gantan88

My 3ng - Starting My Life Anew

perhaps a side table.. cos of the size of the living room its really hard to put coffee table as my tv console will be on the door side..

Actually most 3 rooms are like that, the Tv will be on the door side.... while sofa on the opposite.

I calculated, for best comfort, sofa depth at most 90cm (most are 90, hard to find any that is shallower). Tv cabinet 40 - 45cm depth. The coffee table not more than 50cm width... then u still have space to walk lo...

But 3NG also got different kind, some haver longer and narrower (in width) living room and kitchen. Another model has a slightly shorter in length but width of the living room is wider. My 3NG is the latter kind....

Actually most 3 rooms are like that, the Tv will be on the door side.... while sofa on the opposite.

I calculated, for best comfort, sofa depth at most 90cm (most are 90, hard to find any that is shallower). Tv cabinet 40 - 45cm depth. The coffee table not more than 50cm width... then u still have space to walk lo...

But 3NG also got different kind, some haver longer and narrower (in width) living room and kitchen. Another model has a slightly shorter in length but width of the living room is wider. My 3NG is the latter kind....

yah lor.. i guess most 3-roomers will have the same 'problem' unless floor plan is different or sofa is placed facing towards kitchen.

Edited by alamak

U are rite. I didn't think of the whole pciture.

I was looking at the mis-alignment pic and base on that, it is the upper left tile that is misaligned. So I was thinking just need to cut out that tile, replace and align it again.

Sorry, it didn't occur to me at the moment other tiles will be misaligned becos of this particular tile.

Is ok no problem :) After they fill up the grout lines, it is like not so obvious already.... i wait for the whole toilet to complete then i will scrutinize their worksmanship again... hahaha :D

mm ventilation + window = $200. no ventilation, window only, should be less than $200. if your ID charge you $250, maybe it's cheaper to do it outside. anyway louvre windows are not good because they collect dust and let insects in.

you should call them for a quote

Thanks Bro. I will give Jasmine a call tomorrow.

If got ventilation, insect will also climb in right? except those which tries to fly in...

Just curious, the toilet ventilator suppose to ON 24 hours or what ah?

yah lor.. i guess most 3-roomers will have the same 'problem' unless floor plan is different or sofa is placed facing towards kitchen.

Sofa if place facing kitchen will retain the 'walkway' by the side for people but the whole house will look smaller.. and dining table also dunno how to put.... haiz.. actually 3NG really not much options when it comes to placement of furnitures... :-p

To all 3 roomers, I just came back from NOVA Furniture, and i feel that so far it has the best variety of furnitures. Moreover, their sofa sets can be customised or trimmed to the length you want. Can go there take a look if you have not.

Fyi :)

Sofa if place facing kitchen will retain the 'walkway' by the side for people but the whole house will look smaller.. and dining table also dunno how to put.... haiz.. actually 3NG really not much options when it comes to placement of furnitures... :-p

yah lor.. sofa and console must be shorter also o/w become obstacle course. :D

I am perform very lousy for my obstacle course during army days leh, haha. :-)

mine is the narrower kind if not wrong as the design is diff from my mil (amk) and uncle and cousin (bedok)... :(

Thanks Bro. I will give Jasmine a call tomorrow.

If got ventilation, insect will also climb in right? except those which tries to fly in...

Just curious, the toilet ventilator suppose to ON 24 hours or what ah?

i think on only after shower/ number 2 kind lah.

prevent mildew to ventilate so the place dries up faster.

if i recal correctly, one of the bloggers have a timer attached to the ventilator...so no need to remember to switch off.

i think that's brilliant!!!

as for furniture....sigh....

am not placing tv at the door/window there..but erm...like directly in front of the door ---along the wall that is shared by hall and common room.

tv will be "blocked" from main door by shoe rack with doubles up as a privacy screen.

so sofa area is more squarish but smaller at the same time.

dining table, i'll place under the beam .

i know very lousy FS, but lucky i dun believe lah. :P

my FS-pro mom super frustrated at all the fs rules we're "Breaking".

next time, show ya guys pics or can come up also.... lol

mine is the narrower kind if not wrong as the design is diff from my mil (amk) and uncle and cousin (bedok)... :(

I can feel how you feel, because the rental place i am staying now is also 3NG but the living room and kitchen is the kind with shorter width but longer in length. Putting a coffee table is really challenging. Even Tv console depth have to be just 40cm depth. Mostly likely have to custom made because off the shelve damm difficult to find sia! So i guess, yes, putting side table may be better for you.... :rolleyes:

Anf if u r not using any coffee table, then buy a L-shape sofa, at least you can enjoy a bit while watching Tv.... :-)

Edited by gantan88

i think on only after shower/ number 2 kind lah.

prevent mildew to ventilate so the place dries up faster.

if i recal correctly, one of the bloggers have a timer attached to the ventilator...so no need to remember to switch off.

i think that's brilliant!!!

as for furniture....sigh....

am not placing tv at the door/window there..but erm...like directly in front of the door ---along the wall that is shared by hall and common room.

tv will be "blocked" from main door by shoe rack with doubles up as a privacy screen.

so sofa area is more squarish but smaller at the same time.

dining table, i'll place under the beam .

i know very lousy FS, but lucky i dun believe lah. :P

my FS-pro mom super frustrated at all the fs rules we're "Breaking".

next time, show ya guys pics or can come up also.... lol

Necrosis, i am placing the tv console on the same wall that you are talking about also. But shoe rack is directly underneath the window. This is the 'usual' design for 3 roomers in order to maximise the space usage.

If you put your shoe rack in front of the door to double up as a privacy screen , it makes the whole living room even smaller. So what i intend to do is to buy a seperate privacy screen instead of using the shoe rack. Will source for one then....

You are right about furnitures... sigh......

I think i am not going for the ventilator liao.... i think the fan blades also need effort to maintain cleanliness... lazy... :D

As for the slant-ness of the window.. i think i just make do with it now, in future then see how, because my tiles already up, no matter i do it now or future the tiles will also be damage one.... now no time to think so much think.... next week going select basins and taps....

I thought my one month break before i start my next job in Jan, i can relax relax, but looks like now more hectic....

:unsure:

Some more pictures i took just now. The Living room flooring 90% done....

051209-LivingRm2.jpg

The guys are working on the living room extension area:

051209-LivingRmExtension.jpg

Master toilet wall:

051209-MasterToilet2.jpg

Master toilet floor:

051209-MasterToilet.jpg

Hi guys and gals,

Got some variation to the scope of work. Like to check with you all any idea if the price are reasonable.

a. To cover up the existing glass panes above the storeroom and 2 bedrooms doorway with gypsum boards so that aircon will no escape out of the bedroom. The cost for 3 pieces of gypsum boards are $240. :o

b. The 2 corners of the existing doorway from the living room leading to the bedrooms/storeroom are round. To hack it to make it square and make good, cost $250.

c. Hacking the existing door frames = $160, install a new wooden door frame = $180 and constructing a wall down is $140 per door

I got kanna chop carrot cake a not? :o

Hi guys and gals,

Got some variation to the scope of work. Like to check with you all any idea if the price are reasonable.

a. To cover up the existing glass panes above the storeroom and 2 bedrooms doorway with gypsum boards so that aircon will no escape out of the bedroom. The cost for 3 pieces of gypsum boards are $240. :o

b. The 2 corners of the existing doorway from the living room leading to the bedrooms/storeroom are round. To hack it to make it square and make good, cost $250.

c. Hacking the existing door frames = $160, install a new wooden door frame = $180 and constructing a wall down is $140 per door

I got kanna chop carrot cake a not? :o

a. mine is box up 1 door ventilation opening with partition for $60 but since i am installation new door frame, my contractor will be using hollow block to seal it up at the same price.

b. not sure but think abit ex cos hack a little bit only right?

c. mine for hacking 1 door and door frame is about $80 and a new door frame is $180.