gantan88

My 3ng - Starting My Life Anew

haha sorry i dunno. you see the pics of my kitchen cement screeding. see if there's any difference? the grey version is cheaper than the white version. we bought the grey version because white version out of stock. about $7 difference per packet.

Now think so much also no use. After reno done, moved in and settled down, got time then verify.

If this is a rogue contractor, i wun hesitate to broadcast here.

Already got few people PM me ask me who, and recommend my ID/Contractor. I can only tell them, as of now, they are better off looking at others. There are plenty out there. Spoilt for choices.

Getting quite stress now coz i am starting new work on 4th Jan and so much not done yet.

I must force my ID to help me receive those basins and WCs and lightings for installation.

:unsure:

I need some advice over here.

Has anyone bought Dunlopillo mattress before? Maybe single or super single?

I was told and i verified my taking measurement that Dunlopillo mattress length is about 2 cm longer than the normal length of other mattress. So finding bedsheet is not easy because normal single/S-single bedsheet size cannot fit.

Even the bedframe also slightly longer to accomodate the longer mattress. SO next time if u change mattress to another brand, it will be shorter and thus leave a gap at the foot-end of the frame - rather unsightly.

True?

P.S I thought i posted this query just now, dunno whether got post in wrong blog a not as i am in a hurry. :-p

I need the advices on the following pls:

Can we hack the wall and conceal partially or totally, the power sockets and switches plates into the wall?

Is it against HDB regulation?

not exactly. my kitchen tiles were not hacked. they just grind it and plaster over it.

quite interesting huh :)

hack and screed and plaster also can.. but generate more waste and costs more. up to you which route you want to do.

i posted it here

hi ossify, sorry may i ask what is grinding and what is screeding? If you just plaster over the existing tiles, the next time when the tiles pop out, it will damage your plastered wall and look ugly?

yes of course must get costing for both options then consider. if no tiles, can always use acrylic panels or glass panels from ikea :D

yup i thought of using acrylic or aluminium panels to cover up some parts also. looks quite nice.

If you really find out that this is not true, post it up here and alert everyone, then i go 'K' my contractor...

:horse::horse:

must really hum tum those contractor who anyhow smoke and carrot just to earn money...

I need the advices on the following pls:

Can we hack the wall and conceal partially or totally, the power sockets and switches plates into the wall?

Is it against HDB regulation?

According to HDB regulations, you cannot conceal sockets or switches plates in the wall. You can only conceal sockets or switches plates inside carpentry. Alternative is to knock a hole into your wall, put carpentry in that hole and conceal sockets there :D but may be a bit ugly and not sure if hdb officer will accept :D for confirmed approved method, knock wall down, replace with carpentry (eg. wardrobe/cabinet) and hide the wiring/casing inside.

hi ossify, sorry may i ask what is grinding and what is screeding? If you just plaster over the existing tiles, the next time when the tiles pop out, it will damage your plastered wall and look ugly?

grinding is using an angle cutter to scratch your wall like this (see lines on blue tiles?)

screeding is using cement to apply a layer to your grinded tiles, to make smooth (see dark brown patch behind the door frame?)

toiletceiling.jpg

both plaster and cement does not stick to tiles as the tiles are usually too smooth. that's why you need to grind the tiles to increase bonding strength between tiles and cement. plaster bonds to cement very well so if you want to plaster, you need to have a cement surface.

tiles only pop when the space it covers is hollow, and there is pressure built-up due to expansion and contraction. in my case, all the tiles were not on hollow spaces so it's okay. usually you find such hollowness in floor tiles when the tiler does shoddy work.

must really hum tum those contractor who anyhow smoke and carrot just to earn money...

too many to hum tum :D

According to HDB regulations, you cannot conceal sockets or switches plates in the wall. You can only conceal sockets or switches plates inside carpentry. Alternative is to knock a hole into your wall, put carpentry in that hole and conceal sockets there :D but may be a bit ugly and not sure if hdb officer will accept :D for confirmed approved method, knock wall down, replace with carpentry (eg. wardrobe/cabinet) and hide the wiring/casing inside.

But my electrician and ID contractor says we can do conceal leh...

I intend to do conceal if not the housings like a box like tt sticking out of the wall very ugly....

Check from HDB souces?

Gantan, conceal for old HDB flat is not approved. Usually electrician and contractor can do but at Owner's own risk.

Especially when u want to sell the house, HDB will come n check.. all the illegal works will be fine and need to be reactified at own cost.

I remember read these somewhere at HDB webby, and my ID also mentioned to me.

So still before you proceed, call your HDB officer to check and confirm ley

Gantan, conceal for old HDB flat is not approved. Usually electrician and contractor can do but at Owner's own risk.

Especially when u want to sell the house, HDB will come n check.. all the illegal works will be fine and need to be reactified at own cost.

I remember read these somewhere at HDB webby, and my ID also mentioned to me.

So still before you proceed, call your HDB officer to check and confirm ley

Hi Charemme,

Thanks. Funny leh.. the electrician has 20 years of experience and he is telling me this? Um....

Ur welcome,

hehe... can do conceal.. only a matter of illegal or not.

for own protection, still best to confirm on our own.

Just few weeks back, I was chatting with my ID.. and she bring up this topic

Some client insisted, so they will convey very clear message, I will follow Instrutions and do at owner's risk.

eh not sure if this is considered under clause 1.2

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10205p.nsf/WP...ns?OpenDocument

Edited by charemme

Hi Charemme,

Thanks. Funny leh.. the electrician has 20 years of experience and he is telling me this? Um....

my less than 1 month of reno experience seems more accurate than your electrician :D

please read clause 1.2 of this page

ask your electrician if he will have PUB testing, he sure say no need :D

ps. PUB testing is to certify that your electrical is installed according to regulations.

Edited by ossify

But my electrician and ID contractor says we can do conceal leh...

I intend to do conceal if not the housings like a box like tt sticking out of the wall very ugly....

Check from HDB souces?

I was hoping to have the ones in the kitchen concealed (in the wall), but my contractor said it wasn't allowed. I even asked about concealing it in the walls built to fill up the space where the original entrances to the bathroom and toilet were. Apparently, even that wasn't ok.

my less than 1 month of reno experience seems more accurate than your electrician :D

please read clause 1.2 of this page

ask your electrician if he will have PUB testing, he sure say no need :D

ps. PUB testing is to certify that your electrical is installed according to regulations.

Hi Charemme and Ossify,

I just came back from Summer at Toa Payoh and Jurong East Sim Siang Choon and Hoe Kee. It is really careless of me to go there all the way and realise i forgot to bring wallet. But i made my selection and tmr will be going there to confirm everything.

Anyway thanks for giving me the link. I infer from the guideliness that the WIRINGS CANNOT be concealed. So i think the power socket and switches can flush with the wall (hack a bit into the wall). Called HDB branch office this afternoon and the automated answerting machine put me on hold for an uber long time. Waste my handphone bill.

PUB testing, my electrician asked me i want to do a not, if i want to do testing, i cannot relocate the MCB to another place. It MUST remain in the original position.

Did you guys relocate the MCB? Say higher up at one corner nearer to ceiling for aesthetic purpose?

actually alot of people say can conceal, also alot say cannot..

ur house, originally, have any conceal points?

Actually i forgot liao, after they pull out all the old wirings and power points sockets etc to do plastering... :-P