gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2009 every one will have their own reasons to justify their price, be it the truth or just to smoke us. ultimately it's up to us whether we want to go ahead or find someone else to do it. there's pros and cons for either choice you make. so just see which choice we prefer and just do it. Yeah... usually there will be no end to this.. but i think there is a reason for a consumer to probe further on what he is getting for the price that he is paying if the price is not the market norm... Plastering is the last few things to be done, think i still have somemore time to find out more. :-) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2009 Guys and girls... I have a question on main entrance door grilles. I like to do those single piece grille. But if you open it, it will protrude out further into the corridor. Contractor told me currently there isn't any regulation on this. Will there be any issue for doing 1 piece grille? The normal grilles are 2 leaves kind,,, Thanks... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 16, 2009 Ok... i have clarified with my Contractor and this is what he told me: Normal Situation: where people do wall tiles for kitchen: "Whole house" plastering (actually is exclude kitchen walls because got tiles) - $1,300 to $2,000 for 3/4/5 rooms. For this price range, it excludes cornering or capping (i dunno what this is seriously). When people do not do tiles for kitchen walls, they will do plastering, and plastering for kitchen is the most expensive because they use both cement and plastering compound. Kitchen alone already ~ $600. Plus living room room and 2 bedrooms (all come with cornering /cappings) total is $1600. So a simple breakdown of the cost will be: Kitchen ~$600 Master bedroom ~ $500 Bedroom 2 ~ $500 Living room haven't include yet. Wah! corner or cap means the pvc strip that they use to make a sharp corner edge for all your wall corners. without the corner or cap, your plaster will chip off easily when impacted. it's very cheap, but useful tool for marking up of prices you're getting smoked tell him bedroom plastering only $300 per bedroom, inclusive of corners. imagine in 1 day, 1 worker can plaster both your rooms and still have time to relax. labour cost = $100, material cost = $100. he charge you $1000 Buttergingerzz, is there any pic to show your dining area? Thought the ideal positioning of the light and mirror is opposite each other.... usually cove lights can only throw light for up to 4 ft effectively (unless you buy expensive tubes) so opposite would not be ideal as the mirror would be too far away. Perpendicular is the best. After seeing what you wrote, i got the urge to tell my contractors to remove all downlights and revert back to using hamburger light. But aesthetically it is nicer with downlight lo :-p Thanks man. I thinking i need to drill my Contractor further and get him to feed more info on lighting. Seriously they are not too forthcoming... I am still thinking whether to use Blum for my Kitchen cabinet... Blum can be installed seperately after all carpentry works are done right? The tubes will be siting in the cloves, are the mirrors useful? Unless the mirrors are on the ceiling.... personally, hamburger lights (i presume you mean circular fluorescent lights) are quite old-fashioned ever considered using tube light inside your false ceiling? 2x 4ft tube is more than enough for you, instead of 4x 2 tube downlights. use prismatic diffuser sheets to spread the light. please use Blum, tell your contractor you want Blum, see how much he mark up (if more than $200, get it yourself), then ask your contractor how many of each hinge you need to buy and buy them from the ubi warehouse (ask for discount) and pass to contractor to install. Don't wait till after the carpentry is done. You have to worry about wrong dimensions, filling up of drilled holes, getting another carpenter to install for you. Mirrors would be useful inside the cove. Contractors won't do this.. but I always thought it would make more sense to have mirrors in the cove like this. (black: ceiling, blue: false ceiling, red: mirror) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 16, 2009 corner or cap means the pvc strip that they use to make a sharp corner edge for all your wall corners. without the corner or cap, your plaster will chip off easily when impacted. it's very cheap, but useful tool for marking up of prices you're getting smoked tell him bedroom plastering only $300 per bedroom, inclusive of corners. imagine in 1 day, 1 worker can plaster both your rooms and still have time to relax. labour cost = $100, material cost = $100. he charge you $1000 He shoot me an sms says he already bought all the materials for plastering and he has informed me that plastering will be done this week (which he did not). Make me very furious. Furious not because of the plastering matter but of the kind of service that i am getting from an ID firm. I guess i shall give my comment at the end of the renovation. Plastering wise i already told him to go ahead since he claimed he has bought the materials. I dun want to keep harping on this matter anymore. No point le. usually cove lights can only throw light for up to 4 ft effectively (unless you buy expensive tubes) so opposite would not be ideal as the mirror would be too far away. Perpendicular is the best. I will see what they proposed during the lighting installation stage. I have an empty wall ready to put a mirror. personally, hamburger lights (i presume you mean circular fluorescent lights) are quite old-fashioned ever considered using tube light inside your false ceiling? 2x 4ft tube is more than enough for you, instead of 4x 2 tube downlights. use prismatic diffuser sheets to spread the light. When you say tube light, do you mean those normal flourescent tube? How to implement to have tube light inside false ceiling? Now i only have L-Box and a short length of false ceiling to place the cove lights. please use Blum, tell your contractor you want Blum, see how much he mark up (if more than $200, get it yourself), then ask your contractor how many of each hinge you need to buy and buy them from the ubi warehouse (ask for discount) and pass to contractor to install. Don't wait till after the carpentry is done. You have to worry about wrong dimensions, filling up of drilled holes, getting another carpenter to install for you. Actually I have thought of using Blum for the dish drainer flip-up door only. It may not be Blum, as long as there is a hydraulic arm to hold the door up while we put in the plates. If not, i will have to use one hand to hold the door and use only one hand to manage the plates. For normal cabinet doors and drawers, i think i am fine with just normal hinges as per my past 2 houses. Not a big issue without the delayed-movement feature for the doors. It is a good-to-have for me... Mirrors would be useful inside the cove. Contractors won't do this.. but I always thought it would make more sense to have mirrors in the cove like this. (black: ceiling, blue: false ceiling, red: mirror) If contractor dun do this then i dun think i will DIY also... I believe using mirror in the cloves does help a bit but not much, not worth the effort to DIY. Cos after all the light will still hit the ceiling first before reflecting downwards... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
necrosis 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 (edited) ask you ah, how do you reply with many quotes at once ah? back to reno stuff: why are you worried about the brightness of your living? what activities do you intend to do there that needs a lot of light? watching tv/dvd can have less lights on... having guests, warm lights and add a few candles will give nice atmosphere.... reading? sit near window or buy a reading lamp...use only 1 lamp while reading...the rest of the room can be dark... like that no need so headache about how bright the total sum of lights....just my opinions lah.... Edited December 17, 2009 by necrosis Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 ask you ah, how do you reply with many quotes at once ah? sorry to kpo, you just need to click on all the "quote" of the posts that you wanna reply, then click "add reply" at the bottom of the page... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 (edited) ask you ah, how do you reply with many quotes at once ah? back to reno stuff: why are you worried about the brightness of your living? what activities do you intend to do there that needs a lot of light? watching tv/dvd can have less lights on... having guests, warm lights and add a few candles will give nice atmosphere.... reading? sit near window or buy a reading lamp...use only 1 lamp while reading...the rest of the room can be dark... like that no need so headache about how bright the total sum of lights....just my opinions lah.... Just use [*quote] and [/*quote] to quote up the sentences, WITHOUT the asterisk... 'and' is the word that i want to quote up. After that you can type what you want to type. Reno stuff: I have elderly at home and they prefer bright, if not bright enuff, they will feel giddy... so i think probably for downlights, may use 'daylight'. I think it is brighter than 'cool white'... So i have certain level of concern on the brightness lor... elderly - their era - what they want try to give in to them bah... even furnitures and sofa also cannot dark colour... Now the trend for shoe racks and Tv consoles are Black and white, even glass are black glass... so very hard to find *sweat* I think in the end probably will be carpenter-make liao... confirm ok... cos can choose the laminate colours... Edited December 17, 2009 by gantan88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 sorry to kpo, you just need to click on all the "quote" of the posts that you wanna reply, then click "add reply" at the bottom of the page... Think what necrosis wants is to have multiple quotes in a single reply... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted December 17, 2009 Just use [*quote] and [/*quote] to quote up the sentences, WITHOUT the asterisk... 'and' is the word that i want to quote up. After that you can type what you want to type. Think what necrosis wants is to have multiple quotes in a single reply... that is exactly wat i did when i wanna reply to multiple quotes in a single reply leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 18, 2009 He shoot me an sms says he already bought all the materials for plastering and he has informed me that plastering will be done this week (which he did not). Make me very furious. Furious not because of the plastering matter but of the kind of service that i am getting from an ID firm. I guess i shall give my comment at the end of the renovation. Plastering wise i already told him to go ahead since he claimed he has bought the materials. I dun want to keep harping on this matter anymore. No point le. he smoke you lah, the plasterer will provide the materials. ID/contractor won't buy themselves de, you think they so free. I will see what they proposed during the lighting installation stage. I have an empty wall ready to put a mirror. When you say tube light, do you mean those normal flourescent tube? How to implement to have tube light inside false ceiling? Now i only have L-Box and a short length of false ceiling to place the cove lights. Yes i meant normal T8 ($1-2 per tube). but if your space is not big enough, then no choice but to use T5. (about $20-30 per tube) Actually I have thought of using Blum for the dish drainer flip-up door only. It may not be Blum, as long as there is a hydraulic arm to hold the door up while we put in the plates. If not, i will have to use one hand to hold the door and use only one hand to manage the plates. For normal cabinet doors and drawers, i think i am fine with just normal hinges as per my past 2 houses. Not a big issue without the delayed-movement feature for the doors. It is a good-to-have for me... Ikea sells the wall cabinet which comes with blum hydraulic arm You should just get from blum, it's quite cheap. If contractor dun do this then i dun think i will DIY also... I believe using mirror in the cloves does help a bit but not much, not worth the effort to DIY. Cos after all the light will still hit the ceiling first before reflecting downwards... Up to you bro Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2009 that is exactly wat i did when i wanna reply to multiple quotes in a single reply leh... huh... maybe my method more 'manual way'... :-p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2009 he smoke you lah, the plasterer will provide the materials. ID/contractor won't buy themselves de, you think they so free. Maybe he call the plasterer to ask and the plasterer smoked my contractor and so i also kanna smoked indirectly? Whatever it is... dun care le lah.... just do it and forget abt it..... Yes i meant normal T8 ($1-2 per tube). but if your space is not big enough, then no choice but to use T5. (about $20-30 per tube) i extended my living room into the kitchen, so i think should be able to fit at least 2x T8.... I didnt know T5 is so expensive... i read the webpage u posted here, seems like beside being smaller in physical size, it has no other significant advantage over T8 and T12... so i guess i try to go for T8..... Ikea sells the wall cabinet which comes with blum hydraulic arm You should just get from blum, it's quite cheap. I vaguely recalled i check from somewhere, for Blum, the hinges are cheap like $4 per piece only, but the runners for drawers are $80 per pair and hydraulic arm for the dish drainer cabinet is like $100+ per pair? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2009 I vaguely recalled i check from somewhere, for Blum, the hinges are cheap like $4 per piece only, but the runners for drawers are $80 per pair and hydraulic arm for the dish drainer cabinet is like $100+ per pair? The blum hinges with blumotion is abt $4 for the whole set. As for the rest of blum items, u can check with macbert who has a t-blog also. Viborg Trading Pte Ltd, 277 Kranji Road. Singapore 739512 is a gd dealer. Price seems to be the cheapest among the rest. if u know what u want, can call and ask for pricing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2009 The blum hinges with blumotion is abt $4 for the whole set. As for the rest of blum items, u can check with macbert who has a t-blog also. Viborg Trading Pte Ltd, 277 Kranji Road. Singapore 739512 is a gd dealer. Price seems to be the cheapest among the rest. if u know what u want, can call and ask for pricing. Kranji is a little out of way for me... nearest is Bukit Timah got a dealer right? Or the main showroom? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 18, 2009 Maybe he call the plasterer to ask and the plasterer smoked my contractor and so i also kanna smoked indirectly? Whatever it is... dun care le lah.... just do it and forget abt it..... i extended my living room into the kitchen, so i think should be able to fit at least 2x T8.... I didnt know T5 is so expensive... i read the webpage u posted here, seems like beside being smaller in physical size, it has no other significant advantage over T8 and T12... so i guess i try to go for T8..... you try lor, but make sure your cove can fit. wait your contractor smoke you again say buy the T5 already I vaguely recalled i check from somewhere, for Blum, the hinges are cheap like $4 per piece only, but the runners for drawers are $80 per pair and hydraulic arm for the dish drainer cabinet is like $100+ per pair? wah so ex ah. ikea's wall cabinet very cheap, comes with the hydraulic arm.. FAKTUM horizontal wall cabinet frame 92x40 cm white $85.00 It looks like blum to me maybe you buy the wall cabinet, you keep the hydraulic arm, the rest you give me? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites