gantan88

My 3ng - Starting My Life Anew

Like to ask a question on hood. I seldom do heavy cooking that produce lots of smoke. I do not need those chimney style hood right? I know that chimney style hood has higher suction power but i am not sure how to guage.

This afternoon i went down to Jalan Besar to go for first round of shortlisting shops. Visited Poh Seng, Hoe Kee, Royal Franco and a few others. Poh Joo is closed on Sunday, so didnt get to see it.

Advice on hood selection is appreciated.

Thank you!

Fujioh hoods are more suited for HDB flats, unless you stay on top floor. Top floor can use ventilating hoods.

Bro Ossify, care to elaborate a little what is the thing in Fujioh hoods that makes it suitable for HDB flats?

When you you say ventilating hoods, do you mean those chimney hoods?

Bro Ossify, care to elaborate a little what is the thing in Fujioh hoods that makes it suitable for HDB flats?

When you you say ventilating hoods, do you mean those chimney hoods?

They are better at removing the oil (>90%) in the fumes without the need to buy any forms of cartridges regularly. Get the NL900R model or the ariafina ones if you want to spend more for better material. Once you remove the oil, your kitchen will be easier to clean after cooking :)

When I say ventilating hoods, I am not referring chimney hoods. Eg. the NL900R is a chimney hood but it's a recycling one.

Ventilating hoods are hoods that uses a vent to blow out all your fumes out of the house. This is only allowed in landed properties and top floor units.

Recycling hoods are hoods that sucks in the oil vapour, recycles inside the hood, before venting out into your kitchen. If your hood is not able to remove the oil vapour efficiently, you will basically have an oily kitchen after cooking :)

When I first starting shopping for hoods, I just went around and compared specs, see which one has a higher suction rate. But then I realised that the oil removal efficiency is much more important. That's when i found Fujioh.

It's rather pricey though, the NL900R, but I hope it'll be worth it :P Haven't buy so can't comment.

They are better at removing the oil (>90%) in the fumes without the need to buy any forms of cartridges regularly. Get the NL900R model or the ariafina ones if you want to spend more for better material. Once you remove the oil, your kitchen will be easier to clean after cooking :)

When I say ventilating hoods, I am not referring chimney hoods. Eg. the NL900R is a chimney hood but it's a recycling one.

Ventilating hoods are hoods that uses a vent to blow out all your fumes out of the house. This is only allowed in landed properties and top floor units.

Recycling hoods are hoods that sucks in the oil vapour, recycles inside the hood, before venting out into your kitchen. If your hood is not able to remove the oil vapour efficiently, you will basically have an oily kitchen after cooking :)

When I first starting shopping for hoods, I just went around and compared specs, see which one has a higher suction rate. But then I realised that the oil removal efficiency is much more important. That's when i found Fujioh.

It's rather pricey though, the NL900R, but I hope it'll be worth it :P Haven't buy so can't comment.

Hi Ossify, thanks for the explanation. Just curious how the recycling is being done inside the hood. The oil is being absorbed by a filter inside the hood and oil-free fume is then vented out into kitchen?

I notice that that the NL900R depth is 640 according to Fujioh website but our kitchen cabinet is only 600 in depth. So the hood will sort of protrude out a little, not sure if i will bang my head onto it more often, i had this problem in my previous house. :-p But the square design suit me though.

Hoods aside, i notice that your 2nd appointment is 2 days after mine. :D

And you are using Eubiq system for your whole house? I have attended a Eubiq presentation previously and i can't visualise how it can be applied in flat.

Dear all, I have decided on my ID! But i guess i will only reveal the ID if he/she did a good job... My second appointment is on 10 Nov 09. Getting key soon!

Now into finalising the quotation, hope that variation can be minimised after work commenced. Haven been updating for a while due to work commitment etc. Been reading up this forum for more info as well.

Have question on flooring matters, like to here opinions from people in here:

I decide NOT to do any hacking for living room and kitchen. Just do overlay with another layer of tiles, including wall tiles for kitchen as well. My ID says generally there is no issue with overlay. Like to hear opinions from people in here.

Dear all, I have decided on my ID! But i guess i will only reveal the ID if he/she did a good job... My second appointment is on 10 Nov 09. Getting key soon!

Now into finalising the quotation, hope that variation can be minimised after work commenced. Haven been updating for a while due to work commitment etc. Been reading up this forum for more info as well.

I decide NOT to do any hacking for living room and kitchen. Just do overlay with another layer of tiles, including wall tiles for kitchen as well. My ID says generally there is no issue with overlay. Like to hear opinions from people in here.

from what i understand, over lay of wall tiles, only afraid of popping. for the kitchen floor tiles, only afraid of the waterproofing. but i read quite a lot of pple who overlaid their tiles and no problem. guess depends on the original condition of the tiles.

Edited by alamak

I overlay the tiles in my bathroom...so far looks ok but I haven't really started using the bathroom so don't really know..

wah so secret one ar. Post 3d drawing leh :)

from what i understand, over lay of wall tiles, only afraid of popping. for the kitchen floor tiles, only afraid of the waterproofing. but i read quite a lot of pple who overlaid their tiles and no problem. guess depends on the original condition of the tiles.

The tiles 'popping up' problem i have read abt it and my ID has highlight to me as well, he said he will bring the tiler to assess the condition of the existing floor and wall tiles before deciding.

Water proofing... my ID said no problem cos' he will just lay another 3 more layers of waterproofing before putting on the tiles, so it is like, 3 layers of new water-proofing on top of the existing water-proofing (done some 30 years ago?)

I overlay the tiles in my bathroom...so far looks ok but I haven't really started using the bathroom so don't really know..

I have chose to hack the existing toilets because they are in really bad condition and i have to hack away the existing WCs as well... so might as well.....

Um...

wah so secret one ar. Post 3d drawing leh :)

Hehe, i have not gotten my 3D drawing yet, things going a bit slow because of work committment, starting new job next year and i am on reservist next week. Sian! :o

I will post it up when i got them :-) Looking forward to it actually, want to see how good a job they can do on a 3-room flat.

actually overlaying tiles is one way to cut costs...

i also wanted to do so.

you may want to consider if the new height (after over laying) is allowed in old HDB flats?

also the weight of the concrete + tiles on top of existing ones...

best to check with your ID bah :)

do share who the mysterious ID is ah.....so curious!! :D

actually overlaying tiles is one way to cut costs...

i also wanted to do so.

you may want to consider if the new height (after over laying) is allowed in old HDB flats?

also the weight of the concrete + tiles on top of existing ones...

best to check with your ID bah :)

do share who the mysterious ID is ah.....so curious!! :D

Err... the height and weight limitation is a new thing to me, thanks for reminding. On second thought, my ID is HDB licensed, i trust they would have taken this into consideration if not they really cannot make it sia!

Taking away the hacking cost for living room and kitchen, can save $1,000 over man! And i am trying to squeeze everything i want within $25k budget. Plus $2k for electrical rewiring and $3k for furnitures and appliances, total is about $30k liao...

It is quite difficult because 3-room already very small and need a substantial amt. of carpentry work for storage areas and efficient use of space... thus jacking up the cost...

My ID ah... i'll see how they perform first.... hehe.. but if my ID is too jialat, i will reveal also, so that ppl in here can take preca :sport-smiley-018:

Hi Ossify, thanks for the explanation. Just curious how the recycling is being done inside the hood. The oil is being absorbed by a filter inside the hood and oil-free fume is then vented out into kitchen?

I notice that that the NL900R depth is 640 according to Fujioh website but our kitchen cabinet is only 600 in depth. So the hood will sort of protrude out a little, not sure if i will bang my head onto it more often, i had this problem in my previous house. :-p But the square design suit me though.

Hoods aside, i notice that your 2nd appointment is 2 days after mine. :D

And you are using Eubiq system for your whole house? I have attended a Eubiq presentation previously and i can't visualise how it can be applied in flat.

Oil is collected in a tray which you wipe away after use.

The hood is supposed to be placed 80cm above your hob. Assuming your hob is 90cm, your hood will be 1.7m high. I guess if you are more than 1.7m, you have to be careful :P But frankly, you shouldn't be standing that close to your food

Eubiq will be used in my MBR, TV console area, Dining area and Kitchen. I will still have the normal switches in various places. I guess you'll have to visualise it when I have applied it to my flat then :D

Err... the height and weight limitation is a new thing to me, thanks for reminding. On second thought, my ID is HDB licensed, i trust they would have taken this into consideration if not they really cannot make it sia!

Taking away the hacking cost for living room and kitchen, can save $1,000 over man! And i am trying to squeeze everything i want within $25k budget. Plus $2k for electrical rewiring and $3k for furnitures and appliances, total is about $30k liao...

It is quite difficult because 3-room already very small and need a substantial amt. of carpentry work for storage areas and efficient use of space... thus jacking up the cost...

My ID ah... i'll see how they perform first.... hehe.. but if my ID is too jialat, i will reveal also, so that ppl in here can take preca :sport-smiley-018:

i totally understand man....

i've to renovate a 3room also.....extremely tight budget but the house is in such bad shape...don't even have kitchen cabinets!! still have squatting toilet!! imagine....i've to squeeze all that into a 20k budget...probably will exceed but trying our best to minimize..gonna DIY the painting :P

and yes, the place is so small....also need to crack head for storage ideas...but $$ not enuff, cannot make so many storage solutions... :P

will be following your blog, esp since we're in the same boat....:)