannot be concrete or hollow block!!! it's called a lintol, but lintols can only be installed on top of nearby concrete blocks. you can't just glue the lintol there... i suggest you don't build that thing... just use acrylic to cover and paint over if you want to DIY or use gypsum board to cover up. Yes please use board to cover, DIY it. don't be a carrot!

i can't believe you're paying almost $900 for doing these small things.

(a) Haiz, i dunno leh. i also tot it will be FOC because it is just boards, nail in and paint over. SOmetimes i dunno what my ID is doing. The same contractor doing L-Box can do the covering up also right?

(b) All my hacking works are completed. So my ID explain that, getting the hacker to come again needs to pay for his transport fee here, then the hacker will hack the corners, the making good' of the corners will be done by another contractor, so it is like 2 teams of people... so quite expensive. I feel that i am being shortchanged again because I am engaging an I.D firm, They should have done the overall planning for me in terms of design. Now they left out these 2 corners and i only spotted them now, who should be responsible?

© Yes, hacking is one team of ppl, another team will come and smoothen the hacked aread, like cement screeding the wall like that.... so back to the same issue, if my ID has spotted this he should have ask the hacker do it one shot liao, now no need pay transport fee.... at least so much cheaper...

*angry*

a) Of course the person doing L-box can do the covering... unless you're a carrot.

b) not all IDs can design, but most can chop carrot.

c) see b.

a) Of course the person doing L-box can do the covering... unless you're a carrot.

c) see b.

LOL.

i second b).

er.. your ID is smoking you. 1 piece of gypsum board is very big, cut into 6 small pieces is not a problem. this can DIY with acrylic, unless you prefer to be carrot.

liquid nail is very strong glue. Dama will help you cut to required size, they're very professional and can cut accurately. No need to ask contractor nail, just glue it yourself. Otherwise he charge you another $150 for nailing :P The 2ft x 2ft is just rough estimation, should be smaller than that. You should measure all 3 holes, front and back, with a measuring tape.

that "wall" above your door cannot be concrete or hollow block!!! it's called a lintol, but lintols can only be installed on top of nearby concrete blocks. you can't just glue the lintol there... i suggest you don't build that thing... just use acrylic to cover and paint over if you want to DIY or use gypsum board to cover up. Yes please use board to cover, DIY it. don't be a carrot!

i can't believe you're paying almost $900 for doing these small things.

c) see b.

Sorry bro, i still dun quite get your drift on the "that "wall" above your door cannot be concrete or hollow block". But what i really mean is that, you can imagine taking out all the panes and fill up that 'hole' with cement, so essentially it become a wall. The old door frames will remain.

I think $900 consist of hacking away the old door frames and put in the new one and also to create that 'wall' above the door frame. If just covering the panes with gypsum board and paint over for 2 bedrooms and storeroom, is $240...

Well....

I got a noob question on lighting.....

For normal living room ceiling light, usually it is 32W (or 30+ watt, can't remember the exact wattage) using CFL (circular fluorescent lamp?)

For PLC lights under the L-Box (2x 13W PLC each), if i need to switch on 8 of them to sufficiently brighten up the whole living room, total is (2x13W) X 8 = 208 Watts

Compared to ceiling light 32 Watts, using downlights consume so much more electricity! Worry about electricity bill...

Is this the correct way to calculate?

Edited by gantan88

For normal living room ceiling light, usually it is 32W (or 30+ watt, can't remember the exact wattage) using CFL (circular fluorescent lamp?)

For PLC lights under the L-Box (2x 13W PLC each), if i need to switch on 8 of them to sufficiently brighten up the whole living room, total is (2x13W) X 8 = 208 Watts

Compared to ceiling light 32 Watts, using downlights consume so much more electricity! Worry about electricity bill...

Anyone can advise on the above? :unsure:

bro , so long din visit yr thread.

Yup , I think u r right to calculate that way :)

But do u really need to switch on all 16 ? I mean 8 x 2 .

Or maybe just switch on 8 will do ?