gantan88

My 3ng - Starting My Life Anew

I just check out the wifi Tv thing at causeway point just now. According to the sale person , samsung is the only brand that have this function. But hor .... (also according to him) we can only go to certain website with it . We can't use like a normal internet browser .

Not sure how true . Me still looking more info on it .

Regards

Simon

If can only go certain website, then it must be Samsung websites. Hahaha. But it is useless if this is true. I am interested how this "surf internet using Tv" works. I vision myself siting at sofa comfortably with a wireless KB and mouse surfing net. NO PC, NO laptop. Then the Tv must somehow be able to connect to singnet or starhub liao.. ** wondering **

The more the price drop, the lower the price you have to sell it off. Actually some gadgets and electronic products are like that one... e.g is handphone. Drop damm fast. Especially SAMSUNG handphone. Maybe shouldnt buy SAMSUNG products.

Edited by gantan88

I like clutter-free environment. Better get a Tv with USB ports. Haha. :)

tv with usb ports would be good but most of the time, the codec support is limited compared to those stand alone media player and pc/laptops. that means some videos/music/pictures might not play properly because the codec is not supported.

If can only go certain website, then it must be Samsung websites. Hahaha. But it is useless if this is true. I am interested how this "surf internet using Tv" works. I vision myself siting at sofa comfortably with a wireless KB and mouse surfing net. NO PC, NO laptop. Then the Tv must somehow be able to connect to singnet or starhub liao.. ** wondering **

The more the price drop, the lower the price you have to sell it off. Actually some gadgets and electronic products are like that one... e.g is handphone. Drop damm fast. Especially SAMSUNG handphone. Maybe shouldnt buy SAMSUNG products.

broswing in tv i think still not that common nowadays. i would anticipate alot of problems e.g flash not supported, active-x not supported, plugins not supported. i think not ready to hit main stream yet. I tried with my PS3 browser, not as smooth as browsing on a computer.

i've nv tried it before, maybe i am wrong.

Edited by alamak

according to the sale person , it's using remote controller to surf

saw the demo at vivo samsung flagship store. something called DLAN right? abit like HTC touch screen phones interface :P

The philip LCD TV I bought also using WIFI to connect to internet... but as what you guys mentioned I think there is some limitation of some website

sigh ..... suddenly i feel my LCD like very outdated liao .... it's suppose to be a newer version sia ....

technology hard to race

Edited by Supersimon27

sigh ..... suddenly i feel my LCD like very outdated liao .... it's suppose to be a newer version sia ....

technology hard to race

no point racing also... just sit back and enjoy your tv. :)

Bro Ossify already said le, nowadays Tv very high tech haha. Actually i am not very good at all these also, still learning and exploring. And yes, nowadays some Tv come with Wifi support for surfing internet. Also got USB ports also! But dunno what it is for. I think u can plug in yr thumbdrive or something and see the content using Tv. U can turn yr Tv instantenously into a PC. I think from netbook wireless connect to Tv to display image also can.

Ossify, right?

Yes you are right, except for the part about turning your TV into a PC :)

You can watch supported movies/pictures on your tv via USB, but cannot install any programs in your TV :)

I still feel that a PC is more useful.

USB on a TV is more convenient, but since I will be connecting my PC to my TV via HDMI, I don't need a USB on my TV. Why pay more for things you don't need? :rolleyes:

tv with usb ports would be good but most of the time, the codec support is limited compared to those stand alone media player and pc/laptops. that means some videos/music/pictures might not play properly because the codec is not supported.

broswing in tv i think still not that common nowadays. i would anticipate alot of problems e.g flash not supported, active-x not supported, plugins not supported. i think not ready to hit main stream yet. I tried with my PS3 browser, not as smooth as browsing on a computer.

i've nv tried it before, maybe i am wrong.

But i think browsing using Tv has one plus point. Not possible to kanna virus. At least not that i know off for now :)

Edited by gantan88

Oh... then can forget it liao. Like using teletext using yr tv remote like that? :o

Yes you are right, except for the part about turning your TV into a PC :)

You can watch supported movies/pictures on your tv via USB, but cannot install any programs in your TV :)

I still feel that a PC is more useful.

USB on a TV is more convenient, but since I will be connecting my PC to my TV via HDMI, I don't need a USB on my TV. Why pay more for things you don't need? :rolleyes:

I think the best setup for me will be to connect wirelessly from laptop to Tv, push the display to Tv, is sufficient liao. Then i surf using a bigger screen. Simple and useful :)

But i think browsing using Tv has one plus point. Not possible to kanna virus. At least not that i know off for now :)

well, that depends on the OS that the TV uses for you to surf. I believe most of the time it should be some form of Linux so should be safe. Unless they manage to fit a windows OS inside the TV then the virus problem will come. :D

Like to ask a question on hood. I seldom do heavy cooking that produce lots of smoke. I do not need those chimney style hood right? I know that chimney style hood has higher suction power but i am not sure how to guage.

This afternoon i went down to Jalan Besar to go for first round of shortlisting shops. Visited Poh Seng, Hoe Kee, Royal Franco and a few others. Poh Joo is closed on Sunday, so didnt get to see it.

Advice on hood selection is appreciated.

Thank you!

Like to ask a question on hood. I seldom do heavy cooking that produce lots of smoke. I do not need those chimney style hood right? I know that chimney style hood has higher suction power but i am not sure how to guage.

This afternoon i went down to Jalan Besar to go for first round of shortlisting shops. Visited Poh Seng, Hoe Kee, Royal Franco and a few others. Poh Joo is closed on Sunday, so didnt get to see it.

Advice on hood selection is appreciated.

Thank you!

ops pai seh ... forogt to tell u poh joo off on sun ... Pai seh pai seh ....

me usually go during lunch time ha ...

ops pai seh ... forogt to tell u poh joo off on sun ... Pai seh pai seh ....

me usually go during lunch time ha ...

Actually Poh Joo is first on my list leh but after making a turn, Poh Joo caught my eyes first and it was gated up.

Haiz.

I think i can only go on Saturday liao... :-O